We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Beach House Park Lane, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 0PT England
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
FindHotel
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (340)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (41)

About

#2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Milford on Sea? Then look no further than The Beach House, a family-friendly small hotel that brings the best of Milford on Sea to your doorstep.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Beach House offers guests free wifi.

The small hotel features room service and newspaper. Plus, The Beach House offers an on-site restaurant, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While visiting Milford on Sea, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant, The Beach House Restaurant, or La Perle.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular castles such as Hurst Castle.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at The Beach House as you experience everything Milford on Sea has to offer.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Special diet menus
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
939Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 452
  • 257
  • 128
  • 66
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Deborah78 wrote a review Jun 2022
Christchurch, United Kingdom9 contributions
Last time visit 9 of us slow. Service food over cooked had to keep ask for water desserts taskess new staff new manger nit working chef doea know how to cook i use to. Love it i nor be coming back for meal cofeea cake maybe if that rubbish then bye u gonna lose business get it right no excesses
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't go only have drink hotel food rubbish
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pedro Anzules-Martinez, General Manager at The Beach House
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such valuable feedback. Please be assured that we take comments such as these incredibly seriously and will endeavour to continue pouring all of our efforts into the development and training of our team to ensure that these situations are dealt with correctly. Our kitchen teams work tirelessly to produce fresh, tasty food and, unfortunately, at busy times and with larger tables sometimes the wait can feel unjustifiable. It is of course how we deal with these situatuions and how we make our guests feel that counts so, again, thank you for highlighting this issue for us. If you would like to discuss your experience with us further, please do feel free to contact us directly. We look forward to welcoming you for coffee and cake soon! Kindest Regards, The Beach House Team
Read more
Desmond R wrote a review Jun 2022
Noordwijkerhout, The Netherlands7 contributions
We went there for afternoon tea and sat on the patio of this grand building. The weather was just perfect, the service friendly and tea and cake good. We enjoyed our brief stay and the walk in the grounds. Worth going for a cup of tea (and possibly more, but we did not try that).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
evening_lilac wrote a review Jun 2022
uk62 contributions32 helpful votes
We had a pleasant lunch here, it’s a lovely old building with lots of character. The waiter (sorry didn’t get his name but he lives in Boscombe) was very friendly and an asset to you. I’d like to stay here one day.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Hedley Broone wrote a review Jun 2022
9 contributions23 helpful votes
We spent 3 great nights on vacation, we have stayed many times over the years and always experienced a very good level of service and value for money pub style food. The area is outstanding and rooms very comfortable, the fabric of the hotel is looking tired now however the great staff make up for this in particular 'Paul' who is a credit to the Hotel with bags of energy and humour. Thanks to the team at The Beach House.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
bradderSW wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom48 contributions64 helpful votes
We had a very comfortable stay here at the Beach house. Milford on Sea is a nice village and in easy reach of the New Forest and Lymington where there is good access to water sports on the Solent. The hotel rooms were really well supplied with toiletries, tea/coffee, comfy pillows and a pretty comfy bed. The whole place was peaceful and the food was very good. Breakfast could have had a couple more options but I enjoyed what we had. The staff that checked us in and the waiting staff were really friendly & efficient. Check out was a bit chaotic but we got there in the end.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Princess wrote a review May 2022
Lymington, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a lovely meal here last night. Huge portions too. Service was great (thank you Stuart!) and can’t fault that view either! Didn’t feel like we were ripped off price wise so we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Methusulah wrote a review May 2022
Poole, United Kingdom66 contributions65 helpful votes
