We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach

Save
Share
24 King Street, Tharangambadi 609313 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Priceline
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (484)
Room & Suite (111)
Pool & Beach (53)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 01/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Updated 01/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Tharangambadi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Facing full east, The Bungalow on the Beach gives you your personal encounter with the sun, sea breeze and spray. Time becomes irrelevant here when you stand facing a glorious sunrise with : a 14th century Pandya temple on your left and a 17th century Danish fort to the right. Come taste ‘eternity’ in a stopover ! The restored Bungalow stands as a reminder of Ove Gjedde, a Danish Admiral sent by the king of Denmark with two ships. They were well received by the Nayak ruler of Tanjore, and given this territory for trading. Then Dansborg, the Fort of Tharangambadi – a solid example of Scandinavian military architecture, was established nearby to store and export pepper to Denmark. The oldest Lutheran church in India was built here in 1706. Today you can drive in through a beautiful gate of the majestic King Street, past Lutheran churches and grand bungalows of the Danish Governors’ and the British Collector’s residence. Re-live marine history; visit the temples of Kumbakonam and Tanjore. The town remains a glorious tribute to architecture from across the world. Tranquebar is reputed to have the thickest ozone layer in India which is ideal for relaxation as it rejuvenates and helps all those who want to prolong their life.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil
331Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 127
  • 140
  • 33
  • 14
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Prasanna Vee wrote a review Apr 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia4036 contributions368 helpful votes
+1
Flanked by a 14th-century Pandya temple on the left and a 17th-century Danish fort on the right, this Bungalow comes with plenty of beach and bliss! There is really nothing much to do in Tranquebar except enjoy the rhythms of the ocean, explore the fort, and walk aimlessly through its quaint streets. But this is exactly what we needed after an overdose of sightseeing and temple-hopping! We needed a place where time could slow down, and this was the perfect property for it. This heritage hotel was supposedly a 17th century Danish colonial house that later became a British Collector’s residence. We spent most of our time lounging on the cane chairs in our huge veranda watching the foaming ocean crash onto the rocks and fishermen arrive onshore with their catch. While the hotel is starting to show its age, that is what adds to its rustic charm. But the Management certainly needs to step up and fix a lot of things in the property. This could have easily been a 5 star property and get consistent 5 star rating if they address the wear and tear the property has gone through during the last few years! But the NEEMRANA Chain (that owns this property) seems to have completely abandoned this property, instead of giving it a much needed facelift! LOCATION: Excellent location right next to the beach, and close to all key points of interest DINE + DRINK: They dont have a bar on site, but the restaurant is quite good as the local chef whips up some wicked local dishes! ROOM: We stayed in PRINCE CHRISTIAN room, so this review is based on that; VIEW: Lovely view from the outdoor seating of our Room ; SIZE: Very spacious room; AIR-CON: Perfectly functioning cooler that helped in setting the perfect room temperature; BED: Comfortable bed that played the expected part to put me to sleep; BATHROOM: Stand in shower; TOILETRIES: Very random cosmetics, bring your own! FACILITIES: No gym on site, and the Pool was Non-functional during our stay SERVICE: Friendly staff that took care of all my needs with a smile and made us feel pampered and well taken care of. Special Shout out to Deepak from Front Office,Arul and Arun in the restaurant, and Chef Bharatiraja HOW WIRED YOU WILL BE: Free high speed Wi-Fi that works well all over the property. A TINY Television screen that was barely the size of my laptop(!) dishing out dozens of channels spanning sports, news, music, movies and a wide variety of entertainment in multiple languages COVID UPDATE: Pandemic? What pandemic?! There were no protocols in place to check the guests who were coming from outside and necessary steps taken to prevent infections from spreading. ONly the staff were wearing masks. Nothing more
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Neemrana Hotels, Owner at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Responded 3 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your heartwarming feedback about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar. It is great to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed discovering the Neemrana’s Bungalow on the Beach located adjacent to the Bay of Bengal and overlooking the Dansborg Fort aims to offer guests a peek into the lifestyle of an era gone by as well as gives a chance to relax and rejuvenate amidst the sounds of the singing waves. We are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the rustic charm of the property. Please note that the operations manager visit the property and take the necessary action to maintain the property and work on enhancing the guest experience. We would like to thank you for appreciating the Location, the restaurant, the views from the outdoor seating of the Prince Christian room and all the amenities offered in the room. Please be assured that your observations have been noted and have shared with the hotel manager who shall look into the same and take the necessary action to enhance the guest experience and the safety measures at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us. We would be really happy to welcome you at our other properties across India ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
K_Rajiv wrote a review Mar 2021
Chennai126 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Four of us in two rooms had a two nights stay at this property. Property, per se, is quite good and the service staff are very good. However, what bothered us in the total indifference to the food part of it!!! We were quite appalled that a simple breakfast dish as Idlis is not served here. Another item totally absent is, pooris with potato (a very typical Tamilian dish). To add insult to injury, readymade rice sticks were served. Generally, the food served is only fit for persons recovering from acute stomach infection as it lacks not only flavour but also salt. Added to it, I was ripped off another Rs.4030 on the room as I had to postpone my stay due to my Mom's sudden demise in January. Over all, an average stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Neemrana Hotels, Owner at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Responded 3 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Thank you for appreciating about the property and the team members. However, we would like to offer our heartfelt apologies for the experience you had at the breakfast. Please be assured that your observation has been shared with the Chef at the property and with the corporate Chef who shall focus on enhancing the dining experience for greater guest delight and ensure that similar feedback does not recur in the future. However, we would like to mention that we serve cyclic menu and the breakfast menu includes a choice of eggs, cereals, fruits, tea/coffee, bread with a choice of butter/jams, curd followed by one South Indian dishes e.g. variety of dosa’s, Pongal/Kichadi/Semiya or Rava Uppma. Please accept our sincere apologies once again for the experience. It is our endeavour to improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us to do so. We are hopeful that you will not hold this against us and will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one. Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
Pranay9518 wrote a review Dec 2020
94 contributions34 helpful votes
Nice place to stay in Tamil nadu full to enjoyment and nice service by hotel and good rooms and good service staff best food go for it nice hotel with the reasonable rate good food and good location also
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Neemrana Hotels , Owner at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your kind feedback about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar. It is great to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the 17th century property. We are glad to receive your kind appreciation about the services, the rooms, the location and the food. It is our constant endeavour to offer an authentic experience of the region and your feedback is heartwarming for the entire Neemrana family that strive hard to make each guest stay memorable. We have shared your courteous words with the team at the hotel. We would like to thank you for your patronage and would be happy to welcome you at our other properties across India ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
Let's Go Sightseeing wrote a review Aug 2020
Noida, India2672 contributions303 helpful votes
Tarangambadi doesn't have many accommodation options but even if it did, Bungalow on the Beach is the no-brainer choice. By the time we'd reached the village, it was night. We couldn't figure out much of the hotel in the dark but seeing a four-poster bed in our room assured us we were at a good place. & an armchair that transported us to our childhood days. Being on the east coast, it was imperative to wake up in time for the sunrise. It was such a delight that the Bungalow faced east & we could view the sunrise from the comfort of our common balcony. & of course, the hotel was a part of the heritage village which meant we could walk to all the nearby sightseeing spots. You can also see the Masilamani Nathar Kovil & the Danish Fort from Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach terrace itself. We admired its architecture a lot too. It's one of those places where time becomes irrelevant. The peacefulness of the hotel swept us off our feet. At night, the Bungalow on the Beach gave off an ethereal glow. It really satiated our love for all things old. We shared our breakfast with squirrels! The different meals we had here - Tarangambadi 🎏 curry, 🍚, continental breakfast (watermelon juice, cut fruits, toast, omelet, fried egg, tea), south Indian breakfast (dosa, idli) - all were appetizing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Prince Christian for the view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Neemrana Hotels , Owner at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your heartwarming feedback about the Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the 17th century property. Neemrana’s Bungalow on the Beach located adjacent to the Bay of Bengal and overlooking the Dansborg Fort aims to offer guests a peek into the lifestyle of an era gone by as well as gives them a chance to relax and rejuvenate amidst the sounds of the singing waves. We are glad that you liked the location of the hotel. It is great to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the Sunrise from the common balcony, the peaceful ambience and were able to explore the nearby vicinity. We have shared your kind words about the architecture with our Chairman Mr. Aman Nath as he heads the restoration work. We are delighted that you were able to relish the cuisine prepared. We have conveyed your kind words to the Chef. As we try and strike a balance between the old world charm and modern hospitality, your kind compliments validate and reinforce the Neemrana philosophy. We thank you for your stay and hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll certainly find more to tell us about ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
gilld001 wrote a review Jun 2020
Dublin, Ireland168 contributions97 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights. Bungalow is beautiful and the grounds are very well kept. There is a lovely pool area. There is nothing to do in this area and nowhere to walk to so keep this in mind when you are booking. If you are staying here, you must be comfortable in complete relaxation and not want to do any exploring by foot. The breakfast is excellent and served on the outdoor terrace downstairs. We stayed one night in an upstairs room opening on to a. Large veranda with sweeping views of the ocean - this was really special. The second night, we were in a downstairs room which was a big disappointment. Dark with noisy AC and an unpleasant smell. I’m very glad we had the first nights experience or this review may have been very different. The staff were helpful. There is no option to eat anywhere else so you have to eat in the bungalow. The food was quite nice so this is not a problem. Nice place for a bit of R & R away from the crowds of India but two nights is ample.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: You have to be in an upstairs room with a sea view.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Responded 23 Jun 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback about The Bungalow on the Beach heritage hotel in Tranquebar. We are delighted to receive your kind appreciation about the grounds and the pool area. It is great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay. Please be assured that your observation has been shared with the hotel manager who shall ensure that similar feedback does not recur in the future. Your kind appreciation has been shared with the Chef. We thank you for your stay and look forward to welcoming you at our other properties across India ! Warm Regards, Team Neemrana feedback@neemranahotels.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bungalow on the beach hotel tharangambadi, hotel on the beach
LOCATION
IndiaTamil NaduNagapattinam DistrictTharangambadi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
Nearby attractions include Danish Fort (0.03 km), Arulmigu Abhirami Udanurai Amirthakadeshwarar Swamy Temple (7.7 km), and Danish Governor Bungalow (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Tharangambadi.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Tamil.
Are there any historical sites close to Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Danish Fort (0.03 km).
Does Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.