We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Satonoyu Waraku

Show Prices
Ryokan 
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Satonoyu Waraku
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 5: English reviews
Start your review of Satonoyu Waraku
 Click to rate
Zurich
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We chose this place to start our new year’s vacation, a choice we do not regret. We barely stopped our car, when multiple staff members were greeting us and handing out umbrellas because of the rain. Our luggage was brought to our room while we completed check-in. We chose a Japanese room with private onsen. The room is spacious, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aferret
endou, マネージャー at Satonoyu Waraku, responded to this review
Google Translation

先日は、新年の御旅行を 里の湯和らくにてお過ごし頂き心より感謝申し上げます。 御食事は、事前に御客様よりメール等にて相...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

All the negative reviews are true. The only reason I booked was the photos of the modernized room and one earlier review saying service standards have improved and apologies from Jack Tang saying staff have been replaced. The latest as I understood is that Jack Tang has resigned in August and it's back to the rigid INFLEXIBLE management with aloof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hotabouthotspring
endou, マネージャー at Satonoyu Waraku, responded to this review
Google Translation

昨年12月 里の湯和らくに御宿泊頂きまして誠に有難うございます。 色々とご不快な思いをさせてしまい心よりお詫び申し上げま...

London
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Clearly the service level has changed since 2012 ! My husband and I together with my brother in-law stayed here for 2 nights. We booked western styled rooms. The rooms were both large and beautiful with lovely exposed ceiling beams. The room had a separate seating area, toilet and private Onsen on the outside terrace. Our room was the last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AP_JLondon
SATONOYU-WARAKU, マネージャー at Satonoyu Waraku, responded to this review
Google Translation

ご返信が遅れ失礼致します。 昨年は、里の湯和らくにご宿泊頂きまして 誠に有難うございます。 お食事の件に関しましても事前...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 18 January 2012

When sinking nearly JPY200,000 into a mere two night stay, you typically would expect the service at this ryokan to be immaculate, as the service at most estalishments in Japan tends to be, regardless of expense. As such, I was shocked to encounter hotel staff that treated my fiancee and me carelessly at best and, at worst, with open and...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Taro_Tomodachi
endou, front desk at Satonoyu Waraku, responded to this review

Dear sir/miss We sincere apology to you for this terrible experience. We heard your voice and feel very sorry about our service. We already up our staffs level and all of our staffs were changed. Please forgive us let you had so bad memory. If you can give us second chance we promise you will have a fantastic trip. The...

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We finally got some time off from work and booked this ryokan. We were very excited for our trip to Kurokawa but unfortunately, the ryokan made a mistake and booked us for only for one night and not two nights as discussed. On our first day there, there was no confirmation as to how long we would be staying. In...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Lauren_Japan
endou, Front desk at Satonoyu Waraku, responded to this review

Dear sir/miss We sincere apology to you for this terrible experience. We heard your voice and feel very sorry about our service. We already up our staffs level and all of our staffs were changed. Please forgive us let you had so bad memory. If you can give us second chance we promise you will have a fantastic trip. The...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minamioguni-machi hotels
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamabiko Ryokan
Yamabiko Ryokan
#13 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
78 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Oyado Noshiyu
Oyado Noshiyu
#5 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
93 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Hozantei
Hozantei
#15 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kurokawa Onsen
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
#12 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
105 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamashinobu
Yamashinobu
#4 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
146 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamamizuki
Yamamizuki
#3 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury hot spring inn 1 room two people capacity Accommodation is more than 13 years of age ... more   less 

Additional Information about Satonoyu Waraku

Address: 6351-1 Manganji | Kurokawa Onsen, Aso-gun, Minamioguni-machi 869-2402, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamioguni-machi > Kurokawa Onsen
Price Range: ₹ 22,120 - ₹ 43,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Satonoyu Waraku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satonoyu Waraku Japan/Minamioguni-Machi, Kumamoto Prefecture
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Minamioguni-machi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Satonoyu Waraku staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both western styled bedroom were great .”
 of 5 bubbles AP_JLondon, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
1 of 1