Where to start with this excellent hotel? I booked 4 double rooms for the Saturday and then a large table for around 20 people for lunch on Sunday. The Saturday afternoon and evening spent with our immediate family of three grown sons and their wives/partners. Two of the rooms, 8 and 10, had an adjoining private balcony which faced the stting sun. So we all sat outside with a couple of bottles for company until evening meal time. Lovely afternoon and early evening there. Evening meal choices varied from steak to fishcake. All of which was perfectly cooked, and I cannot recommend one choice over the others. Apart from I had the smoked haddock and salmon fishcake and can thoroughly recommend this. If you have a slightly smaller appetite, order this with no side orders. Really good meal. Breakfast was basically anything you wanted from egg on toast, cooked how you like, to full English. All of which were excellent. It rained in the night so a walk outside through the grounds and along the seafront, with views framed by the Isle of Wight and the Needles, was a bit damp, but relaxing. The rest of my extended family arrived for Sunday lunch, with dietry requirements from vegan to carnivore. All of which the restaurant kitchen was more than capable to handle. All meals choices were seved within mintues of each other. Excellent waiter service from Stuart. Because of the size of the family, we were given the slightly smaller dining room which was ideal as we could mingle with all our family without disturbing other guests. H&W staff looked after us very well from Saturday afternoon until we left late on Sunday. A quick note on the four bedrooms. Each one is themed in a different decor, and all with a view or partial view of the Solent and of the Isle of Wight. Our room 8 had a large king sized bed, a large bathroom, very nice to be able to move around without banging against a wall, as happens in other hotels with closet sized bathrooms. Room 10 had a huge bathroom, with remote controlled mood lighting. The beds were extremely confortable, with a choice of pillows available. All rooms had tea/coffe facility and digital TV service with free wif throughout the hotel To pick out any one member of staff as going the extra bit to make our stay memorable, is difficult, but the overall winner would be our waiter Stuart. One more thing, as all rooms are on the first or second floor with no lift service, there could be a problem if stairs are difficult . But the staircase is split into four small flights so it is manageable. There is also a small 'snug' halfway up the stairs with room for 8 people to sit and enjoy the day and the views across the Solent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Best rooms with view of the Solent across to the Island are the lower number up to 8. .
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
65HappyCamper wrote a review May 2022
Rugeley, United Kingdom295 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
Great venue, great views, great beer out of stock of Tanglefoot Some great bottled beers on the drinks menu, no ABV, and some were 6.7%, Lunch menu is probably the worst I've seen In 3 yrs, what was the chef thinking..Great if you only want vegetarian what happened to good pub food . I understand this was only changed recently, go back to normal great pub food, and just do it great. come on you can do it..
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Hall Woodhouse, General Manager at The Beach House
Responded 9 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All feedback is appreciated as we are unable to improve without it. I will pass your comments on to our food development team who are always working hard to improve our menu content. Unfortunately we do not run all the real ale product listed on our drinks menu as the range we stock does change throughout the year and we advise you check with the team to see what our current offer is. Once again thank you for sharing your valuable thoughts. Kind regards Samantha Wright
Read more
Ibnseena wrote a review May 2022
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom90 contributions50 helpful votes
We called in here on the off chance of getting a cup of tea after a long wet walk in Milford on Sea. The pub was very busy, but the pleasant waitresss accommodated us and found us a table in the dining room. There were even a few cakes left which were OK though not brilliant. There wasn't one window open in the entire place - Covid numbers in this part of Hampshire are still very high, so this was not good. It is a shame that this pub has had its reception area turned into a bar area and much of the wooden panelling has been painted over or removed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hall Woodhouse, General Manager at The Beach House
Responded 5 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent visit to the Beach House. We appriciate all feedback as we are unable to improve without it. Kind regards Samantha Wright
Read more
Top_Tasters wrote a review Apr 2022
Woodstock, United Kingdom48 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
Room was fabulous, fantastic views and really clean. Sunday roast was average, however non Sunday lunch items and breakfast were great. Staff really friendly and helpful. We would definitely come back and hope to do so soon! Nice walks along the coast and the spit to Hurst Castle.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No electric charger for cars - plan ahead! Make use of the terrace in the garden if sunny and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$188 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Westover Hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireLymingtonMilford on Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Beach House
Which popular attractions are close to The Beach House?
Nearby attractions include The Wash House Bar (0.6 km), Sturt Pond (1.1 km), and Milford On Sea Village Green (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Beach House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Beach House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Beach House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Beach House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant, Saltwater, and The Lighthouse.
Is The Beach House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Milford on Sea.
Are pets allowed at The Beach House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Beach House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Needles Battery (6.9 km), Hurst Castle (3.7 km), and Farringford Estate & Gardens (7.4 km).
Does The Beach House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.