We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wilderness

Save
Share
The Wilderness, Tani Jubber Tannijubbar, Shimla hills, Narkanda 172031 India
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (337)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Narkanda
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The property is ideally situated on a hilltop with a lake on one side and a valley on the other overlooking The Himalayas. It is within an apple and a cherry orchard with a cedar forest on one side. The cleanliness and the food are of great quality. Best suited for families, couples and nature lovers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Outdoor fireplace
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
Hindi
192Reviews5Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 42
  • 5
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dr. RAMAY ASHDHIR wrote a review Mar 2019
Jabalpur, India45 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Visited with family in march 19. Hotel is excellent in location away from hustle of shimla main city ,kufri, mashobra hotels . Route to hotel from Narkanda bus stand is superb ,snow on both sides and driving in between... Its located just in between the forest with a small lake at entrance and huge valley view behind resort. I have never seen such a serene place till now. Property is premium and well maintained. Rooms are in huge wooden cottages, neat n clean washrooms. Views are amazing from inside the room. All ameneties to manage cold weather are available. Food is tasty and good in quality. Owner Mr. Rajesh is handling the resort nicely. Staff is also cooperative especially Mr. Vijay. Overall no regret ....
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from zoyasinghm, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilderness
Responded 25 Mar 2019
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to know that your experience with us remained a beautiful one. The Wilderness is truly blessed to have inherited a place that is extremely picturesque. Being ideally located away from the city madness. It is indeed a paradise for nature lovers. I am delighted to know that your journey was a memorable one. Just like a fairytale, The Wilderness looks astonishing during winter. Thank you for highlighting us over the location. The rooms are designed in a rustic way by keeping in mind the surroundings and the view facing them. Thank you for giving us a positive feedback over the services and cleanliness. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in them. Our chef and staff is the epitome of service for which we take immense pride. I shall pass your words of appreciation to Mr. Rajesh and Vijay. The team and I would love to welcome you back. You must plan another visit with us. Thank You Zoya Mukhyan House of Wilderness Tanijubber, 172031 Narkanda, Shimla telephone- +91-9915014486 ; Email - thewildernesshimalayas@gmail.com
Read more
Pankaj A wrote a review Jan 2019
3 contributions
Guys we had excellent times and enjoyed a lot ...The great advantage of a hotel is that it is a refuge from home life .. luxury rooms ..excellent services by staff.. Exceeded our expectations..Thanks Mr Rajesh for lovely services and friendly environment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from houseofwilderness, Owner at The Wilderness
Responded 16 Jan 2019
I am very happy Mr. Pankaj A that you had a delighted experience with us. We would love to host you again.
Read more
Sumir S wrote a review Jan 2019
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We visited the place in Jan 2019 , had a wonderful experiance of every thing starts from check in till check out...... Special thanks to Rajesh ji (owner) who enjoyed with us and helped us to go back home after having a heavy snow fall in night.... He came along us till shimla. Also special thanks to sunny... Who work there and a very good person..... Must visit place...will defiantly come again and this time with family.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from houseofwilderness, Manager at The Wilderness
Responded 16 Jan 2019
It is good to know that are staff was hospitable enough to host you well. The Wilderness awaits your visit.
Read more
maddy wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
the resort is situated at a place overlooking the snow peaks and a lake nearby. the rooms were marvellous with all amenities and the ambience great. the food was simple but top notch with good good taste the services by the staff was really worth appreciating seeing the cold and the terrain. the bonfire outside and the bukhari in the hall was really which was keeping us going. the owner rajesh was overlooking our stay personally and made us feel at home with comfort. would really love to be back.cheers
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from houseofwilderness, Manager at The Wilderness
Responded 27 Feb 2019
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review. It is important for us to know your experience. The Wilderness is a property that is ideally located with the view of the mighty Himalayas from all the rooms. This indeed is a boon. We take pride in providing you a top notch service and I am happy that our staff did its best to make your stay comfortable. By staying true to our theme 'A home away from home' we make sure everything remains homely and so is the food. Our very loved cook takes full charge of this. I am glad that the ongoing bukhari and bonfire we have spared you with the winter chill and hence you had a delightful stay. Mr. Rajesh with his fueling passion of catering to the guests makes sure that each one of you has memorable stay. as he personally addresses them. We look forward to host you again. Best regards, Zoya Mukhyan House of Wilderness Tanijubber, 172031 Narkanda, Shimla telephone- +91-9915014486 ; Email - thewildernesshimalayas@gmail.com
Read more
Peejal wrote a review Jan 2019
New Delhi, India4 contributions1 helpful vote
The location of the property is excellent, but from the time of check in only- we were treated so badly- first we were given rooms where there was no attached bathroom- the tarriff charged to us per night per room is 12500/- and no attached bathroom, then after a long fight we were given rooms in the newly constructed part of the resort - they had these room all the time still they offered us such terrible rooms and the owner kept telling us that there is a very roudy group in the newly constructed part of the resort hence I am giving you this accommodation- where as it was completely false there were just four other guests apart from us who were a super friendly and civil and the biggest problem of the place is the rooms are soooo cold- the owner doesn’t have proper hitting
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from ThewildernessH, Guest Relations Manager at The Wilderness
Responded 19 Oct 2019
Dear guest, It's been disheartening to read your review. I apologize for not standing up to your expectations. But I would like to clarify certain points made by you. 1.Our tariff is only Rs 7000/ ( as quoted on our website too), surprisingly you have mentioned it as Rs 12,500 per room per night. 2. As for the rooms, we offered you initially suites on the 'quieter side' of the resort so that you would not be disturbed by the group that was supposed to come the next day. Agreed, the guests had not arrived the day you checked in hence their rooms were vacant. And your stay being on the Wilderness for four nights was the matter of consideration to give you rooms that were on the quieter side, so that you might not be disturbed by the large group of guests. 3. We would like to clarify for the guests knowledge that all rooms at the Wilderness have 'attached toilets'. 4. As per your feedback it seems the Wilderness is only running on 4 staff members. It's strange to even think that a property like Wilderness can run on peak new year's season with just 4 helpers! 5.As for the heating, we are well equipped to keep the place warm. 6. To my shock, your feedback on meals, seems such a misfit as well. While you were on the property you were infect enjoying each meal as told by our staff and above all the menu too was being prepared as to your needs even for the other guests staying at the resort at that time. Lastly, apologies on the delayed tea served in the morning of the 1st of Jan, for it was the morning after the New Year's eve. We from the Wilderness hope that you do come again so that we can provide you a better experience!
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshShimla DistrictNarkanda
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing