We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Poros Kefalonia, Poros 280 86 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
StayForLong
Vio.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (357)
Room & Suite (163)
Pool & Beach (52)

About

#1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Poros
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Oceanis Hotel, your Poros “home away from home.” Oceanis Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Oceanis Hotel is a quaint small hotel offering a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The small hotel features a sun terrace and baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Poros. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While in Poros be sure to experience local souvlaki favourites at Taverna Agrapidos, Steki Grill, or Taverna Dionysos.

Oceanis Hotel puts the best of Poros at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Billiards
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Car hire
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Greek

Location

Full view
358Reviews41Q+A86Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 278
  • 66
  • 10
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DionneHaw wrote a review 1 Nov
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We have just returned from an amazing 10 days in Kefalonia. The Oceanis Hotel is a perfect base for exploring the island. The hotel is basic but has everything you need and is extremely clean. The family are very keen to make your stay enjoyable and will provide anything that you need, be it beach towels, lifts to the town and back, airport transfers or car hire. The island was quiet due to the time of year but there were still plenty of places to visit and eat and drink. The hotel provides breakfast which was excellent and bar snacks were available too. We had toasted sandwiches a couple of times and these were great value for money. The pool was cold which was a shame but there were plenty of sun loungers and table tennis available. Overall the oceanis Hotel is excellent value for money, the views are amazing and the location is perfect for exploring. I would 100% recommend it for those that are not expecting 5* luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The hotel is located at the top of a steep hill but the hotel do offer a shuttle bus to and from...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Amanda E wrote a review Oct 2022
England, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
Just returned from end of season holiday. How anyone can say this was a very friendly family run hotel was beyond us! We booked based on reviews we read but our experience was completely the opposite. We are a quiet family with a very well behaved 12 year old son but felt very uncomfortable particularly at Breakfast. The female owner of the hotel had a permanent scowl on her face and we felt we were far from welcome, a nuisance in fact. There was no friendly ‘good morning’ pleasantries or smile. We initiated this every day, bar one, to see if we would be greeted first but we were completely ignored. Aside from that the remainder of staff were cordial. Had the beds been comfortable we would have just overlooked that element of the hotel but they were, without doubt the worst mattresses imaginable! I think prison beds may have been softer - these were like bricks, the pillows not much better. Every night’s bedtime was dreaded. Rooms were very basic and although clean were overdue for newer furniture by about 40 years! Air con was poor and complicated. No fire safety notices in the event of emergencies. Fridge had mini bar which was very expensive even for bottled water. Pool was totally unusable and freezing as it was unheated. The sea was warmer. Be warned that the beach at Poros is unpleasant in the last week of the season very little on the island is open. No boat trips, no buses, majority of taverns and cafes closed and so some beaches don’t therefore have any refreshment or toilet facilities. This is terrible when those with families who can only come away in school holidays and who pay such a lot of money find themselves very out of pocket and frankly shortchanged. Kefalonia however is a beautiful island with crystal clear sea and in October, a perfect climate.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t go to this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander M, Εξυπηρέτηση πελατών/Υποδοχή at Oceanis Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon Mrs Amanda, Thank you very much for your review and sorry for your bad experience that you had during your stay. Unfortunately, during your stay we did not recognize anything like this, since many times we had communication, you seemed that all were very good, as you were saying in our regular conversations, without expressing any complaints. As you understood from our different conversations, we did our best in order to show our thankfulness about your visit and we tried to fulfill all of your requests. Basically, you asked for a bigger room in the second day even if we had given you a superior triple room with big veranda in a high position offering the best sea view. However, since it was possible, we gave you a quadruple room that was bigger, without any extra cost. But you did not inform us that the beds were not comfortable in order to put soft mattresses that we provide in case like yours, that have not used to the medium orthopedic mattresses. I know that all the people that come during the last two weeks have some restrictions regarding the boat trips which due to the unstable weather and the low demand, decide to stop the different excursions. However, it is not something that we can affect, especially when during early of October almost all the big tour operators decide to end their program. However, our hotel, is one of the few properties, that remains open until end of October in order to offer services of accommodation to many families and couples during the last part of the low season. During your stay you hired a car from our car hire department, cars especially for our guests in very good prices. You hired a new Citroen C3 for 5 days out of 7. This means that you had the opportunity to explore the areas since due to the last part of the season, the timetable of the buses was not regular. This allowed you to go to all the beaches that you desired and to the big cities that all the facilities were open. So in order to be possible to review us fair according to normal circumstances and not during the last week of the season, when many facilities are closed or the weather is not very good, we ask you to visit us again in the future, in order to make up your opinion regarding our property. Thank you very much for your visit and I hope to see you another time in the future in our place. Have a nice day. Kind regards, Alexander.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dmhowie56 wrote a review Oct 2022
Wantage, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
A lovely family run hotel. Alexander and his family could not do enough for us including sorting out our car hire. Room was excellent with fantastic sea view. A lovely breakfast every morning as well. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel is up on a hillside so if you're walking back from the beach you'll need to be...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mel C wrote a review Oct 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Just returned from a wonderful week at Hotel Oceanis. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms cleaned to very high standard everyday. Excellent breakfast, great snack bar. Generous portions and very reasonable prices. What makes this stand out are the pool, exceptional view from most rooms and the family that work really hard to give guests a great holiday! I plan to return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan I wrote a review Oct 2022
San Francisco15 contributions5 helpful votes
I have recently returned from another memorable visit to the Oceanis for the 6th year running, once again humbled by the kindness and generosity of spirit proferred by Alex and his lovely family. My home from home. This hotel isn’t for you if you are looking for luxury but their standards in every respect are unsurpassable. If your priorities are a warm welcome in clean and comfortable surroundings to a backdrop of spectacular views then look no further. But don’t tell too many people 🤫
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Patricia W wrote a review Oct 2022
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom13 contributions16 helpful votes
We have just returned from an amazing 2 week stay in this beautiful family run hotel. The family are the most amazing people,Peter, Maria and Alex went over and beyond to ensure that you were taken care of in every way. The breakfast was just outstanding lots of fresh fruit and fresh bread along with little homemade cakes and pastries.Our room had the most fantastic view over the harbour (36) which was lovely in the late afternoon for sitting in the sunshine. We would definitely come back again and if you need to get down to the restaurant’s on the beach front Peter will drop you down and pick up up again when you are ready.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel is at the top of a very step hillside so not recommended for people with walking...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
W6travellers wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom118 contributions84 helpful votes
We stayed here for a week at the end of September 2022. Our standard room (23) was simple and comfortable with a small terrace and amazing views out over the harbour and town of Poros. The hotel is on many levels, high up on a headland overlooking the town (about a 15 minute walk in) and close to two of the best restaurants in the area, also on the headland. The swimming pool overlooks the sea, the town, the island of Ithaca and the mainland; swimming there is an absolute pleasure and there are loungers and a very well-priced bar with food at all hours too. Local restaurant recommendations would be Sunset and Agrapidos on the headland, and Steki Grill and To Korali in town. Breakfast is enormous and varied; everything from halva to stuffed vine leaves, cereal, toast, eggs, yoghurt, local cheeses and ham, olives, pastries and baklava. It's served on a large terrace with the same views out to sea and is a real tonic each morning. But the real plus is the service here; Alexander could not have been more helpful with queries and advice. Peter took us back and forth from the airport (50 euros) with speed and interesting chat, and Maria is responsible for the amazing breakfasts. We can't wait to go back - thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Amanagement wrote a review Oct 2022
Newbury, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
I checked the reviews for this hotel before leaving but did not expect it to be as good as reported. It exceeded all my expectations- it’s a great family run hotel. Our room over looked the harbour so we had fabulous views. The rooms are not luxurious (the beds a little hard) but very clean and have everything you need including a kettle tea/coffee and fridge, also air con. Towels changed daily if needed, staff very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The included breakfast is very good with selection of cereal breads eggs cheeses and ham plus local cakes. Coffee machine or tea if you prefer. Eat you breakfast on the terrace which also looks over the bay and has stunning views. The swimming pool is larger than I expected again with good views and very pleasant. As the hotel is set high up it’s not so bad to walk into the town but more challenging climbing back up, however the hotel and several restaurants will collect/return you at no extra cost which is great. Poros is about 50 mins drive from the airport if you rent a car (longer by coach)it has a good choice of restaurants but we went to different beaches each day - it’s a beautiful island.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: This hotel has many steps and is set on the hillside so difficult if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
claireWilts wrote a review Oct 2022
Marlborough, United Kingdom93 contributions51 helpful votes
Just returned from a glorious week here. We were in a superior sea view room (15) which was lovely with amazing views from both balconies. Air con; fridge with reasonably stocked items; large walk in shower; large comfortable bed. Cleaned every day and towels changed. Breakfast was plentiful - toast, eggs, pastries, fruit etc. The owner picked us up and dropped us back to the airport for a very reasonable rate. He would also pick you up from the town in the evening which was a godsend as the hill is a killer. Pool was cold but a welcome relief some days Always sunbeds available. Snack bar was good and reasonably priced. Cats everywhere which we loved Top tip- hire a car from the airport or the hotel as its a lifesaver
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Superior sea view room always Higher the room, better the view, but more steps
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Erny67 wrote a review Sep 2022
Llandudno, United Kingdom26 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
What a gem of a hotel this is! We have just spent the most wonderful week in Poros, Kefalonia at the Oceanis hotel. Set up in the hills on the edge of the resort this typically Greek, family run hotel has the most breathtaking views in Poros. The rooms are comfortable and have air con and a fridge stocked with water, juice and beer and kept topped up for you on a pay as you use basis. The small town of Poros is about a 12-15 minute walk down hill but the hotel offer a free shuttle between 8 and 1 and 5 and 11pm which we used for the trip back up! The family that run the hotel are so kind and cannot do enough to help you and make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast is a continental buffet with fresh omlettes or eggs cooked to order. Cannot recomend this hotel highly enough!... It is not flash or super modern so if this is what you are looking for then perhaps not for you but if it is a traditional Greek hotel in a stunning setting that you are looking for then this is most definitely the place.. We will be booking for next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$37 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceIonian IslandsKefaloniaPoros
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OCEANIS HOTEL (Kefalonia, Ionian Islands, Greece) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Oceanis Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Oceanis Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Zanza Bar (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oceanis Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Oceanis Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Oceanis Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a poolside bar, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Oceanis Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oceanis Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steki Grill, To Korali, and Taverna Agrapidos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oceanis Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Oceanis Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Oceanis Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Oceanis Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Oceanis Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mycenaean Tholos Tomb (2.1 km).
Does Oceanis Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.