We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Pub

Expedia.comUS$ 88*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 88*
US$ 88*
US$ 88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Red Lion Pub
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Pub
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Before I start this review I have to first thank the manager Aga and the staff at the Red Lion. I feel that the quality of their friendly nature, professionalism and Aga's organisation make the difference between a good rating and an excellent one. Now to the Red Lion itself, we stayed here because we had two events to attend,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Paris, Île-de-France, France
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The Red Lion is a pleasant pub with comfortable rooms for overnight stays. Car park. You need a car to get there. Room was comfortable, although cotton bed sheets would have been better. The breakfast was very simple, cereals and toast with jam, ham and cheese. Tea or coffee and juices. Service was reasonably friendly but not engaged. My impression...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman117
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

I've been staying here on business on and off since January. I moved up the road to Hartsfield Manor when the Red Lion closed for a refurbishment. It now looks really good and has retained its lovely bar staff too as well as a diverse and interesting menu which is always well presented and tasty. However, really disappointed to be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank garthpool_10
Sussex England
Reviewed 27 June 2016

My wife and I met up with two friends at the Red Lion, which is halfway between our homes. Traditional pub with friendly service. Starters were very good, soup, creamy mushrooms & prawn/crayfish cocktail. All had 'Specials', two ordered Chicken Kiev which was well received, two had pork belly which was not crispy and a little disappointing. Two ordered Eton...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We go regularly. The food and service is always excellent. The staff are friendly and the beer well kept. The menu choices are varied and the food always freshly prepared. The garden is a delight to sit in when the weather is fine. Best Sunday lunch around. Will be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alistair T
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and friends stayed here last year on their annual fishing trip. They enjoyed staying here as the accommodation is good and is close to the fishing venue. They all tucked in to the excellent full English breakfast which sustained them for the rest of the day. This year they booked to stay here again but were really disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marilyn d
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We've just had a large family gathering for Christmas at the Red Lion, Betchworth. Everything was really successful. All the adults had great three course Christmas meals and found all the food of a really high standard. The staff did an amazing job of serving all 16 meals efficiently and smoothly. The staff were really welcoming, professional and nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

just would Like to thank the staff for such a lovely stay from arrival we were treated as if we were locals great atmosphere great food room was lovely and fresh all in all a great place would def visit again a Big Thank you. Dave And Paul from Edinburgh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Evening Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Red Lion. I am so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were so happy with our B&B. We are very lucky to be able to offer this to our customers and its not far to walk after enjoying...

uk
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were spending the night at Hartsfield Manor just up the road for our 15th wedding anniversary however we didn't like the look of the menu so the receptionist told us about the red lion, we made a quick call and managed to bag a table. How lucky were we??? The welcoming was fab, the food amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lullybags
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. I am so pleased to hear that you decided to pay us a visit on your wedding anniversary. We do hope that you had a fantastic time and a great stay at The Hartsfield Manor. Thank you for your great comments about your meal, we...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Rooms are in separate block, nice view overlooking the cricket pitch but room was featureless with no character and fixed cheap furniture. Towels and bath mat appalling need to be binned and replaced and toilet took10 minutes to flush. Breakfast not great, only fried option, no cereal or fruit, pub smelt of sewage and toast was 2 slices on a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsG6615
Julia W, Owner at Red Lion Pub, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for your review on your recent visit to The Red Lion. To address point one about the furniture, our rooms are decorated in natural tones as we cater for a great deal of different cliental and we are sorry that it may not have been to your individual taste. Our apologises about the bath mats and...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betchworth
0.6 km away
Hartsfield Manor Betchworth
3.1 km away
The Cranleigh Hotel
The Cranleigh Hotel
#2 of 3 in Reigate
69 reviews
4.0 km away
Best Western Reigate Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Premier Inn Redhill Reigate Hotel
10.2 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
82 reviews
4.7 km away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Lion Pub

Address: Old Road, Betchworth RH3 7DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Betchworth
Price Range: ₹ 5,385 - ₹ 7,404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Pub staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very quiet position with lots of good walks locally.”
petec135, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wheelchair access would be difficult. Narrow path to rooms with turn and steps which would make disabled access difficult.”
Norman117, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We ate only at the pub restaurant and did not stay at the B&B.”
vickyp596, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Let them know if it's slow service”
BilkoUk, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
Jamierocker, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 88* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 88
Hotwire.comUS$ 88
Hotels.comUS$ 88
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates