We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fairway, Barnsley

Expedia.comUS$ 45*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fairway, Barnsley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 349: English reviews
Start your review of The Fairway, Barnsley
 Click to rate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Myself and my friends have visited the fairways for 4 consecutive weeks now for dinner - one parent has a young child so the soft play area is an attraction. We have are there on each occasion and in my opinion the food has got progressively worse on each visit. The first time I visited it was lovely and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlbates
Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the fairway for 4 midweek nights in may,as I work away from home I constantly stay in travelodge type accommodation but I very much recommend to anyone try the fairway hotel out. OK it's not the hilton but you get what you pay for and there is also free WiFi alongside a very reasonable priced menu,ideal for contractors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed there with my husband and 2 daughters. Luckily we only slept 1 night as it is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. No cheap at £85 when you could be in a clean Travelodge. The Fairway is old, dusty, creaky (yes creaky floor throughout) and with poor service. The English breakfast was oily, could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christelle H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Home made carvery. Real Yorkshire puddings, lovely roasts of meat and unlimited seasonal vegetables cooked perfectly. Home made mash potatoes and roasties too. Staff efficent and friendly. Clean surroundings. Great prices. Always a favourite of mine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian R
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous food clean and tidy most of the time proper chips not frozen ones offers in all the time also have tribute nights with added bonus of booking a room out of the main area but we'll worth the extra travel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very poor customer service before we have even stayed there! Booked the wrong date in error through a booking site. Immediately realised and informed the booking site and hotel, the hotel would not change the date or refund the cost. The booking site were happy to change the dates. We have stayed here previously but not again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan I
Fairway D, General Manager at The Fairway, Barnsley, responded to this review

Unfortunately your review is not correct and factual. You booked the cheaper "Advanced Purchase" rate which quite clearly states on the site that you booked through that the rate is non changeable or refundable and that the payment for the room(s) will be taken at the time of booking. You did have the option to book our slightly more expensive...

co durham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

rooms r ok shower was poor room was noisy but the food was very very good i have stop there before and i did have a better room the last time staff were ok i was there 6 nights and i got clean sheets once not good and the tv did not work till i sort it out

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 47bigtom
Fairway D, Manager at The Fairway, Barnsley, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you had issues with your shower, could you please tell us if you informed anyone of this issue during your stay ? Can we ask what room you stayed in please ?

rotherham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked table for Sunday lunch , food was very good place was clean but it lacked a warm atmosphere there was no one to tell us were to go I had to find a member of staff and the other I personally find irritating was the presentation of our table but we will go again as the food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rotherhamronnie
Aylesbury
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I needed a bed for the night and The Fairway came up at a very good price at around £40 for B&B. It is handily placed very close to the M1, although the location is on a roundabout in a trading estate. Reception is pretty basic and on the way in was unoccupied, so I had to wait a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug-Kennedy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the size of the room , great bathroom , soft bed (too soft for me but partner loved it) , no noise from public house underneath , brilliant reception staff , night porter has old style manners , only negative was breakfast , over cooked uneatable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel W

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (33)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
1.2 km away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
519 reviews
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
7.1 km away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.2 km away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern friendly 39 bedroomed hotel, located within 1 mile of Junction 37 of the M1. Our friendly hotel also has a bar and restaurant and meeting/banqueting facilities. At The Fairway, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. We have meeting & banqueting facilities and can cater for up to 250 delegates or wedding guests all in 1 room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fairway, Barnsley

Address: Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Price Range: ₹ 2,947 - ₹ 4,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway, Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Fairway, Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Hotel Barnsley
New Country Inns - Barnsley And The Bluebell Inn
Barnsley Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fairway, Barnsley staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Derby, United Kingdom
14 days ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Wakefield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dodworth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Fairway, Barnsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room at the back of the hotel”
47bigtom, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Do NOT have a breakfast !”
235angelw, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“do not, hotel from hell,where is Basil??”
949salliew, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor”
billcoxon2016, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the restaurant -decor fair - food awful -service terrible”
vinchy, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 45* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 46
TravelocityUS$ 45
Hotwire.comUS$ 45
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates