We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
400 mtrs Este de playa carrillo, Playa Carrillo 474-3100 Costa Rica
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Carrillo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
hacienda del mar is a family owned and operated hotel located just 400m from the most beautiful beach in Guanacaste. playa carrillo is one of a handful of beaches worldwide that has earned the blue flag award (water quality and clean beach shore). Our Hotel is based on the old architecture of large hacienda homes from the rural past of Costa Rica. Come experience some of our local flora, fauna, monkeys, and colorful birds surrounding our facility. in addition to the extra large pool, the entire hotel and two of our rooms are wheelchair friendly. 11 rooms with 2 double beds. 1 room with 2 doubles and a single. one room with 3 doubles and three singles.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Billiards
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Open-air bath
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
50Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 5
  • 9
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
specialKris wrote a review Nov 2019
Canmore, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
Amazing property with a huge pool surrounded by about a dozen rooms. Every room has a pool view. Pool table and a bar for cocktails at the pool. Lots of places to relax. They organize tours for you that pick you up at the hotel. The nicest beach in Costa Rica is about a 5 min walk. Rooms are very clean and spacious. 2 queen beds per room. Great value for the price. Wish I could stay longer
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicky D, Owner at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 25 Nov 2019
We are please you had a great stay. Thanks Nick
Read more
scott d wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions
This place is great. Clean, quiet, relaxing and great staff. We had 12 days at the Hacienda Del Mar, but I wish it was more. The hotel is clean and well designed. All rooms face the HUGE pool and the bar and restaurant are central located to every room as well. The staff is attentive and the grounds well kept. Rooms have A/C, WiFi, cable T.V. And hot water. short walk to an amazing beach, and breakfast is included. Great restaurant near by (Colibrí) has fresh tuna steaks on thursdays. Ask for Nick at the hotel, he can tell where to for all the best local activities like surfing, kayaking, snorkel, etc. We will be coming back 100%
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicky D, Owner at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 25 Nov 2019
It was a pleasure having you here, come back again Pura vida
Read more
HeikoSchmitz wrote a review Nov 2019
Berlin, Germany157 contributions96 helpful votes
The rating of 3 is the average of a 4 for the place and a 1 for service and hospitality. The hotel is nice, all rooms are arranged around a large pool, anf we could even see howler monkeys from the veranda. What really spoilt our stay was the lack of any hospitality. When we arrived on a Sunday, the women at the reception barely said a word when showing us our room. OK, we thought, she was the temp for the weekend. However, it turned out that no one was interested in the guests. On the opposite, we had to ask for (poor) room service or find someone to serve us breakfast. And this was low season, the hotel was almost empty. And why do they play bad music loud, even when nobody is in the "restaurant", which was apparently closed anyway. If they don't like guests, they shouldn't run a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicky D, Owner at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 21 Nov 2019
We are sorry you were not 100% satisfied with our hotel. Your desired amount of privacy is very important to us. we go to great lengths to ensure the amount of contact you have with us meets YOUR needs, not ours Check in is at 2pm so your arrival at 8am was not expected. The girl who was working In the morning does not speak English. Another person, who also does not speak English, wrote our breakfast hours on a piece of paper for you. You arrived for breakfast 1/2 hour early so the hotel owner prepared a free fresh fruit platter for you while you waited. We will bring meals or drinks to your room if requested but nominally we do not offer room service. Again , we are sorry you were less that fully satisfied with our hotel. We wish you good travels Nick dailey
Read more
Tinamsmith96 wrote a review Mar 2019
11 contributions1 helpful vote
The beds are like most in Costa Rica, terrible, but clean. The pool is beautiful with a nice view of the pasture. It's near a wildlife reserve and you can see fun native animals. They have a bar and a very nice staff. This is where my husband and I take our family on every Costa Rica trip we go on.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicky D, Owner at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 5 Aug 2019
thanks for your kind review. see ya next time.
Read more
Robin H wrote a review Nov 2018
Playa Carrillo, Costa Rica22 contributions1 helpful vote
A new owner, from America who is all about customer service. I wrote a horrible review about this place not so long ago. Amazing what a hands on owner can do. A short walk to the beach, however, the beach store is closed where you get your beer is closed. Go in and ask for the owner Nick and I am sure he will take you to the store in Carrillo to load up your cooler and a ride to the beach. To me the restaurant needs a little more work, food not very sexy but good. For as bad as I blasted this place, now it is my go to...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Better call ahead they are now booked.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicky D, Owner at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 28 Feb 2019
gracias for the kind words. come back and visit again.
Read more
scoots76 wrote a review Nov 2018
Playa Samara, Costa Rica1 contribution
this hotel got what it needed... new management and new owner! the service is better, the rooms cleaner, the food is tastier, even the beer is colder! what a great turn around. if you are looking for a calm relaxing place to spend your time in costa rica, look no further. everything you need is right here. you can eat, drink, play and stay right at Carrrillo beach. amazing pool with a big common area for large groups. ill be back... thank you Hacienda Del Mar scotty
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: further from the pool the more quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicky D, Owner at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 28 Feb 2019
you sir, are a true gentelmen. see you again scotty.
Read more
The_Hills87 wrote a review Dec 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands51 contributions9 helpful votes
Went here for a quick dinner. The entourage of the restaurant feels like a club cantine. Staff isn't very welcoming and had the feeling they rather see you go. Food was ok. But not very special. The menu said we would get extra's like rice and salads but you could only pick one. Would not recommend to go there for dinner. Maybe the hotelrooms are better, I don' t know because we didn't stay there. They have a big swimming pool that is a plus
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicky D, Owner at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 25 Nov 2019
Hello. We are new owners as of October 2018. Now family owned and operated and with a goal of your next stay to be 5 stars Thanks
Read more
Steven K wrote a review Feb 2016
Ille-et-Vilaine, France175 contributions78 helpful votes
This hotel is at the end of an unlit dirt track. If the rating was just based on the breakfast it would be zero. Rooms and bathrooms are of a reasonable size and cleanish....I do not think it was good value for money. I would not stay here again..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Hacienda ... d, Director de Recepción at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 27 May 2017
sorry for the inconvenience. I take this opportunity to say thank you for being here and, I am pleased to tell you that we are a new team work, the hotel has better prices and services, I hope you can visit us and check the changes for yourself, it will be a pleasure to welcome you and give you this time a good experience
Read more
Rod D wrote a review Feb 2016
Lot-et-Garonne, France79 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights. It is well layed out with the rooms arranged in a L-shaped pattern with a good sized terrace. The rooms were adequate and clean with 2 double beds. There was a sheet and thin blanket which was fine. Just keep the air conditioning at a suitable temperature. There is a safe in the room but no fridge. The bathroom had a good supply of hot water which suffered when other guests used their shower. We had to ask for shampoo when we ran out rather than them being replenished daily. The swimming pool needed cleaning as the bottom was slimey and there were leaves in the water. The breakfast in the restaurant was traditional with fruit, juice, and eggs/toast/beans and rice. It was difficult to get the eggs cooked as we liked. There was no variation! We felt that, even for Costa Rica, the Hacienda was overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Hacienda ... d, Director de Recepción at Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Responded 27 May 2017
I take the opportunity to say thank you for your stay in the hotel. It is also a pleasure to inform you that we are a new working group, we have better prices and variety of services, I thank you for your comment since they are a very efficient means to improve me, I hope you can visit us and check the changes for yourself, for us it will be a Pleasure to receive and give you a better experience
Read more
Lucia_Savard wrote a review Feb 2016
Rimouski, Canada3 contributions
We went to Hacienda del Mar for dinner. We liked it so much that we returned and returned again ! There is not a huge menu, but every thing is fresh. The hole fish was delicious ! My favorite was carabbean chiken ! What makes this place so charming is definitely Maria, Klauss and all the staff that are really welcoming, friendly and attentive. The restaurant is a large open space overlooking the pool. So nice ! Thank you again and we will be back for sure !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Carrillo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hacienda del Mar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hacienda del Mar?
Nearby attractions include Playa Carrillo (1.5 km), Samara Beach (5.1 km), and dondeJavitours (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hacienda del Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hacienda del Mar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hacienda del Mar?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hacienda del Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweeties By Celia, Samara Pacific Lodge Restaurant, and Bohemia Café.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Hacienda del Mar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Hacienda del Mar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Hacienda del Mar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Hacienda del Mar have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Hacienda del Mar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Hacienda del Mar located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Playa Carrillo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hacienda del Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.