We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 591: English reviews
Start your review of Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited to the hotel this week and I found the hotel excellent in all respect whether it is reception, F & B housekeeping etc staff is courteous and ready to help. Swimming pool is clean ambience is good. Very close to the beach they have their own beach segment. Loved the stay and would definitely visit again. Thanks for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zahinadhabai
Jaipur, India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed with family for 2 nights 19th to 21st April . Friendly staff and services. Rooms are equipped with tea coffee maker and Air-conditioning . Indoor games will keep your kids busy when in Hotel. Beach is just a stone throw away from the resort. They even provide beach longer at the beach for there hotel guests. It's almost like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonu1974
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Poor handling at the reception greeted us here , finally getting compensated by a complimentary upgrade to a suite . Property is very close to the beach that's is the advantage of stay in this property which is close to ci da de Goa

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & retreat, Goa! As per your booking voucher you had requested for a higher floor room but on arrival you asked for a lower floor room. We apologise that we had to take some time to accommodate the last minute request. The complementary upgrade is just a gesture of goodwill and I hope you...

Mumbai
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have booked my two rooms at this Resort for 5 Nights from 16th April To 21st April 2017 via Booking .com ( 1859346222 ). I wanted to call the resort and double check the arrangement's . . On 7th April i tried calling the Hotel Landlines which were not working then i called a Mobile number which was mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhabai
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Goa for honeymoon. Pros :: Good hotel Good food, specially breakfast Decently priced Cons:: Far away from everything but then i knew it beforehand. No view from most of the room Reception staff gives you cold stare Thanks to Phillipe for arranging the candlelight dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amit_sen
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & retreat, Goa! Thanks for the wonderful review. Yes we are in a quite location and that's why we are visited by a lot of families and honeymooners. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to your future visits. Warm Regards, Kamran Siddiqui

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Choose this place if you want to stay away from crowded places of goa and want to spend quiet time on the private beach. They have a nice pool, private beach access which is very clean.indoor games, nice rooms with balconies and good food in the restaurant. have a spa too though i didn't try that. Have a bar too,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelvinator66
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! It's great to get such lovely ratings, me and my team are really grateful and thank you for the same. You have mentioned a concern for the cost of reaching the city for which I would like to appraise that there is a complimentary shuttle available to the city which also...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am now in sandalwood hotel and it is the most terrible 4 star in the world hotel . So sorry to Indian inspector who get 4 star to this hotel. I just want to see who one get the star to this hotel. The room size is so small . There is no standard in india.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank s k
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood hotel & retreat, Goa! We Apologise that the room which had work to be done was allotted to you by mistake. Though it was soon changed but we regret it happened this way. I am although pleased that you liked your new room as we spoke the other day. Warm Regards, Kamran Siddiqui

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We been in sandalwood hotel for a week and we were 13. Here is my comments: 1- Hotel facilities are very good 2- Rooms are very clean with 3 fan and 1 air conditioner 3- Resturant were very clean with lovely food 4- you can pick grilles food in resturant 5- this resturant is vegetarians friendly 6- hotel manager name...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoomaan K
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & retreat, Goa! It was nice meeting you and we thank you for the great review and wonderful ratings. Guest reviews are a great way of knowing your product and motivating the team. In this case Anandraj is thrilled to see his name appear. We are glad that you liked it here. We look...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and beautiful clean private beach with security and free sunbeds. Nice rooms with refrigerators, Air conditioning, fan, tv and balcony. Delicious breakfast with choice of south Indian cuisine - idlis, dhosa & also English breakfast - eggs, cereal toast etc. Nice setting and only 6km from Panjim. Option to rent scooters from hotel for only 300 rupees per...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kush s
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & retreat, Goa! Wow excellent ratings and kind words, we thank you for that. It's lovely to know that you liked it here. The choice of breakfast is something that we believe should be great to start a wonderful day and we are glad that you liked it. We look forward to your future...

Vidisha, India
Reviewed 16 March 2017

It was a nice stay with this hotel. Rooms are well maintained and equipped with all the basic amenities. Fridge also is their in room We had two rooms with us. Both have balcony with a good view. Hotel also has the swimming pool and great food. Our Breakfast and dinner were complimentary from their side. Near to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AakashKatare
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & retreat, Goa! Thank you for the great review here. You have described the hotel very well. We are glad to know you have appreciated the hotel, it's staff and thier services and we thank you for the same. We look forward to your future visits Warm Regards, Kamran Siddiqui

710 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (338)
Viewed
Adult Pool (15)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Deluxe Compact Room (37)
Viewed
Deluxe Premier Room (52)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (58)
Viewed
Penthouse (101)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dona Paula
0.3 km away
Cidade de Goa
Cidade de Goa
#1 of 10 in Dona Paula
1,366 reviews
3.5 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.5 km away
Prainha Resort
Prainha Resort
#3 of 10 in Dona Paula
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
768 reviews
4.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
10.6 km away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#9 of 110 in Calangute
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Address: Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Region: India > Goa > Dona Paula
Price Range: ₹ 2,461 - ₹ 4,729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Hotel And Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat Goa/Dona Paula
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dona Paula
#2 Spa Hotel in Dona Paula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room where there is a lift if you have walking issues”
pritigirl1, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a premier room overlooking the pool.”
KT236, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check out the bath showers”
Vis1701, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with bigger size are airy and nice.”
VickyS535, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet and lonely resort”
rexsonjjoy, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5