We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kaiteri Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kaiteri Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kaiteri Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We checked in for a night. Greeted by a fab member of staff who was really cheery and very helpful. Lovely sized room with tea and coffee, and a large fridge so had we stayed longer we may have got some stuff in as there is a communal kitchen for people to use. Kaiteri Lodge had a nice vibe, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Laura B,, Thank you for your great review of Kaiteri Lodge. I am glad that you found our staff cheery and helpful as we do work hard to make sure our guests have the best experience whilst they are here. I am sorry to hear that you found your room a little chilly this will be remedied very...

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped in Kaiteriteri for a night with Kiwi Experience. The Kaiteri Lodge was a great little hostel. We booked a double room and were surprised to find how spacious it was. The restaurant next door was also great and has a good deal on for Kiwi Ex backpackers. Overall we'd definitely stay again if we were passing through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Jack L, Thank you for your great review of Kaiteri Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and that you were happy with your accommodation and also our restaurant. At Kaiteri Lodge we work hard as a team from admin to house-keeping to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We would love to have...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Three friends and I stayed here but as part of the Kiwi Experience bus tour. We only stayed for one night so didn't experience a lot of the lodge. The four of us got a room for just us so didn't have to share and it was really spacious. The kitchen was very very busy, we got there a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katieclaireb
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora katieclaireb, Thanks for reviewing Kaiteri Lodge and glad you enjoyed it here. The lodge has taken on board comments regarding the size of the kitchen and are doing a full upgrade in the next few weeks so that everyone is able to comfortably make their meals. We do offer the Kiwi Experience passengers a special meal deal for...

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I've been there for one night a room for 8 bed. The room wasn't enough space, the toilet is separated of the shower, into the shower you will not find something for to put your thinks the room is big. If you want to use the wifi you must pay, you can find laundry and small kitchen but enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casyomosa C
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Casyomosa C, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. The dorm room your were staying in has four showers and two toilets located in the hallway directly opposite your door. We find that these being separate is normally not an issue but apologise if you felt that it didn't meet your expectations. We are unable to...

Reviewed 18 May 2016

We got a double room for two nights as part of the kiwi experience. The room was spacious enough and had an en-suite which worked well. Our room backed onto the outside garden so people were out there until 10pm, but after that I think it got locked up so had no noise at night. Kitchen was shocking, imagine 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTeacher22
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora TravellingTeacher22, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Unfortunately, we do have issues with over crowding in the kitchen when both tour buses arrive at the same time. Kaiteri Lodge staff and the tour bus drivers try to co-ordinate times adequately so as to allow a break between their arrivals however, this is not always possible,...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The hostel is located perfectly - right next to the beach! We booked a double room and were pleasantly surprised when we found out we had a large spacious room, with a TV and ensuite bathroom. It was good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23J23
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora 23J23, Thank you for the great review of Kaiteri Lodge and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Kaiteriteri Beach is a beautiful gem that we are lucky enough to have in our doorstep as well as being just a stones throw from the Abel Tasman National Park. we wish you all the best for you NZ...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

I went as part of a group to stay here and the staff were pretty unfriendly and a bit rude. The rooms were ok but nothing special for $30 plus a $20 deposit on the room key, which they refused to give back to one of my friends as even though he had already moved all his stuff out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jago0297
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Jago0297, Thank you for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Firstly, let me apologise if you felt that our staff were unfriendly or rude. We feel it is very important to have professional, welcoming staff and our team work very hard to assist with all of our guests needs. It can be an exceptionally busy time when...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Clean rooms and comfy beds. Good laundry facilities. Kitchen is large but you have to pay a $5 deposit for cutlery which is annoying. No free WiFi and the computers are $1 for 15mins. Lovely beach location and staff are great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fenton2016
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora fenton2016, Thanks for the great review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Its understandable that you found having to pay a deposit for the cutlery annoying however, due to the high amount of theft, we have had to put this policy into place to ensure that these items are returned. Kaiteriteri Beach...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed here with Kiwi Experience recently as there are not many other places to stay nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to phone ahead of our stay to reserve a double occupancy room for a good price and this was a very straightforward process thanks to the efficiency of staff. Our room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeahWhaiHills
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora LeahWhaiHills, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. We are pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your private room. We have since upgraded our kitchen dishware as well as restocking pots and pans etc. Unfortunately, due to the large number of thefts of our cutlery, we have had to implement...

Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location and the front desk lady was very nice but it's one of the less cosy hostels. Pillows are paper thin and the music from the pub next door is loud and vibrates through the room so don't expect to get to sleep early. Definitely feels like it's run in a similar vein as a school camp- perhaps because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella K
Kaiteri_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Bella K, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. During our summer months we have a large amount of in-house guests as well as locals that like to come down and enjoy the atmosphere of our restaurant bar, The Beached Whale. As such there are some nights that the live music can run a bit later...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
2.3 km away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
118 reviews
19.5 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
313 reviews
0.1 km away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 4 in Kaiteriteri
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
150 reviews
1.0 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
343 reviews
1.7 km away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Price Range: ₹ 3,084 - ₹ 7,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask what services you are going to get for the cost and what your view will be of. Request a quiet room. Ensuites large.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for an ensuite room - bathrooms are a decent size.”
 of 5 bubbles VillaInTheVines, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“private room with ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles c0mmuter, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a family room”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“20m to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Mic_Born, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5