We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starling River Resort, Dandeli

Survey no 16/1B,Sakshalli Village,Harnoda Gram, Dandeli 581325 India
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 9 hotels in Dandeli
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A stay in Starling River Resort, Dandeli is about far more than just accommodation – it is about reviving the human spirit! With location-inspired architecture, our resort presents a luxurious, full-service experience. Located in the outskirts of Dandeli and near the banks of River Kali.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Hindi

Location

Survey no 16/1B,Sakshalli Village,Harnoda Gram, Dandeli 581325 India
Starling River Resort, Dandeli
95Reviews3Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 10
  • 6
  • 3
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Chitra D wrote a review Oct 2023
Chennai (Madras), India14 contributions3 helpful votes
Starling is a good property. it is right on the river side. there is a restaurant and a cafe by the river side. but they are terribly short on staff. so the property is a little run down due to lack of maintenance. example: the pool is in a bad shape - however, it is an infinity pool at the river side - would have been a charm if they fixed and cleaned it. the rooms are reasonably neat. the bathrooms are broken down - heater not working/ tap came off/ etc. but the staff are responsive and do the best they can. so the best thing would be to visit this place when it is off season, or just before or after the season - so that the place is not crowded. try weekdays also. if you visit when crowded, the stay is not likely to be pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Visit on weekdays to avoid crowds.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to Starling River Resort. We appreciate your comments and would like to address your concerns. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property's riverfront location and the presence of our restaurant and riverside café. These are indeed some of the highlights of our property. We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. The challenges you mentioned, such as the condition of our infinity pool and the maintenance issues in the bathrooms, are certainly areas that require our immediate attention. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we will be working diligently to rectify these issues and ensure that our facilities are in optimal condition for our guests. We're glad to hear that you found our staff responsive and doing their best to accommodate your needs. Guest satisfaction is our top priority, and we will use your feedback to further improve our service and the overall experience for our visitors. Your advice on visiting during the off-season or on weekdays is valuable, as it can help our guests have a more enjoyable and peaceful stay. We appreciate your understanding and recommendation in this regard. We are committed to providing a more enjoyable and comfortable experience for all our guests, and your review will aid us in making the necessary improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so you can fully experience the charm of our property when it's at its best. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mukund varma wrote a review Aug 2023
Pune, India13 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked this resort owing to location. I was expecting beautiful cozy place on river banks I was expecting serene silent experice and enjoy every bit of nature However the story is opposite This resort is party place They have loud music at all times on river side cafe. They have made all possible types of accommodation available and they are plenty of people around making noise till late night We booked most expensive cottage and it was totally robbery The cottage is not even 2 star standards They have broken furniture Broken glass pannet 100s of insects Unclean bed sheet Dirty bathroom which is open from one end My total experience here is worth forgetting They have small sized pool which is always full Food was OK
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't book
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Dear Mr. Mukund Varma, Thank you for staying at the Starling River Resort in Dandeli, Karnataka and for leaving your review. We are glad to know that you liked the food but dismayed to learn that you found the resort to be noisy. We do understand that the resort is always very busy and many young people come here to celebrate but these celebrations should not disturb others. We will surely look into this and find ways to improve. We are also sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with several aspects of your cottage. We apologies for the inconvenience and the presence of insects as the cottages are located close to the river for guests who want to spend time in nature. We hope that you will not let these trivialities spoil your impression and give us another chance in the future. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Drnataraj A wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Rooms are ok ok ,all rooms doors lock is not good ,it is like local lodge and bedsheet and blanket like old,soiled and used . Food is not at all tasty even breackfast , lunch ,dinner . Swimming fool is worst water is too dirty . Activities all are broken only small zip line tat also for 100 to 150 persons only 3 belt for zip line , other than this no activities .. Totally bakwas .. It's 5400, totally waste of money and time .. Personal advice please look at other resort.. Even when I visit almost it was huse customer .. but there is no justice for there money and time ..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Dear Guest, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit to our resort. We deeply apologize for not meeting your expectations, and we value your feedback as it helps us understand areas that require improvement. We are genuinely sorry that your experience did not live up to your standards. Your comments about the room conditions, door locks, and the quality of bedding, food and other amenities are concerning, and we assure you that we take this feedback seriously. Our aim is to provide comfortable and well-maintained accommodations for all our guests, and we will address these issues to ensure a better stay for future visitors. We hope you might reconsider visiting us in the future, giving us the chance to provide you with the experience you had hoped for. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lokesh D C wrote a review May 2023
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
This place is a total mess. Rooms are so small & unhygienic that you are bound to fall sick in the room itself. Food is very average, same items gets repeated. The pool which is supposed to be the main attraction of theirs, doesn't get cleaned & is filled with chemicals. The used plates & glasses kept outside the room were not removed even after 2 days which in itself talks about their Customer service. Last but not the least - there are no mini fridges in rooms & you are not allowed to keep your water bottles to cool in their fridge. Most of the activities mentioned are not available, they easily put the blame on weather conditions. Visit at your own risk.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 11 May 2023
Dear Guest, We are profoundly sorry for the inconvenience that you had to endure during your stay at our resort. We assure you that this is not the experience that we want to provide and is not representative of the experience of other guests. Please contact us directly so that we may better understand the issues for the future. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GEETA m wrote a review Jan 2023
baroda31 contributions22 helpful votes
we visited this place for only one day but enjoyed the family time so much. With no connectivity, this time together was a boon. The resort is aptly located on the banks of river kali amongst sugarcane fields. The rooms alloted us on the second floor has a beautiful view of the river. The rooms were spacious with all amenities. The staff and the restaurant food both were very excellent. Enjoyed the stay very much. Also the resort has various activities like boating, zipline, target shooting, archery, and other indoor sports.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: choose second floor rooms as you will get good views. first floor rooms are blocked with the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Dear Ms Geeta Thank you for reaching out to Starling River Resort! We feel extremely excited that you loved your overall experience at our Resort. Be it the rooms, the staff co-operation & other arrangements. We are further thrilled to find out that you even loved the food at our resort. We are looking forward to serving you again. Thanks & Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maipenbc wrote a review Dec 2022
Penticton, Canada66 contributions9 helpful votes
Spent a few days at Starling River Resort in Dandeli, and were off grid for few days. It’s a wonderful getaway to enjoy some serene time in the company of lush green forests and wild animals. Needed that! The staff at the resort were very friendly and accommodating. The resort is coming back to life and being closed similar to a lot of other places. Enjoyed the luxury tenting experience ‘Glamping”. Worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 25 Dec 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Starling River Resort, Dandeli. . We feel great that we could meet your expectations. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. We feel extremely excited that you loved your overall experience at our property. Be it the Resort, the staff co-operation & other arrangements. We are looking forward to serving you again at Starling River Resort, Dandeli. Best Regards, Team Starling River Resort "
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shodan wrote a review Dec 2022
Panjim, India28 contributions11 helpful votes
The place is beautifully situated surrounded by sugarcane plantation and the other side river.. The staff deserves a 5 star for the hospitality. The food was above my expectation the A la carte or the buffet which was deliciously.. The activities also was fun and the staff takes good care.. Wish they could plan to have something for little kids which will make them also happy.. The negative I found was the pool which was not clean and also saw ladies jumping into it with Saree & salwar which was disappointing but the next day I saw they were cleaning the pool but I was checking out. Over all it was a great experience and thank you all for making it a memorable trip..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The weather is cold at night being December & you will need a Google map to reach this place.....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 7 Dec 2022
Dear Shodan, Greetings from Dandeli Starling River Resorts. We are grateful for your review. We are pleased to know that you loved our rooms as well as the services. Your feedback regarding kids playing area and pool is very well noted and shared with our concerned team.We would be more than happy to have you again at our property. Looking forward to serving you in the future. Best Regards, Team Dandeli Starling River Resorts
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked this resort on the understanding that several activities were included in the price. This was not so. They give you a voucher to take to the “local” activity centre which isn’t worth the paper it’s written on. When we arrived at the activity centre we were told that we would have to pay for the activities. We contacted the hotel and they refused to honour the terms of our booking. We booked the riverside tents and these were damp and mouldy. We had to be asked to move as No one would of been able to breath in the stench. We booked for two nights as this would of given us enough time to do the white water rafting and the morning safari but asked to check out after the first night. Considering the package that was sold to us was in fact mis sold, they would only refund half of our costs for the second night. Do yourself a favour and don’t stay here. You can stay in many places for a fraction of the cost and pay for activities at the activity centre.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. Please accept our heartfelt apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. As per our policy, we do not guarantee the availability of any Water Sport as this depends on external factors. River Rafting depends on the Dam authorities, weather conditions etc. At the time of check in, you should have been given a list of activities that are available during your trip. If you were not given this list, we are deeply sorry. As per our information, you you did not not like the riverside tents and were upgraded to another accommodation as per your request. We hope that the upgraded accommodation was to your satisfaction and you will give another chance in the future. Best Regards Team Starling River Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
saurabhsathe29 wrote a review Nov 2022
Thane, India21 contributions
Fantabulous hotel with great food. Its a huge property bang on the banks of Kali river . Amazing resort with delicious cook . Few names I would like to mention and thank them for a wonderful stay with my expended family of 15 people . Chef : Shavez Floor manager : Franklyn Reception : Rajvir . These three people made my stay a memorable one . All the staff including the service person Manoj were very helpful and humble . View was fantastic and service was unbeatable . Everyone in my family enjoyed the stay . Food was really really amazing with wide variety and tasty . People going to dandeli should stay here as it has everything one wants . Only thing is rooms (202,203,204,205) needs some maintenance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get rooms on 2nd floor as it has amazing views .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 7 Nov 2022
Dear Mr. Saurabh, Thank you so much for giving your feedback. Our team at Starling Hotels & Resorts is thrilled to see your positive response. Our goal is always to exceed your expectations! We are glad to see that you loved our food, ambience & overall stay. Your kind words of appreciation have ben communicated to Chef Shavez, Floor Manger Franklyn and Rajvir at the front desk. If there’s anything we can help you with during your next visit, please don’t hesitate to let us know. We hope to see you soon! Best, Team Starling River Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kavilash Panicker wrote a review Oct 2022
Mumbai, India1 contribution
+1
We had the best time of our lives in here. There are affordable tents, premium cottages as well has AC rooms to cater every person's requirement. The staff is courteous and kind spoken. We received special guest treatment in here. The best part is we had chat with the manager who guided us about everything tge resort offers. It felt like talking to a friend. We would recommend everyone to visit this special place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Usman Sheikh, Owner at Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Responded 7 Nov 2022
Dear Mr. Kavailash, Thank you so much for patronising Starling River Resort & taking out time to share your valuable feedback with us. All of us are delighted that we could provide a comfortable yet majestic stay for you. Thankyou so much for your stay and we look forward to having you again! Best, Team Starling River Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dandeli area.
PRICE RANGE
₹4,588 - ₹6,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaUttara Kannada DistrictDandeli
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STARLING RIVER RESORT, DANDELI (Karnataka) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Starling River Resort, Dandeli
Which popular attractions are close to Starling River Resort, Dandeli?
Nearby attractions include Kali River (5.9 km) and Shiroli Peak (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Starling River Resort, Dandeli?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Starling River Resort, Dandeli?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Starling River Resort, Dandeli?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Starling River Resort, Dandeli?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.