The Posh hotel

Jogiwara Road Opposite Tibetan Monastery, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219 India
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (104)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
₹5,502
₹5,441
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 52 hotels in McLeod Ganj
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mcleodganj has a new Landmark THE POSH HOTEL,Located in the heart of Mcleodganj town, "The Posh Hotel" has been seamlessly providing services to our customers from all across the World. We take pride in ensuring complete customer satisfaction for each and every guest we serve. This hotel is run by a simple family, who have dedicated themselves in serving the tourists coming from across the world to experience the beauty of this place and make their stay a fulfilling one. We have a wonderfully trained team, who will give you a homely and warm environment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
159Reviews0Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 27
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LIFELIKEPARASISE wrote a review Jul 2021
Ghaziabad, India43 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently visited this place and it was so good and beautiful

The owner MR JAVED is so classy , polite, friendly, helpful supportive and cooperative.

Talking about the staffs
They are so good ,friendly and cooperative and they are so perfect in their fields. Especially,
Mr Asgar Hamid is so friendly and cooperative
He was our helping hand there
Whenever we required him he was there with us .
Now talking about the food :
They make very delicious foods and you can also demand for your favourite and they will make delicious one
Must try
Mutter paneer
Veg Cutlet
Paneer pakora
Cold coffee
Kashmiri khwaah
Veg Sandwich

Talking about the rooms
It was well maintained and spacious
Rooms were cleaned and sanitised
Rooms have balcony which has a beautiful view .

Talking about the prices it was totally worth living there
And there is a tag line “it feels like home” and yes it feels like home
I highly recommend this place
Must visit
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They have free parking. And first contact MR JAVED
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javid Bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Hi Ritvik, Thank you for your praise and appreciation and it was a real joy hosting you and you being an amazing person showing great humility during your stay and happy to know that we were able to provide you an amazing stay as well.Wish you well and hope to host you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nakul Dogra wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel resides in the Heart of Mcleodganj neither away from market nor too much close to market just at perfect location. Obviously parking is bit issue but this hotel has their own which was great relief. Every thing is available in 200 meters radius. The staff is very friendly and cooperative. The hotel is neat and clean and offers Kashmiri Kewa on arrival which tastes very good. The best thing about this hotel is once you have parked your car there you can get anything you want from market. Evening walk to market is much preferred. Rooms are super clean and good. They offer heated blankets. Do ask for balcony rooms if you are fan of sunrise. It was my 6th stay in this hotel since 2019.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Please ask for premium room with balcony for superb view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from javid bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 4 Jun 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Posh Hotel for your stay and taking out time to write us feedback. We appreciate your words for our location, parking facility, clean rooms, staff, services, and lovely view. Choosing us for the 6th time is the biggest compliment one could ever give us. Since you repose such trust in us we do that extra bit to win your loyalty. We aspire to keep living up to your expectations always. We are now looking forward to your 7th visit and many more after that too. Regards Customer Relationship Team | The Posh Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrs Wang wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we had a pleasant stay.
staffs were very cooperative and with a great service
In cleanliness its excellent esp the service food is good esp for Indian cuisine.....
Manager,
Great hospitality thank you for making us feel home and comfortable esp my son( thank you for understand ing his naughty ness after all busy schedule )
Mr&Mrs wangdan
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from javid bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about the place, staff, rooms and services. We would love to welcome you back. Regards Customer Relationship Team | The Posh Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shrinivas B wrote a review Feb 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates16 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Ended up booking this hotel at the last moment. WhatsApp support post booking was fast.

Issues started once I reached the hotel.
1. Asked for a higher floor room and was told all were booked. This lie was uncovered in 30 mins time when they changed my room post complaining to their HO.
2. Basic amenities lacking - water geyser is not instant one which means wait of 40 mins for a bucket of hot water! If you are travelling with family (like me) be ready to waste 2 hours of precious holiday time.
3. Room heater provided at extra cost even though the booking is in their top room. For Rs300/night you get a tiny heater that's not even effective for a part of the room. Had expected heater to be available for this cool/chilly place but was surprised.
4. Towels provided were outright dirty and had stains. When complained they bought another pair of towels and were showing it off...only to see more stains! Finally managed to bring another set (looked new).
5. Attitude of most of the staff is rude and the look is of despair even on basic requests.

Mr. Salman managed to salvage the situation to some extent by moving room, providing hot water buckets, offering complimentary heater and water bottles. He was very professional and helpful. He guided us on the attraction points and took care of us (post the escalation of the issue to Ahemedabad HO).

Overall room condition was old and outdated with wooden floor squeaking in few places.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from javid bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Mr.Shrinivasan, It was a privilege to host you at The Posh Hotel. We are thankful for appreciating Mr.Salman and we express gratitude on behalf of him. However, we are extremely sorry to hear of your bitter experience, we will surely take care of this and assure you that it will not be repeated in future. Further, we look forward to having you with us again soon. Regards Customer Relationship Team I The Posh Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anupriya belel wrote a review Jul 2021
India77 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked our stay with the posh hotel in Mcleodganj. The room was worth the price and very reasonable, the room had all the amenities in it . The room had a private balcony with a blissful view , one can sit long on the chairs in the balcony . Also a very important point was that they have their own parking and the car can be parked very safe . They also have a cafe where we had our buffet breakfast, items were pretty good . The staff was courteous and friendly there . Food quality was good and served hot and on time always . Special thanks to Mr Javed and Asgar Hamid for the best hospitality one can have .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javid Bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Hi Anupriya , Thank you for your amazing words and we would like to tell you that we had a great experience hosting such an amazing couple. And happy to hear we were able to match your expectations. We welcome you anytime and would love to host you again and try and provide another great experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura D wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Posh Hotel had been for me an experience of a family. A team of workers that make you feel at home. I had travel for many years in the Starwood Hotels like St Regis, W, Sheraton and so on. The Posh has given me the same quality treatment as VIP guest that is my pleasure to recommend them with the confidence that you will feel relaxed, calm and full of enjoyment.
Salman Siddiqui, the General Manager goes beyond his duties to be sure that everything is in place and neat always sharing an smile. I can say with confidence that he walks the extra mile for his clients.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from javid bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The Posh Hotel for your stay and taking out time to write us wonderful feedback. It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest stay is made a memorable one and provide them with a homely atmosphere. Your compliments for our hospitality, staff, and facilities have been accepted with genuine delight and gratitude by The team at The Hotel. We have conveyed your regards to Mr. Salman and we express gratitude on behalf of him. We are delighted to learn that you left with a positive impression of The Hotel and its services. We would love to welcome you again. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arpitmcs wrote a review Feb 2023
New Delhi, India34 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked The Posh hotel through MakeMyTrip and the experience was very seamless. Booking at rs 1 and paying later is a great process with MMT. The Posh hotel is located bang at the mall road and you can easily walk to visit the local shops, mall road and the dalai lama temple...it also very near to Bhagsunag shivji temple and bhasunag waterfalls which makes the location of the hotel very convenient. The hotel has an excellent cook and serves the best food in mcleodganj.. we had tried a couple of restaurants in Mcleodganj but found the hotel food to be the best both in terms of taste, service and pricing. The hotel offered us an upgrade at a very reasonable price to move to a better room as well. Overall a good stay and would recommend The Posh hotel if you are visiting Mcleodganj.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the rooms on 1st or 2nd floor.. there are couple of standard rooms on -2, -3 and -4 which...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Customer Relationship , Guest Services / Front Office at The Posh hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Thank you for choosing The Posh Hotel for your stay and for taking out your time to share your experience with us. We would love to host you again in near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Siva wrote a review Apr 2022
Bengaluru, India18 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a night and right from the beginning the experience was bad. The room provided was very bad and hence requested for a room change and there was a lot of argument by the staff and finally they decided to give when we were super frustrated. Once we moved to different room, following issues were noticed:
1. Room was not clean - bathroom has soap spilt all over the place
2. Water stagnates in the bathroom
3. None of the doors including bathroom door closes properly
4. You can touch the chairs and feel the heavy dust settled on them
5. Shower knob just comes off in the bathroom
6. Towels kept were dirty
7. Power boards just comes away when trying to connect
8. Front office staff were very rude

Overall for the kind of exorbitant rates that this hotel charges, this hotel is terrible and we had a very bad experience. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Please avoid this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javid Bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 3 May 2022
Hi Sir, Firstly sorry to hear about your experience but wanted to clarify few things. 1.First your booking was for 2 deluxe rooms and we upgraded your rooms to one super deluxe and one superior and we provided it without additional cost. 2.Regarding doors not closing and bathrooms water stagnation issues just want to inform that you were not our first guests int that room we had many guests and not a single complaint has been made or any such issue occurred. 3.Regarding the issue that towels are dirty i can assure that this doesn't happen at our hotel as it is checked 3 times before any booking guest arrives . I can understand your frustration of travel and not getting room on top floor so still we tried providing the best options available at that time. Once again we would like to apologize for any misunderstandings caused from our end and any inconvenience caused. We hope you would provide us another opportunity to host you again in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharukh Shah wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful property. The hotel management and staff put in a lot of hard work to meet customer expectations. Food was great. Mind blowing views from the balcony! Had a lovely experience overall. Definitely worth it, would love to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javid Bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Hi Sharukh, Thank you for your kind words and appreciating our management and staff and food and it feels good to hear we were able to match your expectation and give you a good experience and that is what we focus on. We look forward to hosting you again in near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sourav123_11 wrote a review Dec 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India57 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros :

1. Excellent view from room overlooking the valley and mountain around Mcleodgunj .
2. Staff are very much customer friendly, always serving guests with smile .
3. They make excellent Kahwah ( Kashmiri tea) , we used to have it everyday at evening after returning back from sightseeing tour.
4. Location is close to Dalai Lama Monastery and market areas of Mcleodgunj.

Cons :

1. Food is very mediocre , they even did not have some of the items mentioned in their own menu, not much variation, neither so tasty . I would suggest to try cafés and restaurants in market areas .

2. To reach the hotel you have to pass through quite a steep uphill and narrow road from downhill Dharamsala . So make sure your cab driver is quite acquainted to drive through those road’s otherwise better to book local driver .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javid Bhat, Owner at The Posh hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2023
Hi Saurav, Thank you for your appreciation and kind feedback and we are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and we were a small part in your joyous vacation.We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
yvonne s wrote a tip Mar 2024
Chesterfield, United Kingdom24 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book room only basis. "
Read full review
BluePG wrote a tip Mar 2024
Manningtree, United Kingdom107 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take warm pyjamas. If getting a taxi to the hotel, ask the taxi driver to take ‘the long way’, as it is a lot less fretful an experience!!!!"
Read full review
AdventureEmma wrote a tip Mar 2024
Germany1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Advance booking required for busy months"
Read full review
Naushirwan C wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates55 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's a nice place to stay when you visit Mcleodganj. Almost all the tourist places are walkable distance."
Read full review
Saurav Ganguli wrote a tip Dec 2023
Mumbai, India85 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose Premium Room with a Balcony and on the top floor. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the McLeod Ganj area.
PRICE RANGE
₹2,419 - ₹3,420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshKangra DistrictDharamsalaMcLeod Ganj
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE POSH HOTEL (McLeod Ganj, India - Himachal Pradesh) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Posh hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Posh hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tibetan Museum (0.4 km), Dalai Lama Temple Complex (0.2 km), and Kalachakra Temple (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Posh hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Posh hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at The Posh hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Posh hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Posh hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crepe Pancake Hut, Woeser Bakery, and Moonpeak Espresso.
Does The Posh hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Posh hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Posh hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of McLeod Ganj.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Posh hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Posh hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Posh hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
All McLeod Ganj HotelsMcLeod Ganj Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in McLeod GanjHotels near The Posh hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire