We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kaiteri Lodge

Hotels.comUS$ 48*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 55*
US$ 48*
US$ 55*
US$ 48*
US$ 53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kaiteri Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kaiteri Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The hostel is located perfectly - right next to the beach! We booked a double room and were pleasantly surprised when we found out we had a large spacious room, with a TV and ensuite bathroom. It was good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23J23
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora 23J23, Thank you for the great review of Kaiteri Lodge and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Kaiteriteri Beach is a beautiful gem that we are lucky enough to have in our doorstep as well as being just a stones throw from the Abel Tasman National Park. we wish you all the best for you NZ...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

I went as part of a group to stay here and the staff were pretty unfriendly and a bit rude. The rooms were ok but nothing special for $30 plus a $20 deposit on the room key, which they refused to give back to one of my friends as even though he had already moved all his stuff out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jago0297
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Jago0297, Thank you for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Firstly, let me apologise if you felt that our staff were unfriendly or rude. We feel it is very important to have professional, welcoming staff and our team work very hard to assist with all of our guests needs. It can be an exceptionally busy time when...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Clean rooms and comfy beds. Good laundry facilities. Kitchen is large but you have to pay a $5 deposit for cutlery which is annoying. No free WiFi and the computers are $1 for 15mins. Lovely beach location and staff are great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fenton2016
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora fenton2016, Thanks for the great review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Its understandable that you found having to pay a deposit for the cutlery annoying however, due to the high amount of theft, we have had to put this policy into place to ensure that these items are returned. Kaiteriteri Beach...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed here with Kiwi Experience recently as there are not many other places to stay nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to phone ahead of our stay to reserve a double occupancy room for a good price and this was a very straightforward process thanks to the efficiency of staff. Our room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeahWhaiHills
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora LeahWhaiHills, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your private room. We have since upgraded our kitchen dishware as well as restocking pots and pans etc. Unfortunately, due to the large number of thefts of our cutlery, we have had to implement...

Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location and the front desk lady was very nice but it's one of the less cosy hostels. Pillows are paper thin and the music from the pub next door is loud and vibrates through the room so don't expect to get to sleep early. Definitely feels like it's run in a similar vein as a school camp- perhaps because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella K
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Bella K, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. During our summer months we have a large amount of in-house guests as well as locals that like to come down and enjoy the atmosphere of our restaurant bar, The Beached Whale. As such there are some nights that the live music can run a bit later...

Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on kiwi experience. The reception staff were so helpful and made checking in / booking easy. The bar staff were lovely and fun, especially AJ the boss. He was sweet as!!! Prime ay! Rooms were very clean and kitchen has good facilities. Great location, wish we had the time to stay longer :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charliegughes899
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora charliegughes899, Thanks for the great review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the lodge as well as in our restaurant The Beached Whale. Our team works hard to make sure our guests have a great time from start to finish and we wish you well for the rest of your journey. Kind regards Adi...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

As soon as I hopped off the Kiwi Experience bus, I was about to walk through the outside dining area, when I was suddenly stopped by a very rude, blonde, North American lady, who exclaimed it was 'very rude to walk past people who are eating,' she then gave me an unfriendly glare. The check-in process was OK, however when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M6638ZGandrewr
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora M6638ZGandrewr and thank you for taking the time to review Kaiteri lodge. During the peak summer season our outside dining area is extremely busy with guests and locals making the most of our beautiful summer days, whilst enjoying their dining at our beachside restaurant. As such we put a partition across the driveway, where the Kiwi Bus arrives,...

Tralee, Ireland
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a Friday night and had an amazing experience! 10 dollars for a huge portion of fish and chips with a drink is the best value in NZ I have had so far. Stayed in the premium room for 35 dollars and could have been staying in a hotel the quality was so good. Really comfy bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccannrachel
Melbourne
Reviewed 12 February 2016

$35 for a four bed dorm with tv, fridge and large ensuite? bargain! Excellent location right on the beach, very helpful staff, light and airy, great lounge room... perfect. Loved it. Great food and services right at the doorstep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melbourneasha
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. Happy travels.

Reviewed 12 February 2016

Arrived as part of the Kiwi Experience trip and had booked in for two nights. Before arrival we had got some alcohol as we had not been told in advance this was a dry hostel. Upon arrival we found this out and decided we'd keep our alcohol in the room and respect that we couldn't drink it. The staff somehow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Sam for taking the time to review our hostel. Most of the hostels that Kiwi Experience stay at are dry hostels i.e. Base and Nomads. There are numerous notices around the hostels you stay in that state no alcohol is permitted. Our staff check the rooms once passengers have checked to see if anyone has brought alcohol into...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
19.5 km away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
348 reviews
1.0 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
370 reviews
0.1 km away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
164 reviews
1.7 km away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
184 reviews
4.0 km away
Fraser Highlands Retreat
Fraser Highlands Retreat
#1 of 9 in Abel Tasman National Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Price Range: ₹ 2,565 - ₹ 6,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask what services you are going to get for the cost and what your view will be of. Request a quiet room. Ensuites large.”
, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for an ensuite room - bathrooms are a decent size.”
VillaInTheVines, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“private room with ensuite”
c0mmuter, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a family room”
, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“20m to the beach”
Mic_Born, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 48* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 48
PricelineUS$ 53
Booking.comUS$ 55
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates