We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,343: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Tortworth Estate
 Click to rate
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Only went for a night away, but would throughly recommend it. Beautiful grounds and the house itself is amazing, with really interesting history. Nicole on reception was very knowledgeable about the place and also gave me a printed history to take away and read. Food was amazing as was the service. The staff were very friendly and approachable. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was in absolute awe when we drove up to this hotel, the grounds are absolutely stunning and it looked amazing. It was a warm sunny day so we were able to sit outside and have a drink. Our room as large and spacious; the bed was a bit hard but I guess that is just down to personal preference....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked our overnight stay through secret escapes and we were not disappointed! The grounds are absolutely stunning, and there is plenty of outdoor seating where you can eat and drink and enjoy the surroundings. The staff were so friendly and professional, couldn't fault anybody! The highlight for us was the atrium bar which was just gorgeous! A really lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mon418
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at DeVere Tortworth Estate. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and all of our facilities and services. I am however sorry that you were disappointed with our spa facilities. We are currently refurbishing our Spa so the decision was taken to use some bedrooms for...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went here for a weekend break, was a lovely hotel,friendly staff and helpful, had afternoon tea on arrival which was very nice, dinner was also very nice well presented and very tasty, had a superior rooms which was lovely, big and very comfortable, the only fault I had with the place was I spend the first twenty minutes in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rory1979
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving a review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you had a lovely stay here with us and were well looked after by the staff. Please accept my apologies regarding the mosquitos. We are out in the country and bugs can be a occupational hazard unfortunately. I am glad this didn't ruin...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff were great,Hotel very clean and welcoming. Restaurant service and food excellent.The gardens and adjoining woodlands were a pleasure to walk in. Booking and checking out really easy. Sauna and steam rooms were empty most of the time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glneale
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. It sounds like you enjoyed every part of your stay here with us which is always a pleasure to hear. We do hope that you will return again soon. Kind regards Mark Payne

Nazeing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is our 5th visit to Tortworth Court and it didn't disappoint, lovely hotel, room (junior suite) was great, grounds are fantastic, food and drink plentiful, nice and relaxing just what we were looking for, no doubt there will be a 6th visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glennbarrett
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving a five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am glad that you had a fantastic stay for your wife's birthday. We very much look forward to your 6th visit! Kind regards Mark Payne

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a find! An absolutely beautiful hotel set in an arboretum. The building is amazing and rooms were really comfortable and very spacious. Fittings and furniture were of a high standard and spotless. The food was of an equally high standard and service was second to none. All staff were friendly, courteous and very professional. The grounds were beautiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and were well looked after by our staff. Our spa is going to be part of our full refurbishment, work will start in there in May. We do hope...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is an incredible old place that has been renovated to an excellent standard. Staff were friendly and professional. A great place for a peaceful break and well situated to explore the Cotswolds. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving a five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am pleased that you had a very enjoyable stay here with us and would recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Kind regards Mark Payne

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really lovely overnight break with my husband and two sons for my husband's 60th birthday. Our rooms were in the main hotel and had only just been refurbished - to a very high standard. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms were quiet, although the hotel was full - I think. Bathrooms were very tastefully (and expensively) furnished - very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your five star review on De Vere Tortworth Estate. I am very pleased that you loved your stay and were able to experience one of our brand new rooms in the main house. We do hope that you will return again soon. Kind regards Mark Payne

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do check on the positioning of your room when checked in - look out for it being near any fire doors... I'll explain :- Booked in for one night whilst husband on business locally, have stayed here before and, have experienced issues with rooms - some are very old which is appreciated due to the building and beautiful Manor House...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LDColdenCommon
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I am unsure of who the Duty Manager was that you had spoken to as we have several who work on a shift basis. However please accept my apologies that you felt your complaint wasn't taken seriously. All complaints received by the Duty Manager should be logged and forwarded to the relevant departments...

968 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (952)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (353)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (371)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
6.2 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
37.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,392 reviews
16.4 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
19.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
13.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: ₹ 5,640 - ₹ 14,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room near the entrance!”
saracQ4139XN, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth Upgrading Room”
Glennbarrett, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the newly refurbished suites are very special. Afternoon tea was gorgeous so if indulging make sure you go for a late dinner!”
lindawM7137XQ, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 107 and 108 are brilliant if you have young kids who want to run around in a private enclosed grass courtyard.”
GauravS360, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying for a suite, it's just a room.”
  • The actual room they charge for as a suite
  • The actual room the describe as a suite
  • Their photo of what a suite looks like
Mikesalter, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5