We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Roman Camp Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 248: English reviews
Start your review of The Roman Camp Inn
 Click to rate
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Roman Camp Inn travelling as one of the party of eight to attend a close family member's funeral. I had decided not to leave a comment, however I want to express my deep disappointment with the Inn's Owner/Manager's unapologetic and defensive responses to the previous two reviews. The lack of empathy shown is quite astounding. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet F
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I reserved four double rooms for the night of February 14th. The mangeress knew that we were traveling from a distance to attend a family funeral of which the funeral tea was to be held at the Roman Camp Inn. My son and I were the first to arrive and were very pleased with the four rooms available. After a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helenclammer
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you were happy with your rooms here at the Roman Camp Inn but also very sorry that you were disappointed that we were only serving our Valentine's Evening Menu on the 14th Feb, and that you were expecting our normal menu. Your confirmations sent to you, contained an advisory note,...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

As a Celebration of my late husband's life it was a let down. After the funeral service at the newly opened Cromer Crematorium we chose this Inn for its light conservatory, ease of parking and in house cooking. This came in at a hefty £15+ per head BUT I was newly bereaved with all the stresses and strains that accompany...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aliton1
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the Catering provided for the after funeral refreshments. As you have stated, we were instructed to cater for 50 persons when in fact there were well over 70 people that attended, a testament to the popularity of your late husband. As soon as we became aware...

Mundesley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Surprisingly good Christmas dinner for a group of 24. Sadly one has low expectations of group Christmas dinners but Roman Camp did themselves proud. Tasty venison pate followed by game pie and veg. What a wonderful offering... none of the uninspired melon or prawn dishes so often presented. Those who had turkey were well sated with generous amounts. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charbala
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that your group enjoyed their Christmas Dinner here at the Roman Camp Inn. We hope to see you all again in the future, and would just like to point out that we do have extensive gardens and outside space, frequently used in the summer months, whereby dogs are very...

Paston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Sad really it is like this. If you bought a Ferrari to find it fitted with a fiesta engine you would be very disappointed. Thats Roman Camp the analogy is thus a ferrari with a proper engine looks like a ferrari nobody see's the engine. This place is warm & friendly. Clean well presented, our wish for a table in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We stayed here for one night having previously visited the Roman Camp Inn for a meal. The accommodation is very well designed with easy access from the car park. The room was small but very well decorated, and the bathroom was of a very high standard. At lunchtime we had a bar snack which we enjoyed, and in the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diner135
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your one night stay here at the Roman Camp Inn and that you were happy with the facilities and service provided. We apologise for the fact that you were unable to get BBC on your TV. We were not aware of this, therefore please accept our...

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Called in on the off chance of a quick lunch to this lovely country pub. We were served quickly by friendly staff Food was beautifully prepared and very tasty. Good decor, good access for disabled people, Would go again and recommend this inn to anybody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Food and also our facilities and it is very gratifying to find that you were happy with our hospitality also. We hope that we will be welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Constant delivering high level of service, always happy to help and friendly. Comfortable and recently been refurbished rooms. Good access for wheelchair people on ground floor. Good evening and breakfast served, can get busy, my suggestion make a table booking when booking your room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our services and our hospitality and are very pleased to hear you enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. We very much hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Over this past weekend we have visited this lovely place twice.The staff on duty were very attentive and nice with people. We enjoyed two wonderful meal's in the restaurant, and they were delicious. And the restaurant was good as well. If we did not live so far away, we would frequent this superb Inn a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanetPeter
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our Food and also our Hospitality. It is very gratifying to hear that we met your expectations and sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you again to the Roman Camp Inn when you are next in the area.

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Our rugby club golfing section have been regularly visiting the Cromer area for the last 70 years and have stayed at the Roman Camp for at least the last 15. We all strongly recommend this family owned hotel with great food, an excellent bar (very important to us!) and above all a brilliant and very bright team of staff. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bowells
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is gratifying to hear you are happy with our facilities and service we provide. We are always very happy to welcome your event here at the Roman Camp Inn and sincerely hope we can be of service to you for many more years to come.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylmerton
4.7 km away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
671 reviews
4.2 km away
The Dales Country House Hotel
8.6 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
2.5 km away
Felbrigg Lodge
Felbrigg Lodge
#1 of 5 in Aylmerton
501 reviews
4.5 km away
The Grove
The Grove
#4 of 28 in Cromer
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Price Range: ₹ 6,546 - ₹ 9,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Roman Camp Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Roman Camp Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay at the hotel so cannot offer any comment in this area.”
 of 5 bubbles 331trishf, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 for wheelchair access and wet room”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms 1,2 and 3 but all rooms recently modern refurbished to a high standard with great views of the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipSaunders20, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best food for miles.”
 of 5 bubbles 957juliettec, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front on the first floor are spacious and quiet despite being at the front of the building overlooking the road.”
 of 5 bubbles ritat253, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5