We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Naku Chumbong, Pelling 737113 India
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Expedia.com$276
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (562)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (32)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Updated 05/05/20

About

#4 of 59 hotels in Pelling
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Chumbi Mountain Retreat is located in Naku-Chumbhung, a village below Pelling in West Sikkim. It is a unique resort for nature lovers in a natural environment. The resort stands tall with its unique monastic structure which is an eye catcher for every new visitor. The structure gives the resort a very traditional heritage ambiance, and a feel of Sikkimese tradition and culture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Parking
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
311Reviews10Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 203
  • 67
  • 19
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pinkyla wrote a review Sep 2022
New Delhi, India3 contributions3 helpful votes
Our stay at the Chumbi Resort and Spa at Pelling recently was simply amazing. What a beautiful, serene and peaceful place. It was truly a time so well spent, with loved ones at a beautiful location with a spectacular view of the magnificent Kanchenjunga in front of us. The property was so spacious that the children thoroughly enjoyed activities, games not to forget the hen, rabbit and turkey coup. The food was excellent with impeccable hospitality – special shout out to Aashish, Hospitality Manager. We relaxed at the ‘Everest Base Camp’ themed Bar in the evenings. We also enjoyed the tranquil Japanese styled garden meditation area. Last but not the least we also managed to rejuvenate at the Spa. In short, lovely getaway, soul nourishing trip. Thank you to all the staff at the Chumbi Resort and Spa.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: room with a stunning view of Kanchenjunga
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hem wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
As I began to cross over from West Bengal to Sikkim, the familiarity of the Sikkim landscape began to inch in. Like a long-lost twin. In your heart, you know he or she exists, yet today is the day you are to be finally reunited. My driver had told me to “pay attention as you cross into Sikkim, it will all begin to change”. And Bibek my friend – change it did. This post is however not about Sikkim!! This post is about a 60-bed hotel in a tiny hamlet of Sikkim. A hotel -that in this era of social media exaggeration, deception and inflated sense of grandiose surprised me with its humility and rather subdued sense of self. The first in my travel experience (And yes I have travelled widely through the world) where the property pictures do no justice to what the traveller shall find as he/she arrives at – The Chumbi Mountain Retreat. In regaling conversation with the owner – Mr Ugyen Chopel one evening, we learnt the reason for this nonchalant approach to marketing. “We are happy with what we get, all we want to do is showcase the essence of Sikkim, and the right people shall arrive”. Yes, sir, contentment is the essence of your state and reflects in your hotel location, ambience, staff, as well as every well-appointed, hidden corner of your hotel. We from NV Life were hosting a physical retreat at Chumbi – based on our book, “Meditation the Cure.” No small measure that we wanted a smooth and deep mystical experience for the guest list of 21 participants we were hosting. And Chumbi delivered… DÉCOR- The owner is a storyteller and that’s what he does through every space. He shares a part of his soul in every corner, and the pictures tell a thousand tales. For someone like me who loves a good story – I was in heaven. If you are an art collector or lover, his antique collection will leave you enthralled. The rooms – a modern take on traditional Sikkim. Beautiful yet comforting, it’s sometimes hard to get that just right. But Chumbi does it yet again. A special mention to the beautiful stone fireplaces in the lobby. To see that fire burning, one must visit in winter again. FOOD- The meals were lightly prepared and delicately garnished. Each day we were given a tiny glimpse into the gastronome of Sikkim, with a special dish thrown in. We took note! On the last day before we were to leave, the group was served a Sikkimese-style meal in their traditional restaurant. We learned the art of enjoying a meal that day. A shared space, yet each sits at a respectful distance from the other. You are served with grace and humility. You as a guest – are honoured. The flavours of course delightful and the fact that all of Sikkim is organic, Your taste buds will thank you later. STAFF- A special mention of gratitude and love to Hussain Shewar Ashish Chettry Lekden Yolmo Akbar Ali You taught us so much about service, love and nurturing. You were the perfect ambassadors of your state. THE MIGHTY MOUNTAIN- You showed yourself each day, and one beautiful moonlit night. We were told you are shy and we would be lucky if we could catch a glimpse of you in the early hours. You were generous to our group and the sight of the first light hitting your magnificent vistas – will be ours forever to cherish and hold. Chumbi – and Pelling have the best views of the Kanchenjunga. The weather gods played truant in July, they gave us a week of sunshine, clear skies and many many sightings of the magnificent Kanchendzonga. SERENITY Hosting a meditation retreat comes with its own set of challenges. The environment has to be in harmony with the nature of work that is required to be done. Chumbi gave us that serenity, harmony and ebb and flow of nature. From the bird calls, to the sound of the insects, from the water bodies to the clouds wafting in through the windows. Like I Said- home is not a place it’s a feeling – Thank you Chumbi mountain retreat. We were home!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Akashdeep Gill wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We visited here between july10-july16 . Beautiful property ,Spectacular views , welcoming staff and home away from home. We were treated with utmost love and personal interaction with the staff was next level .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ARUNRAJ SUBBARAJ wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates3 contributions
Chumbi Mountain Retreat is an amazing place . Coming from the land of fast cars and fast spaced life , for a moment @Chumbi Mountain Resort , i started to immerse in nature with a spectacular view of Kanchenjunga . The staff were round the clock at our service . The amenities were amazing . The rooms are designed ,giving the guest the space ,light to soak into luxury . Traditional way of serving lunch was an amazing experience . The owner of the resort Mr.Ugen T Denzongpa is an amazing person , who has setup a 40 seater home theatre ,guests can avail this facility as complimentary to view their movie of choice . There are many artifacts Mr.Ugen has carefully curated and placed them all around the resort , salvaging from old bridge in Sikkim which turned into walk bridge within the resort. An old post box , 1970 telephone , bajaj chetak scooter are some of the notable artifacts installed , gives a feeling of connecting with past and present . A spa with serenity and Buddha statue , one can get enlightened with senses . a mini farm with birds and rabbits are some attraction for the kids A must recommendation for all fellow travelers
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with Balcony with view of the mountain room number with 4000 series are ideal
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Simren Sawhney wrote a review Jul 2022
Chennai (Madras), India3 contributions
+1
My stay at pelling could not get better as I had the best room in the hotel . Hermitage encapsulated the overall experience for me and my life’s journey came to a full circle. On one side Mount Kanchenjunga and the other with warmth of Guru Padmasambhava it’s the best place for meditation and peace. The staff is extremely friendly and food is excellent, the chef has a wonderful selection to offer and the spa is extremely relaxing. Very safe place for solo traveling and very loving and warm owner. A pleasure to have touched so much love and humility with blessings of so many Gurus . I am so high on energy here Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sanyogita Agrawal wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in chumbi valley with my family on 23/24/25 June. Their food quality is absolutely hopeless and nothing else than bread butter can fill our stomach on breakfast. Their chef Santosh deserves a firing. Rooms r ok/ property is good. But they r too money minded and just looking for opportunities to charge things like house keeping if the child vomitted.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pelling The Chumbi Mountain Retreat, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Mrs. Agarwal, Kuzuzangpo la and Greetings From The Chumbi Mountain Retreat Resort and Spa We are sorry that your experience at the resort wasnt as expected.If you would take time to read our previous reviews our food and beverage department has always been appreciated. On enquiry we were informed that you expected to take food out of the resturant after your check out time which is not confirming to hotel rules and policy.However we have taken note on your comments and hope to make more amends accordingly to guest satisfactions. Thank you, Warm Regards, Hussain Sawar Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rajju M wrote a review May 2022
8 contributions
+1
The Chumbi Mountain Retreat is located in Cty of Pelling in West Sikkim. The hotel grounds are welcoming. The buildings are built with a touch of Nepalese Newari architecture. Te hotel lobby is very well decorate with appropriate collectables to give a comfortable environment. The view from the hotel ground includes the famous Chenrezig (aka Cherenzi)- the goddess of Compassion on top of the mountain town of Pelling. The view is spectacular at the day time as well as at night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pelling The Chumbi Mountain Retreat, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Responded 4 Jun 2022
