We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 20: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights on holiday and can't really fault the place much. Nice pool, beautiful grounds. Restaurant is great. Staff were nice and breakfast good. Drinks at the bar were ridiculously priced but no other complaints. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Setti21
GouverneurReception, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Setti, thank you very much for your positive comments on our Best Western Hotel****"Le Domaine du Gouverneur". We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciate the exceptionnal location of our hotel on a beautiful golf course. We hope to see you again soon, best regards, Valérie

New York City, New York
Reviewed 16 July 2016

There's nothing too spectacular about this golf hotel but it did the job and it was clean. The food was just okay but one can assume that at such a place that caters mainly to the daytime golfing crowd. Overall, very acceptable but not a destination stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lamont S
GouverneurReception, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for your positive comment on our Best Western Hotel****"Le Domaine du Gouverneur". Just a clarification about our Restaurant : you were part of a group that had a special meal offer as you've arrived very late in the evening. It was a buffet and this was not representative of what we normally propose to our...

Parijs (St-Cloud), France
Reviewed 20 June 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wieland K
GouverneurReception, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 20 October 2015

The Hotel is actually a golf resort - a little off the road from Germany to Spain, but the detour was worth it. Very friendly staff, great breakfast, original restaurant with very good kitchen at moderat prices. The golf courses are well maintained (one with lots of water and one easier) - with the driving range into a lake. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
CAgrain, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear customers Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your opinion is very important for us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We are pleased...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We got some good reviews on trip advisor so we booked two nights. The hotel is good but limited wifi as you move away from reception. The food is good the salads are excellent for lunch. The evening menu is a bit limited if you stayed for longer than two nights. They do provide good allergy advice and 'gluten free'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
CAgrain, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear customers, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologise for the disagreement you met with the wifi connection. In fact we have some problems with our network since few days and we'll fix it as soon as possible. Thank...

Geneva
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We had a good dinner and the breakfast was good, staff in restaurant are nice and helpful. It was the second time we stayed in this hotel.First time we had a room in the main building,the second time we got room no 309 which was a long 2 floors building,builded on to the main.The room was so cold and humide,no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
ADegoix, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Madam , Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests...

sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A hotel gem near Autoroutes, with all amenities. Golf with driving range into lake, swimming, gym, enormous restaurant with cuisine food. Staff who were happy. It seemed good value. Simpler to find with Satnav.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
ADegoix, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much to completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. The satisfaction of our clients is our most beautiful reward. Our staff will appreciate your comments on their subject. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay and to share your positive experience. We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming...

Lecanto
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked at the last minute after a long day driving and have no idea where I actually was but wanted a place to hit balls. The golf facilities were very good a large aqua range, 18 holes of pleasant golf not too long but with lots of water and lakes. The layout reminded me a lot of a Florida course...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank legend1836
ADegoix, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your feedback is very important to us. We are delighted that you appreciated our installations and services. It's a real honor to compare us with the golf of the Florida (without palm trees). By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we...

london
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A large golf resort well managed .The restaurant was uninspiring food was of good quality but you felt that the hotel was under stress with not enough staff to cater for the groups within the complex.The Golf courses were not of excellent quality and somewhat overpriced for the facilities provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjw_10
Gouverneur01390, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As we don't know your name and date of stay we don't have all detail to perfectly answer. First of all we thank you for your opinion and your ranking of 4/5 about the room, bed, cleanliness and service's quality as well as your comments "the well managed" and the "good quality of food". If our team was...

Santa Rosa, CA
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a budget level hotel being advertised as a more upscale, posh golf resort hotel. We didn't come for the golf which may be wonderful, but the room itself needs updating. Also, a major negative point is we had to walk through a muddy construction zone (there was no way to walk around it) in order to access our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz and Jan H

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monthieux
28.6 km away
Georges Blanc Parc & Spa
4.6 km away
Auberge des Bichonnieres
Auberge des Bichonnieres
#1 of 1 in Amberieux-en-Dombes
22 reviews
8.2 km away
Hotel Ribotel
Hotel Ribotel
#1 of 1 in Villars-les-Dombes
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaisance - Villefranche-sur-Saone
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaisance - V...
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
352 reviews
15.8 km away
Les Pierres Dorees
Les Pierres Dorees
#1 of 1 in Amberieux
172 reviews
15.7 km away
Le Petit Casset
Le Petit Casset
#1 of 1 in La Boisse
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nature paradise in the heart of the Dombes at 30 minutes north of Lyon, Hotel and Golf du Gouverneur welcomes you in the middle of its 233 hectares. 53 rooms including 8 suites and junior suites, 2 restaurants and terrace, 45 holes for golf enthusiasts, 10 meeting rooms and banquets for business or family events. A unique site in Rhône-Alpes ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur

Address: le Breuil, 01390 Monthieux, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Monthieux
Price Range: ₹ 6,867 - ₹ 13,300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rhone-Alpes
Monthieux Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Golf & Hotel du Gouverneur staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only stay in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles 641annet, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“Do not book a room over the kitchens otherwise they were very acceptable but not 4 star standard.”
 of 5 bubbles tjw_10, 25 Jun 2014 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay