We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Smithaleigh

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Smithaleigh is located in the picturesque South Hams area of Devon, just a few miles away from Plymouth. Its secluded location is only a few hundred meters from the main Exeter to Plymouth A38, but is just far enough away from the main road to offer a relaxing and peaceful environment.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Public Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Exeter Airport56 km
St Mawgan Airport72 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
219Reviews
63Photos
2Q+A
36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 59
  • 50
  • 21
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
We booked The Smithaleigh via telephone for accommodation while attending a wedding. All seemed fine and friendly while booking and I dutifully received the terms and conditions via email and provided payment details. On receiving the terms I noted they had omitted my baby daught
Read more
Response from Donna A, Manager at The Smithaleigh
Responded 17 Sep 2018
The 'lady' in question attempted to shoehorn a family of 6 into a 2 bed apartment that is designed to sleep a maximum of 4 adults. The exact layout of the apartment was discussed over the phone prior to us sending formal confirmation. The actual reality of the situation is that it was she who was rude and obnoxious - there in lies the problem with unsubstantiated internet reviews.
Read more
Very basic motel style B and B.(Breakfast only dining)Hotel in transition but room dated and noisy.Beds uncomfortable Not good value for money.Room although was clean and staff friendly.Would not revisit.
Read more
Response from Donna A, Manager at The Smithaleigh
Responded 20 Sep 2018
As it took nearly 3 days for housekeeping to remove the malodorous smell left by your dogs, we certainly would not want you to revisit.
Read more
Good location (just off the main road) and a friendly welcome. Also appreciated the book swap shelf! Otherwise nice but not brilliant. However, it was cheaper than other places in the area so we felt that the room was good enough value for money. Unfortunately, we couldn't say th
Read more
Response from Donna A, Manager at The Smithaleigh
Responded 17 Sep 2018
Hi, Thank you for comments which are quite fair on the whole. However, I'd just like to clarify that our £6 continental breakfast consists of: unlimited tea/coffee, toast & preserves, yogurts, cereal and fruit.
Read more
This was the first time I have stayed at The Smithaleigh and it was only for one night on business.

My first impressions were good, an older building that had been modernised with plenty of parking.

I did not get to the premises till about 6.45pm and there was someone waitin
Read more
The out side looks ok. When you go under the entrance it goes down hill building rubble.
I had a downstairs room. Which fit some reason really smelled, not sure if it was damp or just old. The whole feel of the room was tired and in loved.
Sorry I won't be going back
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Smithaleigh
Guest room
Photo provided by managementThe Smithaleigh
Guest room - twin
Photo provided by managementThe Smithaleigh
4 poster bed
Bathroom in Bridal Suit
Bridal Suit
Previous
We stayed in this hotel but unfortunately my wife was taken ill and ended up in hospital. She did vomit onto the bedding and mattress. Because of the we were charged an extra £100 is this the usual policy?
Sorry can not help we would never stay again it was a dump when we stayed it needs a big upgrade Hope your wife is all better now
0 votes
Show all answers
What is your cancellation policy? Why is there never anyone to answer the phone ?
Thank you for your inquiry. Our cancellation policy . Winter season We have a 48 hr policy whereby if you cancel prior to 48 hours before your booking date you will not be charged . However if you cancel within the 48 hours of your arrival date the full amount will be charged. Our reception is manned from 8.30am until 8.30pm Mon- Fri and 9am-12 noon Sat and Sunday. If we miss your call I do apologize but if you leave a massage on our answer phone we will get back to you at the next convenient time.
0 votes
"Ground floor if possible"
"Room 27 perfect for families and quiet."
"Go to a different hotel"
"Find out if there is a function during the evening and where is your room situated."
"Not room 6 damp and noisy"
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$ 73 - US$ 95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
New Country Inn & Smithaleigh Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPlymouthPlympton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing