We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Karapura - Kabini Road Gundathur Village, Nagarhole National Park 571114 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (964)
Room & Suite (254)
Pool & Beach (67)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Nagarhole National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Serene and tranquil through the day yet exciting and stimulating at night; the Bison, a boutique tented camp, the first of its kind in India, offers luxury at the very of adventure. "The Bison" is situated at the confluence of the Bandipur and Nagarhole National Parks, on the shores of the exotic Kabini River in Karnataka (west of Mysore), which offers you the perfect wildlife adventure. It is the only resort in the area which directly overlooks the national park. Elephants and other wildlife are regularly spotted from the resort. The decor and ambiance of the camp recreates the adventurous decadence of a bygone era. Wooden floors, elegant linen, beautiful artifacts, old cabin trunks and other original antiques seek to enhance the rustic setting of the camp site. Each tent is lavishly furnished with double beds, writing and dressing tables, full length mirror and arm chairs. En-suite bathrooms with expansive showers are a virtual treat.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Board games / puzzles
24-hour security
Outdoor fireplace
Private check-in / check-out
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Hindi

Location

Full view
Contact
Karapura - Kabini Road Gundathur Village, Nagarhole National Park 571114 India
Getting there
Mysore Airport60 kmSee all flights
Kannur International Airport76 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
630Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 440
  • 121
  • 37
  • 14
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Apeksha G wrote a review 7 Aug
Bengaluru, India2 contributions
If you’re looking for a break from all the chaos, there’s no other place like The Bison! As soon as you enter, you’re transported to a rustic place. It’s very evident that there’s been a lot of heart out into making The Bison! The entire team is courteous and super friendly! We weren’t lucky enough to spot a big cat on our safari, but the lush green and serenity of the jungle was truly soothing! Overall, our stay at The Bison was wonderful! Just suggest an earlier breakfast timing. Otherwise, the food was great too! Thanks, team! Will be back during the summer :) P.S. we did hear a tiger roar!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try avoid visiting in the monsoon if you love activities! But visit in monsoon if you want some...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded yesterday
Dear Apeksha, Thank you for being our valued customer. We are grateful for the pleasure of serving you and meeting your needs. We are glad you enjoyed our rustic little camp and had a great time. We look forward to hosting again! Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
solomon sadhu wrote a review Jul 2022
Bengaluru, India7 contributions
+1
Fantastic place to experience the wild… very luxurious for tent camping…views a spectacular..we would have loved it if it were closer to forest area or in the jungle. (High hopes😜) Staff are very friendly and polite especially Mr. Vinod the manager…we really appreciate the knowledge and information that he could pass on to us. Food is good… all 3 meals are buffet with a decent spread. We would rate it 7.5/10
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Solomon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad you had a good time and liked our African tented camp. Thank you for being our valued customer. We are grateful for the pleasure of serving you and meeting your needs. We look forward to hosting you again! Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
atuluel wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Outrageously expensive for below average stay, resort charged us Rs. 55,000 for a night in lean rainy season of July for their little bison tent. Actually, it should not be worth more than Rs.10,000. Comparing it with Taj, Coorg which charged us Rs. 25000 per night for their premium villa, but is 25 times better than Bison, Kabini.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid staying in this resort. Staff is good, but seems management is too greedy for money....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Mr Goya, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to know that you find our cost on the higher side as you have booked our most premium tents, the little bison exclusive. The Bison is not for everyone, we are a rustic tented camp, a mix between a rustic African wildlife tented camp and the old lodges of the Raj, We are small, exclusive & unique! Luxury in the city and luxury in the forest is completely different and cannot be defined and compared as one. However, thank you for your time and thank you for choosing Bison. Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rajeshwar wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The place has the best view easily. I've been to the other resorts at kabini and the bison is situated at the best location. Lies very close to the heart of the jungle. You can sometimes find wildlife at your doorstep. Great place for birding, so keep your eyes and ears wide open. SERVICE: The service they provide is just too good makes you feel like you're at home. Everytime you enter the common areas there is someone to greet you with a smiling face,be it the manager/naturalists or even the staff members, they make you feel very comfortable and homely. Both Shashank and Vinod who are the managers and in house naturalists make sure that there is a lack of nothing. They are at your service 24/7. They are just one call away and will fulfill all your needs. Their knowledge about wildlife is truly amazing and use can sense their passion in the air. A Big Thank you to the bison and its team. You guys were amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear Naidu, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you had a good time and liked our lovely little rustic camp. It was lovely having you at camp. We would love for you to visit us again. Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2013Travel_Companion wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India250 contributions157 helpful votes
The Bison has been one of those most disappointing places - where the expectations and reality are totally mismatched. In short, we do not recommend this place at all. Before arrival they send you a form so as to personalise your experience. Which we filled and sent them. They did nothing with the information on that form - nothing was personal, nothing was accounted for and that form served no purpose. The food is to simply put it - terrible. They could not even get basic south Indian food right. The idlis were dense hard rocks, dosas were thick rubber mats (when we asked them to make them thinner, they said not possible). At breakfast for juice they serve Frooti!!! Who serves Frooti for breakfast? The daal was always bland, and rest of the food left much much to be desired. The maximum of anything I ate was the Parle-G biscuits they gave with tea - that was the only remotely edible thing. The desserts left too much to be desired - they just put out a bowl everyday, which looked like the same milk based dish in different colours. When you have a resort where the only option is to eat your food, the food needs to be good. Bison fails at this and how. The tents are good, and that is the highlight. However, ours had a plumbing issue which they could not fix. The staff has good intentions, but there is poor management and no understanding of basic rules of hospitality and hence, they fail at it miserable. No manager to guide or do anything. Nothing is catered to or taken care. You have to just accept what is given to you. Their additional activities are namesake, and fillers for when safaris are not available, but no good replacements of the same. The amount they charge per night is absolutely not justified for the services they offer. The food is like hostel food. Literally. They are more of a budget low-end category, but charge as if they are luxury category. This view was shared with quite a few other guests while we were there. Important to note: safaris in Karnataka are controlled by the government. Therefore, if you want a fixed jeep safari you should only stay at the Jungle Lodge & Resort. Only there it is guaranteed. Any private place (like Bison) can only get you a guaranteed spot on a cantor (a 20 + seater bus) which is no good for a safari experience. While this situation has nothing to do with Bison, it is further disappointing when you stay there - as it makes nothing worth staying at the Bison for. Their naturalist Vinod tries very hard and is very good but cannot fix all the issues afflicting this property. Further, we had to have a huge argument before he started coming with us on safaris - before that we were left alone on these huge buses with drivers just driving around to fill the 3 hours slots, and no experience of the forest of any sightings. I am well travelled, have stayed at many safari hotels, and this has been the poorest of all experiences. There are several other options around, explore those or just stay at the Karnataka government property (Jungle Lodges & Resorts) if safaris are your main focus. It still amazes me as to how they have managed to create a facade on their website, and online with top notch reviews. Once you go there you immediately know none of it is true. Several guests were as shocked and surprised with the mismatch as we were. This place is best avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
Room Tip: Lake view facing if you are compelled to stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear Rahela, We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any convenience caused during your stay at The Bison. We are very sorry to know that you were disappointed with your trip. The food factor is being looked into and the necessary changes will take place. We have looked into all the issues mentioned and will work towards bettering ourselves. The safari vehicles as you are aware are managed and controlled by the forest department and we do our very best to give all our guests as many safaris as possible. Nevertheless, we pologise once again and thank you for your feedback. Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vidhi D wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India140 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
Writing this review breaks our heart. We were so excited to stay at The Bison after reading the reviews and checking the website. However, it was a big miss on a lot of areas. - To start with the rooms were one of its kind ( we stayed at the Little Bison and the Lakeview Villa) and both the rooms were amazing. They were clean and huge. The little Bison came with a private dining area and a private verandah with a bathtub, open to sky bed and bonfire. Two major issues in the room were 1. They had two single beds put together instead of one king/ queen size bed. 2. There was no AC in the room. Though during the night we got lucky with the weather, day time was tough to sustain in the room. The entire property is amazing with riverbanks right a jump away from the property its a blissful sight where you can keep watching for hours at once. The hotel also is home to several rescue horses which adds to the beauty of the hotel.. - the staff practically made us feel unneeded. The hospitality was a big mess. There was no clarity on the options available, when asked we were rushed through everything, we were not given any one point contact when we changed our room for needing any housekeeping requirement. The manager didnt care to bother and know if we were comfortable. No words exchanged between us the staff, if felt like we were staying the property free of cost. After paying the huge sum we did expect some sort of warmth and hospitality from the staff. - the food was average with limited option and repetitive food. We were not told that the beverages we were ordering would be extra and it came as a surprise when we checked out. - the resort sent pre information form when we booked the resort asking us our food preference, if we had any special occasion to celebrate and our safari preference. What came as a surprise was that inspite of knowing we were there for our first wedding anniversary, they didnt make any effort to make it special for us, but they also didn’t care to wish us. Well on the name of hospitality this was a great disappointment. - having read so much of the bush dinner, we opted for the same for our anniversary night. What great disappointment. A campfire was set up with a table and chair around. We were served the same meal which we would have otherwise got being an all inclusive package. However we were charged 700 per person for the setup and dinner.. we felt it was a complete rip off.. Our stay at bison was a huge disappointment after paying a handsome amount. Having stayed at other hotel during the same visit we definitely feel the bison has to up its game.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: -non ac rooms - limited variety of food - inaccessible staff
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Vidhi, We are very sorry to know that your experience at Bison was disappointing. We are saddened by the fact that you never felt comfortable and welcomed as this is the opposite of what we stand for. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority. We take all our guests' feedback seriously. we will look into all that you have mentioned and take the right steps and make the necessary changes to ensure that this is not repeated again. We would like to thank you for bringing this to our notice. We will call and speak with you personally as well. We apologize once again for everything and thank you for your time in sharing your experience with The Bison. Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chaithra wrote a review Apr 2022
Bengaluru, India1 contribution
+1
I stayed at the bison for one night at their bamboo cottage and right from the moment I walked in till my check out I felt at home . Their hospitality is impeccable . The staff go out of their way to make you feel your best . I’ve always wanted to experience African style glamping and I got to do it right here in our very own Kabini . The Bison was beyond my expectations and I’m definitely going back .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear Chaithra, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you had a good holiday at The Bison and enjoyed our rustic little camp. We hope you visit us again! Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nirmala U wrote a review Apr 2022
Guwahati, India31 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Me and my husband were there for three nights. What hospitality ! Shashank and Vinod, the naturalists and managers made us feel comfortable right away. The entire staff is very friendly. We were in the waterfront tent and waking up to the view of cows grazing and the horses roaming around is something we would take home with us. Not to mention the safari, which we went for thrice and each time saw tigers. Special mention about the lovely food with variety. Natural water boilers, rooms sans AC and plenty of nature all around, I would give 10 stars. Will definitely visit again!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Nirmala, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are you enjoyed your stay with us and had a pleasant experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure serving you. We hope you visit again. Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrinalis88 wrote a review Apr 2022
Palampur, India5 contributions12 helpful votes
Highlights for us two couples was the hospitality and luxurious ambience we experienced. We stayed in the waterfront tents, which gave us our own personalised view to the outside. The tents were luxury! And for me personally, the whole facade of the camp is perfectly done with a pool you cannot miss. In all, a must stay if you wish to visit Nagarhole. They will make your stay and the safari a pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Mrinal, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked our property and enjoyed the waterfront tents with a lovely view of the backwaters. It was lovely meeting and hosting you at camo. We hope you visit us in the near future. Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shobasampath wrote a review Apr 2022
Bengaluru, India62 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
We visited The Bison in September 2020 on a recommendation from a friend. We loved our visit so much so that when we just wanted a small vacation just to chill we immediately thought of it again. We got really great offer for our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed this visit too. The accommodation was excellent,food was so good. There was so much variety to choose from and the taste too good. The staff are so good and courteous. The safari was excellent with our naturalist Mr Vinod. The aesthetics of the place take your breath away every time. The Bison Kabini is a place worth visiting if you want to tune in with the nature and relax
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Since the accommodation is limited I would suggest you book well in advance. If you want to spot...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Bison Resort, General Manager at The Bison
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Shoba, Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure serving you. We hope you'll come and see us again soon! Warm Regards, The Bison Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaKodagu (Coorg)Nagarhole National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bison
Which popular attractions are close to The Bison?
Nearby attractions include Kabini River (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bison?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Bison?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bison?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bison?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honey Comb, The Kuruba Grill, and Tasty Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bison?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.