We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Tortuga Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
La Tortuga Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Tortuga Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

4 of us stayed in a 4 bed dorm. Beds were nice. Bathroom was nice. Great rooftop bar. The place even has a pool. Need I say more? No I don't think so. Taganga is small so getting around from the hostel is pretty easy. The main strip of Taganga is no more than a couple of hundred metres away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eoin C
Medellin, Colombia
Reviewed 12 February 2016

well hostel looks fine from outset but pool is filthy, bathrooms don't have shower heads or if they do they fall off. worst of all the owner and staff are schemers and will try and charge you fro items which you didn't have or use... you have been warned.. oh and the only reason you may want to visit taganga...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mr n
Lucky_Mona, Propietario at La Tortuga Hostel, responded to this review

Hola Mr. N. Thanks for your "constructive" message. We are sorry if you had a bad stay with us. But need to ask you something: when were you staying here? if you did in january as you said, you should know that Me, Mónica, the owner wasn´t in taganga. Besides, when you make acusations like this at least should show...

Toronto
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The place is nice at first pass, but then you realize that the pool is pretty gross and tiny, the showerhead has been yanked off, the location isn't great, and that Taganga kinda sucks unless you're diving, or looking to score lots and lots of drugs. I did have a bad experience with them giving away my room. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reza E
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

I planned to spend a week in Taganga and when I checked in the Nirvana hostel I wanted to leave the same day because of the dirtiness and lack of atmosphere . Luckily I found the Tortuga hostel that completely changed my mood. It's the only Caribbean looking building in Taganga , made with local bamboo and palm roof ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Great hostel for Taganga. The hostel is partly made of bamboo and has various places to relax: hammocks, a pool and a rooftop bar with an amazing view over the bay. Staff was one of the best on our trip. Welcoming, helpful and always smiling. Rooms are basic, but clean. Mattresses should be replaced (they were a little bit shaggy)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joh4
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

This is a really nice hostel. No more, no less. Nice pool, very nice owner, nice(ish) kitchen. The room is so so, but really ok. Was really annoying that when the pool was out of order, no one told us nothing, and after being out of order for full two days (half our stay) , I think they should have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rotem Z
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here one night & left. Dirty bathrooms, fans broken so only blew on bottom bunks so boiling, dodgey part of town, and music till 2am in the middle of the week. Moved to other hostels which were cheaper and had AC. Nice staff but I think this hostel has just got lazy because they're in the guide books.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldbri
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed in one of he dorm rooms at La Tortuga in June 2015. Overall the hostel is pretty nice and definitely really clean. There is a nice rooftop terrace with a bar and some hammocks...this was key for Taganga heat. The location is a little bit far from the beach, about a 5-7 min walk. Taganga is pretty small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGUNITED4
Mazatlan, Mexico
Reviewed 10 July 2015

I really enjoyed having a pool, after coming from the South and loosing my tan this was a huge plus for me. There are hammocks almost everywhere and the staff were all helpful and nice. Special thanks to Alfredo at the reception for really being amazing, helpful and enjoying his job. The bartender Guido rocks, he's very knowledgeable about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

Really lovely hostel with a rustic look due to the awesome bamboo construction. Great roof top bar with views and excellent little pool to cool off in - a real bonus. Hostel was clean and was a nice place to chill with cooling breezes, hammocks and fans. It didn't necessarily feel the securest of places, but this was more Taganga...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MorrisMinor8

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taganga hotels
1.0 km away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#2 of 12 in Taganga
156 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#5 of 12 in Taganga
121 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 66 in Taganga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Casa Moringa
Casa Moringa
#5 of 66 in Taganga
55 reviews
0.6 km away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#3 of 66 in Taganga
328 reviews
0.3 km away
Nirvana Hostel Taganga
Nirvana Hostel Taganga
#15 of 66 in Taganga
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In a traditional neighborhood on the sunny Colombian Caribbean coast, La Tortuga Hostel inmerses you in the local athmosphere. Here you will make friends and enjoy cocktails on our rooftop bar with a breathtaking view of Taganga bay. In addition to offering accommodation, we also have certified scuba diving staff that can show you the bautiful underwater world. La Tortuga adds something special to Taganga, making it more than just a jump off point from which to access Tayrona Park. This is a place where you´ll feel like staying, enjoying and relaxing. Just follow the turtle and welcome home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hostel

Address: Calle 9 # 3 - 116, Taganga 470007, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Price Range: ₹ 1,015 - ₹ 2,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Tortuga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Tortuga Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from La Tortuga Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dormitory bads are dirty”
 of 5 bubbles kanjaje, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the pool are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Ade77, 28 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The private rooms were nice, but the dorm rooms are relaxed and i slept great every night.”
 of 5 bubbles 302seanh, 27 May 2014 | Read review
“Dorms may get dirty quickly because of all the traffic with muddy shoes”
 of 5 bubbles exidez, 27 Dec 2013 | Read review
“you can stay in a dorm or in a private bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles Ankiwoman, 28 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay