We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,122: English reviews
Aberdeen Scotland
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We booked a room with a view and wow what a view of the loch - simply stunning ! The room was booked last minute so extra vale for money, it was a huge room with extra comfortable bed. We intended eating in the restaurant (even took dress clothes for the occasion but was told by staff that we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy5832
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Wendy5832, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we really do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Glad to hear you had a "Perfect Romantic Break" we agree the views are stunning over the Loch and pleased...

Reviewed 16 November 2015

Loch Rannoch is an old hunting lodge, way out in the middle of nowhere. Comfortable and clean. Lovely views from the front rooms (we stayed on the second floor in the older part of the hotel). Bath (great for a relaxing soak after a day walking) and shower in a modern bathroom. The staff couldn't be better - a particular...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lesleycowan, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we really do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. What a great review many thanks, I will pass on your thanks to Robert and the rest of the team...

Bad Schwalbach
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Clean and very comfortable rooms with all modern equipment in a very cosy atmosphere and a spectacular view over Loch Rannoch. Very friendly service, absolutely delicious breakfast. In short: This place doesn´t leave any wishes unfilled.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 349wilhelmm
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 349wilhelmm, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. We really appreciate your fantastic review of the hotel, food and staff and glad you really liked the stunning view over...

edinburgh
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

The alleged 'executive' rooms are standard rooms with slippers and robes! All a bit shabby inside. Good was nice if not overpriced. The bar prices are extortionate and due to the location (out in the middle of nowhere) they have you captive. Great location if you're an outdoorsy type, which I'm not. Very scenic in November.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clerrie-Greens
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Clerrie-Greens, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. So to hear you think the rooms are a bit shabby we are in the middle of our improvement plan and...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Beautiful location so close to Loch Rannoch and Schiehallion (spelling?). Enjoyed a swim in the pool, a meal in the restaurant and one in the bar. Also had a great visit to Aberfeldy, within easy reach of the hotel.The bookshop and cafe there and the shop, Homer, next door all worth a visit. I could have stayed all afternoon in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila L
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon SheilaAberdeen, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and appreciated the great views over the loch and Schehallion and good...

Highlands
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Arrived seven o clock Friday evening in the dark but having stayed here before no problems ,The Hotel is isolated alongside Loch Rannoch mostly single tracked roads to reach here but always worth the effort 19 miles direct from Pitlochry on the A9 from Perth / Inverness .Booked in no problems second floor loch view room all nice and quiet,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Haggs2013
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Haggs2013, Thank you for taking the time to post the review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do really appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Really pleased to hear your birthday treat was great and you and your wife enjoyed all aspects of your stay...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Stayed in an executive family over a November weekend. We have no complaints. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel is a little chintzy but clean and tidy and not 'tired' as a few reviews had stated on trip advisor. The food was great, we eat in the Ptarmigan restaurant both nights. The food was very reasonably...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Neil&Amanda
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Neil&Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Fantastic to hear that you had a great stay and appreciate you kind words regarding the team and food and glad...

Inverness
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Hotel average but food overpriced.Spoke to waitress about small portion of chips alongside piece of haddock,she leant across plate and counted 9,yes that's what you get. Very disappointed. Waitress could have gone and assisted by requesting another portion of chips but just shrugged her shoulders.When paying bill at end of stay,the staff had omitted to charge us for meal but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O9524ODlauram
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon O9524ODlauram, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. I will investigate as to why the customer service was not correct for your stay as this is not the usual...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 November 2015

No working shower. Noisy electric radiator right beside bed that kept us awake all night. Flat uncomfortable pillows. However room spacious and bed soft. Breakfast excellent. Staff friendly. Evening meals nice but totally overpriced for what they were

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Laura M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Disappointed to hear that you did not have a great stay and was let down by some maintenance issues for...

Glasgow
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Don't get me wrong, the hotel is fine, I just didn't felt like I was in a "luxury hotel", as they like to call themselves. The dinner at the bar was good, and the staff I met was nice. No free-wifi in 2015 is pretty outstanding...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laetitia P
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Laetitia P, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. I have passed on your thanks to the staff regarding your stay but just a little bemused as we do...

312 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
28.1 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,638 reviews
18.0 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
814 reviews
29.5 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,054 reviews
39.3 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,088 reviews
23.1 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range: ₹ 4,944 - ₹ 10,289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely views, beautiful scenery.”
 of 5 bubbles 955WendyB, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The executive rooms are worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles as260478, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a loch view”
 of 5 bubbles Sparra53, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a lovely view over Loch Rannoch.”
 of 5 bubbles Eoin2013, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think the rooms of the 2nd floor have better views over the landscape.”
  • Schiehallion from our window
  • Loch Rannoch
  • Standard twin bedroom
  • Loch Rannoch & Schiehallion from our window
  • Flat TV. tea & coffee facilities with shortbread biscuits
 of 5 bubbles minap726, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5