We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 388: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I Stayed here a few times for work. A warm welcome, very clean, modern rooms. Food is exceptional. Its worth us driving a little further to stay here when in the area. They are more than happy to accommodate us with a 7am breakfast which is nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaknasty
Petrockstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited on re-opening after the renovations in 2010, The food was absolutely awful. I t has taken 7 years for us to risk it again, and, finding it under new management, we were welcomed and invited to view the menu. We enjoyed our starter, and although the choice was limited, our main course proved to be well cooked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandadstan
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you gave The George another chance, and so pleased you weren't disappointed. As you said when you were here, we are pleased we can provide you with somewhere to eat locally. I really hope to see you again soon. Christian & Diane

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last week in the premier room and what a lovely find this place was. Such a warm welcome from all of the staff, we had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was the best meal I have ever had (highly recommend the Venison). The roll top bath was sheer bliss (almost got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scenery00000
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed your meal. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope you will be back to see us soon! Christian & Di

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All very clean and comfortable as somewhere to stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Food was good enough - wouldn't call it special but it was certainly edible and good value. This hotel had to be re-built following a devastating fire so it is 'new' and has all modern conveniences. The re-fit has been done sympathetically and so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The George. We are pleased you liked the place and that the staff met your expectations. As you know we are in the middle of redecoration and are trying very hard to make The George as good as it possibly can be. We are working on the menu too and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Stayed at The George for 2 nights over the new year. Had a most fun and delightful time. Diane and Christian are superb hosts and are enhanced by all the staff ..behind the bar ..in the restaurant and everywhere within the hotel. The room was just perfect and spotless. We loved it. Freestanding bath took seconds to fill..dont leave unattended!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendylewis21
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are really delighted to hear you had a good weekend! I am glad you recovered from your walk across Dartmoor, I am sure our big bath aided your recovery! It was a busy New Years eve, and we had a lot of guests who made it an unforgettable...

South Molton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

My husband and I had dinner here one weekend and I was disappointed with the small choice on the menu. All the food was quite fancy so I eventually chose from the bar menu and just had a steak and chips. The food was nice and the service was excellent but just feel the menu was limited. We also felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Telsy57
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so sorry that you werent completely happy with the menu, but are pleased that you liked the food and the service. We do try to have something on there for everyone, from burgers and fish and chips right through to roast partridge and beetroot cured salmon. I am sorry you thought it was...

London
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We used The George in Hatherleigh for our wedding party accommodation over the bank holiday weekend in August. We took all 14 rooms in the hotel from Friday to Sunday and the owners were incredibly welcoming and helpful. They provided a big BBQ on the Friday where we had outside space enough for 30 and a big inside area. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LEB88
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! It was a pleasure hosting such a charming group of people, we all had a great weekend too! We do our best to make it an experience to remember, and you were really helpful in being so specific about what you and your guests would like for the weekend, I think...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We keep returning to try and show local support but this place just lacks love and good service. The food was okay. Some of the meats weren't cooked as ordered but overall the food was okay. The service was really lacking on a Sunday. We had to keep chasing to get our orders taken/drinks/bill etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frida B
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we are getting things wrong. I am really sorry you had a bad experience and we will address the issues you have brought up, looking at the staff to customer ratio and the attention of the staff. We have already addressed the staff numbers and had you come last Sunday...

Oakham UK
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The George is obviously very old and very historic but more than that it is welcoming friendly and very comfortable. After a ghastly 5 hour journey, punishing rainy weather it was a delight to land up in this wonderful atmosphere. Excellent breakfast cheerfully served by the Manager who is a real hands-on person and deserves the success that this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review! It would be fantastic to see you again - and rest assured we will address the chair issue! Christian & Di.

Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We went here for a birthday meal on Friday - our 1st visit. The food was excellent - the best steak we'd had in a very long time. The service was good and the restaurant nicely done out. We will definitely go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will H
The_George_Hath, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you had a good time and enjoyed the visit, and thank you so much for taking the time to review us and share your experience. We would be delighted to see you again - come back soon! Christian & Di

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
10.4 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
118 reviews
20.2 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
363 reviews
15.6 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
456 reviews
15.7 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
31.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The George Restaurant
The George Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Price Range: ₹ 8,610 - ₹ 9,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and HostelWorld so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Petrockstowe, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Petrockstowe, United Kingdom
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed room 1”
 of 5 bubbles wendylewis21, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 was a quiet and overlooking the back of the Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 877BarbaraK, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Disabled adapted is room 14”
 of 5 bubbles Bedelet, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Hatherleigh is a very interesting place to visit but not to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 37Lynne, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try to get the room with the large bath in the room and the four poster bed !”
 of 5 bubbles GeraldineC864, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5