We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalhousie Castle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dalhousie Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dalhousie Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,225: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I booked a spa day for 4 using a Itison voucher, we did not know what to except. We had a lovely massage and facial treatment experience, visually stunning afternoon tea served in The Orangery. The spa area is small but it was lovely. The castle and grounds are fabulous. The staff were really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sillysal123456
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Sillysal123456 I am delighted to hear of your great experience within the Spa, please be sure to keep an eye on our facebook page for more great deals or sign up to our newsletter with exclusive offers and events. We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle and Aqueous Spa soon. A very good day to you.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at Dalhousie Castle on my recent trip to Scotland with my friend this September. I cannot say enough good things about the Castle, the atmosphere, the grounds, and especially the staff. We were treated so warmly by Marie at reception. Tom was kind enough to help me with my luggage up to the William...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ky Z
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Ky Z Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the castle. We are absolutely delighted that you had such a fabulous time at the castle. I have passed on my sincere thanks to our fantastic team who are so committed in providing excellence. I look forward to welcoming you back to the castle in the not-too-distant future....

NEWCASTLE
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I have always wanted to stay in a castle and I booked what I thought and expected was going to be a full castle experience for our wedding anniversary, unfortunately our room was called castle rocks and although it is in the castle grounds it is over a bridge and in a very dark wooded area and you can't even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HAMISHNEWCASTLE
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Hamishnewcastle Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry that you didn't get the opportunity to stay in the castle, I am aware that we were not in a position to be able to move your room due to being fully occupied on the day that you stayed. I am very pleased to read that you...

Willis
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We loved it ,my husband and I had a enjoyed the grounds,the room was very nice,It had a full size bath! Good water pressure.( not always available in other places ) The bed was comfortable.it didn't have a elevator, the landings at the top of stairs was a place to sit for photo shoots!we had a good time,totally different from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gdebg
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Gdebg Thank you so very much for your lovely review - I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the castle and will share your feedback along with my gratitude to all of the team. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. A very good day to you.

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Booked this hotel with a (very expensive) dinner reservation. Absolute disaster. Were told to come to the library to have drinks before being taken to dinner. Only problem - no one came to take drink order or serve them. Staff were completely overwhelmed - waited for almost half an hour for plates to be take away. Wifi did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Patrick K
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Patrick K Thank you for your feedback, I have tried to make contact with you following receipt of your review without success. If you would be kind enough to contact me so that I may learn more details. Thank you in advance

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Firstly, we did enjoy our stay BUT ... we booked two rooms assuming they were in the castle and thankfully checked the fine print in our booking confirmation several weeks prior to our stay which showed one room was outside the castle in a nearby building. We naturally contacted the castle to rectify this and confirmed through email that both...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jaegberg
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Jaegberg Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that a room within the castle was not available on the day in question but am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the food. We continue to strive to ensure that all requested rooms are offered, it is most unfortunate on this occasion that this...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Cant describe just how wonderful this visit was. The place is stunning anyway but the rooms had all been done up since I last came, we had the most amazing room, could have bought my daughter easily and she would have had her own area without having to have an adjoining room, which would have been a result. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cutey_11
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear cutey_11 Thank you so very much for sharing your feedback, it is wonderful to read that you had such an amazing time. I have passed on your feedback and personally thanked the team. I am very proud to have such a great team who are all focused on offering the best hospitality. We are very much looking forward to...

Yukon
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The castle is just stunning inside and out. There was a wedding going on the day we stayed but we did not experience the bad service that a lot of reviews are mentioning. We had lunch in the Orangery restaurant and it was very good food. Our room was clean and had a HUGE four poster bed. Right after lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yukoner36
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear Yukoner36 Thank you very much indeed for sharing such great feedback, I am overjoyed to hear of your great stay and how much you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful castle. I do hope that you will return to the castle to re-live the experience. A very good day to you.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 17 September 2015

I travel extensively and love all different types of accommodations (B&Bs, luxury hotels, etc.). This is, I think, the first time I have ever wanted to leave a hotel within an hour of getting there. Within two hours I had pulled another castle hotel down the road (Carberry) and was about to make the transition. The front desk accommodated me...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank docmartine
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Dear docmartine Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your comprehensive feedback. I am very sorry that you experienced such issues regarding the wi-fi, we have experienced extensive issues over the past three weeks with our internet provision. We are working closely with our service provider to resolve this and also to further improve the offering that...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend, and cannot compliment the room highly enough,it was stunning. The most disappointing thing though was the service which was completely lacking throughout. On top of the dreadful service we received when there, I also sent the below email 4 days ago and have not received any response from management. ------------- Dear management, I wanted to write...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
John B, General Manager at Dalhousie Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Once again, please allow me to apologise for the delay in you receiving our response due to the internet issues that we have suffered in recent weeks. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and your meals at the castle. As you will know we have rectified each of the points mentioned...

927 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (870)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (161)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (446)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnyrigg
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
925 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,076 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Aqueous Spa is a magnificent 13th century fortress set within acres of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the River Esk. From the moment you arrive at Dalhousie Castle a warm Scottish welcome awaits. Whether relaxing in the the Spa, gathering in the library next to the open fire, dining in the vaulted 2 Rosette winning dungeon restaurant, or retiring to your chambers, you will always feel as welcome as the 'Laird'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalhousie Castle

Address: Dalhousie Castle grounds, Bonnyrigg EH19 3JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Bonnyrigg
Price Range: ₹ 9,541 - ₹ 20,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalhousie Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalhousie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalhousie Castle Bonnyrigg
Dalhousie Castle Hotel Bonnyrigg
Castle Dalhousie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalhousie Castle staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Dalhousie Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no lift and the stairs down to both restaurants were a challenge.”
GeorgeB735, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Theme suite, seek the Victoria Room, where the Queen once went.”
odemarisp2014, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the castle.”
sh0plady, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You might not see the ghost, but try and get Room 4!”
richardgN1084QH, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not Sk for 23”
pinkcharlie2015, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5