We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,203: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic location, house and grounds, The staff were brilliant very helpful, polite and hard working. Food was enjoyable, plenty of it.. Our room no 36 was comfortable and spacious. The whole of the 3 night stay was fabulous.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denise P
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for rating your stay at De Vere Tortworth Estate with 5 stars on your recent tripadvisor review. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff to be extremely hard working, helpful and polite and that you also enjoy the food during your stay. We are all very much looking forward to your next visit....

uk
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for my son's wedding on the 14th January, cannot fault the service of all staff and our room was very nice. Danny, the manager who was in charge of the wedding did an excellent job and was always on hand to answer questions, Dave the Toastmaster was brilliant. The Hotel and grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lady12
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your 5 star rating following your recent stay at De Vere Tortworth Estate. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a fantastic "especial day" with us and we hope that you will visit us again for a more quiet visit in the near future. Kind Regards Mark Payne General Manager

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Evening meal to a good standard, service was good if a little slow. Breakfast was mainly good in choice, but the buffet looked very tired when we went down, especially the eggs. The receptionist was brilliant and on hearing this was our first break together in six months gave us a lovely room. The room was spacious and clean, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulieC545
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time reviewing your recent stay at De Vere Tortworth Estate in TripAdvisor. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and I hope that we can continue to provide a service that you are happy with. Kind Regards Mark Payne General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I took my parents for afternoon tea here today. Very very impressed. The building itself is absolutely stunning with grounds and views to match. Well kept, elegant, classy, modern yet still very much keeping within the buildings old style. We arrived too early yet the staff treated us amazingly, letting us be seated before the restaurant had even opened. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna F
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a wonderful review about your afternoon tea here at De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am very pleased to hear that our staff were superb and looked after you and your parents at all times. I will be sure to pass on your comments to both Daniel and Rado. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here which was very relaxing. The rooms were very nice and the grounds lovely to stroll through with all the different varieties of tree. The food was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying here if you get the chance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Madmaidenman
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Mark Payne

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, beautiful building , surroundings and room was good apart from bed which felt like a concrete slab. Upon check in the receptionist asked if we would like to register a card to have any extras, bar bill etc to be charged to, however when we handed over our debit card we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunburnt190783
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are unable to use debit cards for pre authorisation as this is charged at £30 per person per night and is immediatly taken from your bank account and can then take from 3-28 days for that money to then be made available back to the guest. If...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely stay, pool warm and inviting, rooms well equipped and clean and comfortable. Food in Moretons restaurant was ok , nothing special, quite a bland choice. Staff were pleasant but inattentive, our drinks order was taken with the food order, and I no time were we asked if we wanted more drinks, we had to ask for more drinks. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leanne47hardwick
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you enjoyed the pool and that breakfast was excellent. Our staff always try to to be as attentive as possible with all our guests so I am disappointed to hear that you felt this wasn't the case. I do hope that you will return...

Northamptonshire, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at Tortworth Court on many occasions because I am a regular attendee at a conference which is held there annually, so at my suggestion our family party of 5 decided to visit for dinner. Oh dear. Average is the word. On arrival we had a drink in the Atrium bar. I told the bar staff that we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Intrepidity060
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your dinner reservation with us. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager who was working that evening and was also serving your table. He was explaining the menu to your table when you asked for the chair to be removed which he promply did once he had finished. Unfortunatly the salt and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't stay here however we often go to the spa, normally a lovely time with some lovely people to meet! This time was AWFUL! We go to get relaxed and think free! There was a horrible man who swore at me, my mother and my sister! All we were doing was walking into the steam room and we let...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tash C
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of DeVere Tortworth Estate. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with another one of our spa users but really pleased your issues were dealt with so efficiently by one of our staff. We strive to provide a high level of service for all of our guests and I am...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful house. On checking in the room was not ready despite it being after the check in time! Disappointed we weren't in the main house as we were returning with friends who hadn't stayed before! The rooms were way over the other side of the main house (with a connecting walkway which was freezing) and could have been a travel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suz600
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about your stay here with us over the New Year. I am sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready, we moved our check in time to 12pm for our guests on the package but it appears that not all of our rooms were ready and I can only apologise for this. I...

871 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (855)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (317)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Other (333)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
6.2 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
37.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,231 reviews
19.6 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
13.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 4 in Almondsbury
888 reviews
17.9 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: ₹ 5,803 - ₹ 11,129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms no 35/36 face out onto the grounds with beautiful views across to the lake and beyond.”
 of 5 bubbles denisep780, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only saw a few rooms, but where we stayed 57, was really good”
 of 5 bubbles JulieC545, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seemed good”
 of 5 bubbles leanne47hardwick, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles suz600, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the Main House are much closer for the Restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles Brian365, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay