We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matfen Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matfen Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,454: English reviews
Start your review of Matfen Hall
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is not the type of hotel I would normally use during a work trip. However, as it was recommended by my customer, and it was local to the area I was visiting I paid that little bit more. The hotel is situated about 25-30 minutes from the heart of Newcastle in a beautiful part of the countryside. an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R9usl
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

attended my sons wedding venue first class, wonderfull old hall and grounds, food excellent, bar prices are what you would expect but not too expensive. standard room was excellent and spacious. free wi fi, breakfast was prepared individually and adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian S
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

3 nights stay at Maften hall brilliant in every way. Food/service in the library restaurant brilliant. Breakfast very enjoyable every morning. Egg florentine fantastic. Spa treatments very good . Can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donnysteve
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here a few times over the years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are lovely, facilities great and food is amazing! We actually got engaged here and will always look to come back for a luxury stay. Staff are all wonderful. Would highly recommend a stay

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lizcW4559YE
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent staff, beautifully hotel and grounds and top class food. Made our daughters wedding an experience to remember. This four star hotel is not pretentious, the staff are very friendly and no request is too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable with all the amenities we could want, full sized ironing board and a decent hair dryer make a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jackie h
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just got back from having a hot stone massage which was really good. However, I did nearly walk out. I found the person on the reception desk, uninterested, lazy and unfriendly. I walked in and she said "How can I help you" I told her my name and she said " go into the waiting at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thebarrs
PeterJDawson, Operations Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Thebarrs, Thank you for sharing your feedback following from your recent visit. I’m really saddened and surprised to read your comments, our team are regularly praised for their high level of customer service. I’d be keen to learn more about your experience and would ask you to contact me in person. Kind Regards, Peter Dawson Operations Manager Matfen Hall...

Wishaw, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading all the excellent reviews of Matfen Hall, I was looking forward to my stay but in the end was somewhat disappointed. I was checked in by a very friendly and helpful receptionist and although my room was not quite ready as I had arrived early I was made most welcome. My room was available within a few minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank imminent
PeterJDawson, Operations Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Imminent, Thank you for sharing your experience following from your recent visit to Matfen Hall Hotel. Feedback is used to continually monitor and review the hotel operations and hence extremely valuable to us, especially where it highlights opportunities for us to improve our service to guests. I’m disappointed that our accessible rooms were not tailored to the specific requirements...

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 days for a wedding,everything and I mean EVERTYHING about this place was just so good. we opted for breakfast in our room on both mornings as we wanted to make our stay as leisurely as possible.Others in our wedding party stated that the dining room was superb as was our breakfast. Our room as well appointed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pfc302
PeterJDawson, Operations Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear pfc302, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It’s really motivating for the whole team to read your kind comments. We pride ourselves in being a great venue for weddings and family events and I’m really pleased that you were able to enjoy all of our facilities whilst visiting for your short break. I hope that you’ll choose...

carlisle
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I booked the treat of a night away for our anniversary and really enjoy ourselves. On arriving we were pleased to see a large car park with no issues getting a spot. On entering the hotel we decided to leave our things in the car and have lunch in the conservatory. The food we ordered (fish and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JoMcN84
PeterJDawson, Operations Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear JoMcN84, Thank you for sharing your experience following from your recent stay at Matfen Hall. It’s disappointing that a couple of aspects of your visit were not quite as good as you had hoped. I’ll take your comments constructively and pass them on to the relevant departments so that we may learn from your feedback with the aim of...

E.lothian
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic. Our party had 3 rooms all of the same standard, the only criticism was the lack of ventilation in 2 of our 3 rooms TOO warm, but they had every thing else , fridge, safe, trouser press , iron, ironing board, free water, nice robes, good toiletries. The bed & bedding was excellent the best nights sleep in a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank northerngolfers

583 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (76)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
21.7 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,066 reviews
31.2 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
343 reviews
17.9 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
11.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Price Range: ₹ 8,751 - ₹ 19,772 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matfen Hall staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Matfen Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe rooms in the old part of the hotel are huge.”
78jackieh, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with good ventilation.”
northerngolfers, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 34 - very noisy/squeaky floorboards in roon above!”
Button5691, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“South side rooms are good, but all rooms are really excellent.”
fraserl601, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't waste your money on the Principle Rooms, save your money and have a nice meal.”
213anitad, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5