We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We booked the stay due to the "rural location in a Village and the views over the River Severn". Our experience was of a pub on a busy road. Our room was situated on the ground floor with the window open directly into the car park/beer garden. The pillows were abysmal and the bathroom ceiling was badly stained with damp....

2Thank rees555
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I'm genuinely sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Obviously we have communicated directly but as a response to some of your review points: All of our bedding is Duck & Goose down and all new. We are aware that some guests don't like the softness of these pillow types, so also provide man made fibre pillows in the...

Fair Oak
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Booked two rooms (1 and 6) for overnight stay. Arrived early to have lunch and staff immediately checked to see if either were ready for us. Excellent lunch with enormous hand cut chips with fish, bbq chicken and tuna steak said. A little on the dear side but worth every penny. Good range range of real ales. Staff even asked...

1Thank Beerlady1
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review.

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We frequent the Swan on a regular basis especially for the Sunday roasts but today was an absolute let down. We had been over in Melksham but thought we would stop in at the Swan on our way home to eat as the food is normally really good. My partner ordered the large beef and i had the regular beef....

Thank Lorna C
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I hope that your recent visit on a Sunday was just a blip. All our food is cooked fresh to order so obviously something has gone wrong somewhere. Please, if you're ever less than ecstatic about every aspect of your experience with us then just let one of our team know and we'll do our best...

Willenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed in Room seven which is the building closest to the main road, there are 4 steps down to the building. The room is on the ground floor, it's a little dark from the main light and you do need the bedside lamps to brighten the room. The room was clean and well decorated, toiletries and towels are good...

Thank The_Haddons
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the nice review! We're trying to come up with a solution for improved soundproofing in that building. We really hope to see you again. Thanks.

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in June! Would of rather stayed in my car. Absolute overpriced with damp smelling rooms and the photos really not the same as the rooms look like. Only saving grace was the breakfast which was above average. I'd avoid this place if I ever had to go back to Bristol!

2Thank aman159
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review and I'm sorry you were obviously so unhappy with your stay. I'd be grateful if you could email us more details about your stay to bookings@swanhotelbristol.com. All our rooms look exactly as they do on the photos as they are photos of the rooms!

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one week while on a business trip. The pub itself is really nice, good food/ales and friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and served by an especially efficient and friendly lady. But, the separate building housing the 12 bedrooms is terrible. The thickness and soundproofing of the internal walls and floor is practically non-existent. You hear every footstep,...

2Thank James R
Garth J, Owner at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry you weren't happy with your stay. We are working hard to try and find a solution to the soundproofing between the rooms in that block.

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

On breaking our trip to Cornwall we stayed in a well known national budget hotel near Bristol. On coming down to breakfast we were told they only served until 9am. We therefore made our way back to the M5 and passed The Swan and decided to call in. They could have not been more helpful even though they had just...

Thank Ian111England
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

the staff were very friendly and everyone was very helpful. the pub is lovely and family friendly with things like books and coloring things for the children. the pub food was very good too. the hotel room was good for the price and included a full breakfast.

Thank Christina J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Cornwall due to its location. The beds were very comfy and room was spotlessly clean. The room was perhaps a little tired and our windows looked out on to the main road which was noisy but as we always take earplugs we slept very well. The staff were all...

Thank sj213
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

This is a lovely Pub/Restaurant, the food is good and the staff were very helpful. The location is great - just off the M5/M4, which was ideal for visiting Chepstow Racecourse (which was our reason for staying here). The room was in an annex next to the pub and the room was very clean and spacious and the beds comfortable...

Thank Peter R

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (31)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (3)
Room/Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (7)
Bathroom (4)
Dining (8)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With views across to the River Severn, this hotel is located in the village of Almondsbury and is within 2 minutes’ drive of the M4 and M5 motorways. Locally sourced, fresh produce is served on the daily changing menu in The Swan Hotel’s restaurant. Free private parking is available and Bristol city centre is just a 10-minute drive away. Bristol Airport can be reached after a 30-minute drive and Bath’s historic city centre is 35 minutes’ drive from The Swan. A flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities are included in each room, which also has a private bathroom with luxury toiletries. Food is served throughout the day in the restaurant, and guests can relax with a drink in the bar area. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 14 Gloucester Road, Almondsbury BS32 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Almondsbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,393 - ₹ 7,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in Rooms 8 or 9”
12SUZIE12, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I wouldn't go!”
rees555, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother!”
kitty7802010, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Best room to sleep in is on the ground floor.”
210152vrb, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make your request when booking and the staff/owners will try to fit in with it.”
alex53_2013, 29 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5