Kuzuzangpola, Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you had a good time with us. We look forward to serving you again in future. Wishing you good health and happiness. Warm Regards, Team Chumbi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kiran Akella wrote a review May 2022
Pune, India17 contributions6 helpful votes
Chumbi in Pelling is an excellent hotel. It is located on a hill top with great views of the mighty Kanchenjunga and other Himalayan mountains, The rooms are well laid out. The entire hotel decoration is feast for the eyes. The gardens are well landscaped. The food is delicious. Overall it is a perfect place to stay. A small disappointment was that the rooms did not have balconies but large windows and multiple open terraces at different levels made-up for that. Another point was the he food was exceptionally expensive. But keeping aside these ignorable negatives, it is a wonderful place to spend a few days of your vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kothariashish wrote a review May 2022
Cupertino, California20 contributions5 helpful votes
Chumbi Mountain Resort is a serene property with amazing views of the mountains (Kanchenjunga if clouds permit). The rooms are quite large and the bathrooms are spacious. The food at the restaurant was so-so but the manager, Ashish along with his staff ensured our choices were taken care of. It’s a busy tourist season and you can see all the staff working tirelessly with a smile. The housekeeping staff would be at the room in a moment’s notice. Another drawback is the room walls - you can hear the folks in the adjacent room. We were with our kids and enjoyed the Spa services as well. Overall a great stay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the upper floors. Pick 4007 as it has a large balcony adjacent to it (almost...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Soum M wrote a review May 2022
Hong Kong, China2 contributions
Rooms- big and spacious with a huge bathroom Housekeeping: Horrible; no replacement if used tea cups/ room cleaning and you would need to ask them every single time Ambience: Horrible; Was always packed with group tourists during our stay. There were functions organised by the tour operator for its customers and I never imagined I would have to bear with “Sheila ki Jawaani” types of songs spooking the peaceful Pelling. Food: Most the dishes served were good; but some of them were so so bad that they tend to negatively bias your overall impression. The buffet food options was mainly catering group tourists belonging to a particular region and taste. The custard was 80% water with fruits… You don’t get Darjeeling tea or Sikkim leaf tea after paying so much, but just milk tea that didn’t suit us. Also for some reason a particular family (lucky ones) were getting specially prepared items that can’t be availed by others. Was extremely frustrating for my kid who doesn’t understand what makes him different to those lucky kids getting differential treatment. Spa: was really good with trained staff
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you are not a group tour traveller and want to enjoy some peaceful time, stay away from this...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pelling The Chumbi Mountain Retreat, Guest Services / Front Office at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Responded 4 Jun 2022
Dear Soum M, You will kindly note that it’s the peak season at the resort and some amount of revelry and merry making is unavoidable. Guests with their family are out to have some fun, specially after the two year lockdown. The cultural programme at the banquet hall may have caused you some concern. These are also activities which are by and large very popular that we have to do to keep our guests occupied and entertained. Food has always been our forte but we are sorry that we were not able to cater to your specific taste. Our Food and Beverage department has been advised to take special care in future. Enough assortment of teas from the region including your favourite Darjeeling tea if you agree are well stocked at the room pantry and you shouldn’t have had a problem there. We don’t serve Darjeling tea at the restaurant but if you would have asked we would have obliged such a simple request. We are sorry that inspite of our efforts there were things that were left wanting. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better the next time. We are happy you mentioned about our spacious rooms and our award winning SPA. Thank you Team Chumbi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaSikkimWest SikkimPelling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Pemayangtse Gompa (1.0 km), Kanchenjunga Falls (7.4 km), and Rabdentse Ruins (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lotus Bakery, Melting Point Restaurant, and Big Bowl.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Pelling.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.