We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula, Panjim 403004 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Hotels.com
$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Agoda.com
$56
View deal
Booking.com$76
Priceline$87
Travelocity$72
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (463)
Room & Suite (349)
Pool & Beach (96)

About

#5 of 16 hotels in Dona Paula
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sandalwood Hotel & Suites is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Dona Paula, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel. Sandalwood Hotel & Suites features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and free breakfast. If you are driving to Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, free parking is available. Travelers looking for Italian restaurants can head to Cafe Azul or Pomodoro Italian Bistro by Vanna & Marco. If you are looking for something to do in the area, Dona Paula Beach and Viewpoint (0.9 mi) is a popular attraction that is within walking distance of Sandalwood Hotel & Suites. Enjoy your stay in Dona Paula!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Currency exchange
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

63Somewhat walkable
Grade: 63 out of 100
18Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
730Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 300
  • 270
  • 106
  • 29
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Manish Desai wrote a review Nov 2022
Mumbai, India11 contributions10 helpful votes
I stayed for 2D/3N at Sandalwood Hotel located in the Vainguinim Valley near Panaji in November during IFFI Goa 2022. It was my fourth repeat visit to Sandalwood, but the Hotel is not the same, particularly after the property got split during Covid crisis. I was first allotted a room, where neither the AC nor the TV was functional. In the next room, the Tata Sky connection had been deactivated. Though the rooms are spacious and fine, the furniture and fixtures have become dated. No toiletries were placed, there was a tea kit, but no stirrer. The shock came when a dental kit was supplied on demand, and I found that the toothpaste was already half used. Breakfast options were terribly limited. The list can go on. But I am done with this Hotel forever now.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ruchir wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We have stayed this property after our 3 days stay at south goa. Earlier day, it may be a good hotel, but now divided in to two properties, Sandalwood and Green Valley. No direct access to beach. Unmaintained Swimming pool. Restaurant is open only for breakfast. Bar is also closed. Not even provided soap, shampoo etc. Big room with mosquitoes.It's located in downside area, so walking from hotel to market is difficult and will.not get any conveyance. There is no staff, who are available are untrained people. In short non hygienic hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Asif N wrote a review Dec 2020
Bengaluru, India13 contributions4 helpful votes
It was one of my favourite hotel once upon a time and I have stayed here almost every time as the same was very close to vaningum beach And chances casino. But now... I guess half of the hotel is taken back by the land owner and now they are operating in half of the space. Rooms are still good and bigger than any other no nearby hotel. But with half of the hotel is taken back by land owner the way to beach which used to be from their garden is also gone so u have to go by road. Breakfast which was like 5 star have become 1 star . Only saving grace is their staff who still trying to give their 100% . Team sandalwood you have to buck up and buck up fast. First impression is last impression. Really this time I was disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JAIDIP SIMARIA, Owner at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are a transparent company so have declared on our website, Our Price, services and operating procedures have changed. We are reorganizing ourselves after the Covid 19 setback. We assure you to that we will be back soon with the similar standard of Breakfast. Thank you for being loyal to Sandalwood.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hisunjeev wrote a review Nov 2020
New Delhi, India43 contributions46 helpful votes
The most ever pathetic and terrible hotel in my life ..very unprofessional service and management ...no trains staff and service . Must not be stayed as not recommended for stay at this property ever . Very unfortunate sms terrible stay for 3 nights at a property which is not worth of calling itself a hotel it is rather a railway platform of far off area without any service and professionalism. Not recommended for any sort of stay ...short or long
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JAIDIP SIMARIA, Owner at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We had restarted operations on 15th Nov and our trained staff could not reach back as promised by them due to Covid 19. We had to manage with other department staff and trainees. We are back on track as some of our staff have reached back. Apologies for not meeting your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darshan D wrote a review May 2020
Mumbai, India2 contributions
Awesome food Great customer service. They even gave their own 4 wheeler to take my daughter to hospital, when she was feverish at night and a taxi wasn't available. Nice, clean rooms. Overall - a really good value for money accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
claroquesi wrote a review Mar 2020
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom40 contributions170 helpful votes
The photo's of this hotel very much over inflate the reality- thank goodness we only spent one night here. The room was tiny- you could barely move around the bed and the air conditioning did not work. The pool is also tiny and breakfast just felt "unclean". The nearby beach is not too bad, but we did get chased off the promenade by a guard, as these apparently belong to other hotels on the beach. There is nothing else to see or visit in the local area in walking distance. The only redeeming feature about this place is the low price of alcohol- a large Kingfisher at 125 rupees is good deal hotel wise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamran-Siddiqui, Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings From Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa ! We regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectation, however among your group we have all positive feedback. Still we would like to provide information on certain subject that you highlighted. we have various category of rooms available of different size. The guest book the room accordingly as per their requirements. The beach is small quiet and a clean beach which can be approach through a designated pathway which run through the other hotels property. Guest venturing outside the designated pathway, venture some times into other property and they have the right to restrict that moment. Its our endeavour always to provide guest with a best of the services and we appreciate that you taking the valuable time to write us. We hope that on your next visit we will find your holiday have more inline your requirements. Warm Regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vinod V wrote a review Feb 2020
New Delhi, Delhi, India63 contributions28 helpful votes
It is a place with great location and beach. Nice restaurant and food. Breakfast buffet was well spread and great taste. Rooms was spacious, clean and ventilated. It is value for money. We would love to visit this place once again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pjrachh wrote a review Feb 2020
Vadodara, India16 contributions3 helpful votes
Very good facilities, large rooms and excellent service. Very helpful and always smiling staff. Rooms are very comfortable and good for even long term stay. The restaurant and room service will even customize your order to your taste.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Reji V wrote a review Jan 2020
Cooch Behar, India17 contributions
Stayed for 6 days in the property. The deluxe compact rooms are really compact. But all required amenities were available except slippers. Very close to vainguinim beach at 2 minutes walk. Close to Dona Paula and Panjim still away from the noises of town. Ideal for families and couples. Have a safe small swimming pool, gym, spa etc
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Traveler_around_the_world wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
This hotel is very great. We stayed there for 4 days. The rooms are clean, the employees are very friendly and the breakfast buffet is more than enough. In the evening we ate at the restaurant for 3x as the food was very delicious! Next to the hotel is a small beach,around 200 m away. Perfect for sunbathing as there are no people. All other famous beaches in Goa are full and crowded so that we as Europeans did not feel comfortable in our swimming clothes at all. Unfortunaly the location is down a hill and far away from taxis which are not overpriced. We were lucky and found one taxi driver who did not charge us tourist prices and drove us around. To panjiim it is about 20 min drive and to Miranmar beach 10 min drive. All in all definately worth staying at the hotel if you do not mind living further away from the city. You will definately get a good rest here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$45 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandalwood hotel and retreat
LOCATION
IndiaGoaNorth Goa DistrictPanjimDona Paula
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDALWOOD HOTEL & SUITES (Goa/Dona Paula) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandalwood Hotel & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Chances Casino and Club (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Azul, Laranja, and Bay 15.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sandalwood Hotel & Suites have airport transportation?
Yes, Sandalwood Hotel & Suites offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sandalwood Hotel & Suites located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Dona Paula.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandalwood Hotel & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Reis Magos Fort (5.2 km), Fort Aguada (6.0 km), and Mahalaxmi Temple (4.6 km).