We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Barca de Oro

Save
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (18)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pool table”(6 reviews)
“eco bungalow”(2 reviews)
“triple room”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
1 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
36
29
15
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
29
15
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tableeco bungalowtriple roomhigh tideshort walk from the beachamazing foodair conditioningceiling fanfood and drinkschicken bbqbamboobarracabinnetshutsdormitoryboats
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved it here. At first we were disappointed at the position of the hostel as it was back from the beach, but we grew to love it! We had eco bungalows and they were good value for money, it was great to have a...More

Thank tiggyDorset
Response from Sandrine V, Propriétaire at Hostal Barca de OroResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Hola Tiggy, gracias por su tiempo en Barca de Oro y por dejar su comentario. Los esperamos pronto, fue un...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came there because we had a really really bad experience in/with another hotel called "Casa Peliquano" (don't go there under any circumstances!!) and they were very helpful even it was quiet full due to the riots - especially a guy called Jader Reyes from...More

Thank Sebastian D
Response from Sandrine V, Propriétaire at Hostal Barca de OroResponded 4 days ago

Hello, thank you for your lovely comment. You always diserve the best, come back soon at Barca de Oro!

Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

This is a quirky place, the restaurant is seemingly very popular with locals which is a good sign and the food was good although service a bit slow. Had an appalling nights sleep though in a very basic small room on a horribly uncomfortable bed....More

Thank JemmyButton
Response from Sandrine V, Propietario at Hostal Barca de OroResponded 19 March 2018

hello Jemmy. thank you for your comment and your time. Our beds and mattresses are fairly new and we always make the most tomake our guests comfortable. Your paid 32 $.which is low price. please visit us again and see if your second opinion is...More

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

This is the first place where we stayed in Nicaragua. Loved the place, perfect to cool down after a long journey. The hostal is a short walk from the beach, food is great and the staff is super friendly. Our eco-bungalow was nice, however the...More

Thank Janne R
Response from Sandrine V, Propietario at Hostal Barca de OroResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you Janne, i am proud and happy that you enjoyed our place and food and location etc. Yes we have lots of birds in the garden but we find them lovely. we have made changes so that bungalow 7 is not so close to...More

Reviewed 29 November 2017

We were GRANDPAcking in Las Penitas for 6 nights. We stayed all 6 nights at the Barca De Oro in one of their Bungalows. I didn't book through the normal online search engines. I found their website – the Bungalow was listed for US$32 /...More

Thank GRANDPAcking
Response from Sandrine V, Propietario at Hostal Barca de OroResponded 20 March 2018

Hi GRANDPACKing, thank you for you very nice comment. i have a great piece of news, we are installing regular 110 volt regular sockets in the bungalow so you can charge your items. the lights and fan are still solar powered of course. so....always improving...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Las Penitas
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Concierge
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 13 - US$ 37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
US$ 13 - US$ 37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hostal Barca de Oro staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Avoid Bungalow #7 – it is next to the Bus Terminal and very noisy at 6am. If you need over-night power, do..."
Read review
"try the eco bungalows"
Read review
"Corner room #2"
Read review
"The indoor hostal rooms may be OK, we didn't check these out."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing