We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Swan & Minster Mill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Swan & Minster Mill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Swan & Minster Mill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,665: English reviews
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As always we were very careful to read reviews before booking but I have to say the excellent reviews did not fully reflect the beauty, comfort, friendliness and first class service of staff. Our family joined us for a special celebration and not one of us was disappointed. Staff was very attentive and helpful. The bedrooms were spacious,very clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valerie N
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Valerie N Wow, what a super review, thank you so much. We're so pleased you had such a lovely stay with us and thank you for choosing us for your special celebration. During the Spring and Summer months we offer delicious picnics to enjoy in our 65 acres of meadows and gardens which are looking particularly spectacular now as...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is set in a beautiful picturesque setting. Gives you the option to get away from all the hustle and bustle of day to day life. Staff in both hotel and restaurant were all helpful and friendly. We ate both lunch and dinner in the restaurant. Our lunch was beautiful, best ham sandwich we had ever had. No joke....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayburns18
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear kayburns18 Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us, what a lovely five star review. I have passed on your fantastic comments to the whole team who are thrilled you had such a great stay. The new Garden Spa has proved extremely popular and gets booked up quickly, I'm...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wondered if things had changed when there was a change of ownership. Not a bit of it. New staff - same welcome and service. Only one way to see if you like it and that is to give it a go.Looking forward to our next visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill F
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Bill F Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Very best wishes, Dawn Sharp

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel in just the most beautiful country village setting but only just off the main road , staff very helpful and rooms modern with a quaint touch, wasn't there long enough to enjoy it all - must return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T8705PJdenisec
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear T8705PJdenisec What a fabulous review, thank you so much. We are so lucky to be located in the most beautiful Cotswold location, our groundsmen work very hard to make our 65 acres of meadows and gardens just perfect. Please come back soon so that you can enjoy the many activities on offer from fishing our tranquil River WIndrush to...

Northampton
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My sister and I have just returned from a wonderful stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful, friendly staff. Our "feature" room was right beside the river and had a small terrace with fire pit (logs, matches, firefighters - and marshmallows provided). Dinner was absolutely delicious, professionally served in a relaxed setting at the Swan, across the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank libbys249
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear libbys249 What a fantastic review of your recent stay, thank you so much. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the idyllic location of our Feature rooms, they really are in such a special spot right next to the River Windrush, its great to hear that you made the most of your firepit too. I'm delighted to let you know that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a couple of nights in one of the modern rooms which was much better located than the first room I was given at the very end of the hotel. (I think this was because I nabbed a great deal on hotels.com) I think the location would be beautiful in summer but it wasn't great that we couldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoveLondonLife
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear LoveLondonLife Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt you couldn't open the blinds in your room. The rooms in the Mill are all fitted with blinds so that they can be adjusted to let in the sun as well keeping your privacy. Behind the blinds you...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked through booking.com and this said that there was a pool and spa. We just wanted to go for a dip after walking and it was one of the reasons we chose this over others. It DID NOT SAY that you have to pay £50 per couple to use it. I find it incredible that guests cannot use this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dilverback123
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear dilverback123 Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you weren't aware of the cost for the spa prior to arrival. Our website, as well booking.com, does advise of the charges to use the spa as does your booking confirmation. The Garden Spa is a small luxury experience including a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visit the Swan regularly for lunch and Sandra and her team are always very welcoming and so accommodating. My father uses a wheelchair and the staff are very helpful in making it easy for him to enter the pub. The setting is quintissentially English, log fires in the winter and beautiful garden in the summer. Dog friendly too. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria N
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Victoria N Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is great to read that you find our hard working team friendly and welcoming. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Dawn Sharp

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in a riverside room with fire pit which we very much enjoyed using. Room had a lovely big comfy bed and it was very clean. Marshmallows and sloe gin were nice extras. The bathroom was fine but if you are tall you may struggle with the shower. No robe or slippers as advertised but not a big issue for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria W
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear Victoria W Thank you for taking the time to write to us with your feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay & all the little touches in the room. I'm glad you found the buffet breakfast good, I agree nothing quite beats a breakfast made to order, this will be standard from around 1st April once our kitchen...

Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a fabulous 2 night stay at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble forn5the staff.. room was delightful with all the extras one would expect.. good position for visiting Burford..Oxford..Blenheim..Stow & other local cotswodl attractions Meals are served in the adjoining public house but were very well presented & delicious. Good choice & well served by the ataff.. Well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank McDaids
HostManager, Guest Host at Old Swan & Minster Mill, responded to this review

Dear McDaids Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Very best wishes Dawn Sharp

869 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (465)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Garden Room (27)
Viewed
Garden Room with Patio and Wood Stove (32)
Viewed
Old Swan Churchill Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Dovecote Room (27)
Viewed
Old Swan Luxe Early Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
River Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster Lovell
23.6 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.9 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
337 reviews
7.8 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,572 reviews
4.4 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
769 reviews
37.3 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic Cotswold inn and boutique hotel, the Old Swan & Minster Mill is privately owned by Andrew Brownsword Hotels. Set is the picturesque village of Old Minster alongside the River Windrush, the 15 bedroom inn is stunningly romantic. A further 37 contemporary guest rooms and suites are available in Minster Mill. Family rooms and dog friendly rooms are available. For those looking for more privacy and space, the adjoining newly restored Swan Cottage offers three ensuite bathrooms and a private garden. Dining in the 600-year-old inn feels like stepping back in time with stone floors, beamed ceilings, roaring log fires and delicious gastro-pub food based on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients with a modern twist. Over 65 acres of gardens and 2 miles of fly-fishing on over a mile of the River Windrush ensure a tranquil and picturesque setting. Children have a wealth of activities. There is a tennis court, badminton, gym, croquet, petanque and spa treatments available. Located between the medieval town of Burford and historic market town of Witney, the inn is a short drive from Blenheim Palace and Bicester Designer Shopping Village. Oxford is 20 minutes drive. Nearest train station Charlbury is 15 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Swan & Minster Mill

Address: Minster Lovell Mill Old Minster Lovell | Cotswolds, Minster Lovell, Witney OX29 0RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney > Minster Lovell
Price Range: ₹ 8,977 - ₹ 21,871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Swan & Minster Mill 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Swan & Minster Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan & Minster Mill Hotel Witney
Old Swan And Minster Mill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Old Swan & Minster Mill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A river room would be our choice again”
 of 5 bubbles LynPaul546, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“De luxe rooms in the upstairs of the Minster Mill overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles njanelondon, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only ate, did not stay.”
 of 5 bubbles beverleypawson, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“They have only certain rooms for dogs - If you have a dog would not recommend to stay in room 132 and there is no room for a dog bed.”
 of 5 bubbles keoghanita, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Old Swan has 14 older character rooms whilst the Mill has 60 newer build rooms. all are well furnished.”
 of 5 bubbles Irvine-SoA, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5