We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ideal Beach Resort

Save
Share
Devaneri Village , Kovalam Road, Mahabalipuram 603104 India
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (784)
Room & Suite (209)
Pool & Beach (173)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 49 hotels in Mahabalipuram
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A picturesque resort surrounded by luscious greeneries and a private beach, Ideal Beach Resort offers personalized service, traditional Ayurvedic massage, a mouth-watering dining experience and a relaxing pool; our team does not spare an expense when it comes to guest satisfaction. Merely a stone’s throw away from the historical UNESCO site, Mahabalipuram is easily accessible on foot or by car.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
Hindi
1132Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 398
  • 532
  • 145
  • 36
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sushilpurohit wrote a review 11 Jul
Vadodara, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed there at weekend. Location is really good , as they have a private beach with all time save guards available in case of any incidents. We took basic room (~5,800 INR per day) which i felt very costly compare to room size and room maintenance. In case if you can compromise on budget, better to go for deluxe room. Delux rooms are spacious and have good garden space outside. Room service is average, some times u may have to do followup for service. Food quality is good, specially breakfast. Maintenance - Our room was not well maintained, few power plugs were damaged and were not working at all. Handshower was working, but was broken. Beach is the best place to stay during visit. Overall 3.5 out of 5.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go for deluxe rooms. Basic rooms are good for couples only.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nitin A wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The property was good though a lot of services were not there at that time. The food at the restaurant was very average. What made it worse was that the restaurant manager was unwilling to take even minor requests for my 70 year old parents which would have taken his man exactly 60 extra seconds and zero cost. My repeated requests met deaf ears. I think, when we visit an expensive resort food and hospitality are very important and we don't want to travel 3-4 km for every meal since there were no other good options for food nearby. Won't visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bose Dharmalingam, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Dear Nitin A, Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort! We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your holiday destination! We appreciate the feedback shared regarding your stay with us. Firstly, we would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and please know that an encounter as such will never repeat itself again. We thank you once again for the comments shared. Have a great day ahead! Best regards, Natasha Uma, Vice President - Sales & Promotions, Ideal Group of Resorts
Read more
Vishnu V wrote a review Feb 2021
Chennai District, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
hi friends , The much awaited time has come and it was on October 27 2021 where our terrible experience was witnessed lastly . The relatives was standing with plates waiting for food to get refilled during lunch and few of them left with half stomach because of poor staff management .We all k ow that food plays a vital role in all Indian traditional households and yet the resort management did not realize and when we informed them about it they were saying sorry and next time we will have a great experience..We were like do you still think we will visit next time?? Disclaimer: Personal experience and each have their good and bitter experiences . Thanks, Vishnu Vardhana
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bose Dharmalingam, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Dear Vishnuv961, Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort! We thank you for your feedback shared regarding your Ideal experience! However we would like to kindly request for you to post only one review regarding your one time experience with us. Seeing as you have provided a review regarding your son's party in November 2020 (please refer below). Thank you Best regards, Natasha Uma, Vice President - Sales & Promotions, Ideal Group of Resorts
Read more
Moores Road wrote a review Dec 2020
Chennai, India393 contributions161 helpful votes
We were a group of 25 staying in 15 rooms for the weekend. About half the rooms were recently done up but some were old and needed repair. The location is fantastic with access to the beach. One should wake up early and watch the fishermen bring in their boats. The property is well maintained and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful even in the rush hours. The chef can cook up excellent Sri Lankan recipes if you ask in advance.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bose Dharmalingam, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Dear MooresRoad, Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort! We thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us! We are thrilled that you appreciated our prima location alongside its picturesque views. We here at Ideal Group of Resorts endeavour to provide the finest heights of hospitality and we are glad that you were satisfied with the service delivered by our team. South Indian and Sri Lankan cuisine is indeed our speciality and we are more than happy to provide our guests with a delectable culinary experience. We thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to doing so again. Have a great day! Best regards, Natasha Uma, Vice President - Sales & Promotions, Ideal Group of Resorts
Read more
Vishnu V wrote a review Nov 2020
Chennai District, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
To begin with,we have started to plan our son 1st birthday for last 3 months and decided a venue and fixed ideal beach resort as our destination ..now the day arrived and with limited capacity due to covid ,here is the lunch time and relatives buckled up with plates , to our surprise food was not refilled at a time where guests were still awaiting food and annoyed .. Poor quality resort and worst service.. Rating 2/5
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bose Dharmalingam, Owner at Ideal Beach Resort
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Dear Vishnuv961, Greetings from Ideal Beach Resort! We thank you for choosing Ideal Beach Resort as your son's birthday venue! We thank you for the feedback shared regarding your visit. We are regretful that your experience was an unpleasant one and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We hope that your next visit will be a greater and more Ideal one. We appreciate the comments shared. Have a great day! Best regards, Natasha Uma, Vice President - Sales & Promotions, Ideal Group of Resorts
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ideal beach hotel mahabalipuram, ideal beach mamallapuram
LOCATION
IndiaTamil NaduKanchipuram DistrictMahabalipuram
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ideal Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Ideal Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Krishna's Butter Ball (0.4 km), Mahishasuramardhini Mandapa (0.05 km), and Maritime Heritage Museum (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ideal Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ideal Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ideal Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ideal Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ideal Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Waters Edge, Adyar Ananda Bhavan, and Buddha Cafe Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ideal Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ideal Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ideal Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Ideal Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Descent Of The Ganges (0.5 km), Krishna Mandapam (0.6 km), and Bhima Ratha (1.6 km).