We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matfen Hall

Hotels.comUS$ 264*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Matfen Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Matfen Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,480: English reviews
Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff struck us as soon as we walked through the door ansd from then on it just got better. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the view from ours at the front of the old part of the house was stunning. Our meal on the first evening was in the Keeper's Lodge....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin G
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff, I love to hear that guests have received excellent service and have enjoyed their time with us. I am delighted you felt there were enough activities for your Grandchildren to enjoy on site here, guests often have the perception there is not much to do here so...

Reviewed 3 April 2015

Arrived here very impressed by the amazing surroundings. We were booked in for a spa treatment, dinner bed and breakfast, we were a little late but they were very accommodating. The massage was lovely as were all of the staff in the entire hotel. Our dinner and breakfast were nice but I wouldn't say amazing and the cost of drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amyk1985
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We celebrated my parents 60th wedding anniversary at Matfen Hall last Sunday and once again it was an excellent day! The venue is stunning with superb views across the golf course, especially on a sunny day! We took drinks in the bar and then had our own private room for our family meal. The table setting was amazing with three...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BarryD974
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please pass my congratulations on to your parents on the celebration of their 60th wedding anniversary. I am so pleased you chose Matfen Hall for this special occasion and am delighted to hear you had a good time with us. I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to my kitchen team about the food you...

Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a Sunday wedding - what a beautiful Hotel, in a stunning location - we will definitely be back! The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious, clean and inviting. Breakfast was fab. Gorgeous setting overlooking the golf course (not a golfer but it was beautiful)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KarenLynn36
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Have just had an overnight stay as part of a wedding reception. What a little gem of a place.Stately but small enough to be cosy with lovely views.Our room was spacious and well decorated with a very comfortable bed. Staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient.Food was excellent.Only criticism was the cost of drinks. £11.50 for a glass of red...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen186394
Earlston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We stayed at Matfen Hall 21st/22nd March together with many friends and family to celebrate our Daughter's marriage. The weekend was just perfect in every way, the Great Hall being magnificent for the Wedding Ceremony and the superb building and grounds provided an extra special magical atmosphere. The food and accommodation were excellent and we could not fault the fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank janeS4GG
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a wedding review for us, we love to hear about how we are doing as we always aim to provide an extra special day. I am delighted that you felt the day went without a hitch and that our staff were helpful and kind. It was our pleasure to make Kate and Nick’s day...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

my wife and I attended a wedding here last Saturday, I dont normally write reviews about hotels we have visited but I felt the need to comment on the brilliant service we recieved at our friend's wedding. From beginning to end the day ran very smoothly thanks to the help of the lovely lady in charge. The staff couldn't do...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank nick p
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a spectacular review especially if you aren’t normally one to leave reviews. I am pleased to hear you and your wife had a lovely time and felt that the food and service were fantastic. I will be sure to let our Wedding Manager Victoria know you had a...

england
Reviewed 27 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here in march 2015 through a deal on secret escapes, as part of the deal we also got a three course meal in the library restaurant and a full English breakfast the next morning. I feel the information provided in regards to dress code and procedures was lacking which is why I am writing this review. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nichola W
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I’m sorry you felt dress code procedures were not clear, we are updating our bedroom information within the next month I will suggest this matter is added to the list of items to go in there. I am disappointed to hear you thought the Library...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We arrived early, as had treatments booked in the Spa , room was not available no problem for us .If you want to eat early afternoon book a table , as we were unable to eat in the main rooms (Conservatory ), staff were good suggested " The Drawing Room" , nice views but we were not allowed to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

We visited this glorious old hotel as part of the wedding of Mr & Mrs Thorne. What a cracking day the venue is breathtaking and impeccably clean and well appointed the staff were attentive and polite. The food for the wedding breakfast was excellent in quality, presentation and serving all the guest with hot food quickly. The buffet was also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jimmy1206
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted this morning to read your feedback from Mr and Mrs Thorne’s wedding day. I’m so pleased to hear all guests were satisfied with the food and that you felt our staff were passionate about serving. I will pass your lovely words onto our wedding team at which I am sure they will be thrilled. Kind...

592 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (338)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (175)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
21.7 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,080 reviews
31.2 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
349 reviews
17.9 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.3 km away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
11.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Price Range: ₹ 7,886 - ₹ 20,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matfen Hall staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Matfen Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure to get a room with your own veranda”
Mister_Blue_RL, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Probably the older part of the building”
Andres1, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for view of golf course”
stanley104, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms in the old part of the hotel are huge.”
78jackieh, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with good ventilation.”
northerngolfers, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 264* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 272
Expedia.comUS$ 263
TripAdvisorUS$ 272
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates