We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 181: English reviews
Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

First visit on the spare of the moment on a Monday and there were not tooany people about as you would expect. Received a warm welcome from the attentive staff and after a few drinks in the cocktail bar we were shown to a table which had been beautifully laid out. Service was excellent throughout and the food was tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billboy999
New Brighton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A last minute need for overnight stay, Always a warm welcome, food is exceptional, often take business clients here for dinner, room was very warm and comfortable, fab shower and breakfast was cooked fresh, not of this help yourself stuff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't really fault some of the team they where very polite and happy to help.But my issue was in my main course which was lamb on a bed of cabbage, half way through my meal I actually had found some plastic about an inch or so big I thought at first it was I know sounds horrible but some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trace2214
mrburngrove, Owner at The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review about our restaurant. We are disappointed to see that you felt that we did not deal with the issue on the night of the meal to your satisfaction. Although we very rarely have complaints we do deal very fairly and professionally with any complaint we receive and the manager felt that the issue was...

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel, staff very attentive and nice. High standards all round. Food and service top notch. Walking distance from Grove Road station on Wirral line to New Brighton. I have been consistently well looked after here on numerous occasions. The manager goes out of his way to welcome and assist every guest.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
mrburngrove, Front Office Manager at The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a wonderful review, we love to hear from all our diners and residents of the hotel on your experience.

Wallasey
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

This was a family meal to celebrate our daughters birthday. Drinks and menu in the bar, where you can talk to the waiter about the dishes as he takes your order. Once your starters are due to be served you are taken through to the restaurant. The food was excellent and the service friendly and attentive without pretention. Thoroughly enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 126ann
mrburngrove, Front Office Manager at The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out at such a busy Christmas period to leave a review on your dining experience. I am happy to hear your food was EXCELLENT. we look forward to welcoming you to the restaurant again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We stayed 1 night for dinner, bed and breakfast as part of a prize. The room was huge and really well fitted out. Very comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom and good snacks with tea and coffee. Food in the restaurant was outstanding. There was a good choice of well cooked, hot food. Breakfast too was excellent. This hotel is understated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wodie s
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

A bit further out of the centre of Liverpool than we initially wanted but had left it to the week before to book - clever. But for day trips in to Liverpool it was a great location. Only £3.50 return on the train and a few mins walk to the station. Great room, clean, spacious and comfy bed! Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlD93
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Generous size rooms well furnished and well appointed bathrooms, this independent small hotel is a great alternative to the Liverpool City Centre hotels with their inflated prices. Just 17 minutes by Merseyrail from James Street station (£5 for a day ticket) with the last train just before midnight, this hotel has everything you need including trouser press, dinner, night porter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidLGardner
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Sadly it was for a gathering after a funeral the reason for visiting the Grove House Hotel. However it was extremely well run. The staff were quite but very efficient and the buffet provided was excellent especially as forty or more mourners attended than had been anticipated. I understand that the food in the restaurant is also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penian2016
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Booked a double room for one night via Booking.com. Confirmation email received and thought nothing of it. Hotel then got in touch with a very short email saying there had been a fault with their bookings system and they cancelled the booking. Very little in the way of an apology and no effort to offer alternative dates. It is certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinWebster

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallasey
1.1 km away
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton
3.1 km away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
668 reviews
12.7 km away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
251 reviews
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
8.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Grove Road, Wallasey CH45 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Wallasey
Price Range: ₹ 5,515 - ₹ 8,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views over looking gardens and Summer House”
 of 5 bubbles PhilR731, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Large front rooms well worth it, traffic fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidLGardner, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't go on the top floor if you are a business user-no WiFi up there!”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Probably at the back of the hotel, although the adjacent road did not appear to be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 662Aud, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that face Grove Rd will hear road noise, but it didn't disturb our sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles glogie, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay