We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Minster View Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howden
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Minster View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Start your review of Minster View Hotel
 Click to rate
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Upon arrival, first impressions of the Minister View where ok, friendly Landlord who found me a parking space very quickly and seemed eager to please. This place is directly opposite the minister, lovely setting, outdoor seating area, large TV’s in the bar with sports on and a pool table. The décor is very dated and scrappy but clean enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank XLDPP
Hull Yorkshire
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Recently stayed and received a warm welcome from new landlord Dan. This bar has a fantastic atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming. The improvements are very evident and I look forward to visiting again very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abby C
Hull, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed here on saturday night as a last minute thing, the bar and locals were fantastic, new host Dan has lots of plans to improve decor, can't wait to go back and see how he's getting on. Good luck Dan.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yorkshirerambler
East Yorkshire
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This is a cracking little bar. Friendly staff and locals, your always made to feel welcome. Although it gets busy, u rarely have to wait more then a few minutes to be served. No complaints whatsoever. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCG2009
Hayling Island
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We loved this place. We stayed in Dec 2012, [four fussy actors] The welcome is warm and the rooms were spotlessly clean, comfy, well fitted out and everything worked well. The home-cooked food is awesome and everyone was really welcoming and friendly. The value for money was exceptionally high. Those who are used to faceless, cloned chain hotels with brand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendymouse1
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I've been working locally in Howden for 5 months now and have truly enjoyed my stay at the Minster View, Ian and Eve go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. All the staff and locals in the pub are pleasant and good fun. One of the best points about the Minster View is the amazing home cooked food,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duncan C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2012

In my four week work related stay i have no complaints as the duratuion of my stay i found the rooms clean, beds made and cleaned daily good friendly hospitality cooked breakfast and two course dinner what more could you want with good friendly locals and bar staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Rated No 1 on trip advisor for area, No 2 must be hell, the rooms are disgusting. If I was not so tired from a long drive I would have found another hotel. I am sure I could sue under the trade discription act as this place is not a hotel. It really should be called a low end hostel....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tie2
Ian D, Owner at Minster View Hotel, responded to this review

1st can we say that we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here.You requested double beds as you were (big blokes) The only double rooms available was one en-suite, and one with a bathroom 2 doors down.You were shown the rooms and were quite happy as you were while drinking in the bar.We are appalled that you...

Laughton
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Just awful, not a hotel, a slop shop!! Plenty of other Hotels locally, suggest you use them. Rooms not ensuite, very sparcely decorated. Pub below noisy and rough. Just can't find a nice thing to say.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LaughtonFamily
Ian D, Owner at Minster View Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your review, we are sorry that you feel it is a slop shop and that we have a noisy bar.If you look at the photographs of the rooms we do not show anything that is not in there.We are a very clean,comfortable economy hotel,with customers and staff who make everyone feel welcome,as most of our reviews show....

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Comfortable, clean, good value accomodation with a great breakfast and a home cooked 2 course evening meal for just an additional £6. A friendly welcome from hosts, regular guests and locals made my stay a pleasant one. Would have no hesitaion in staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam P

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
4.9 km away
The Lowther Hotel
The Lowther Hotel
#2 of 3 in Goole
136 reviews
4.7 km away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#3 of 3 in Goole
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Apple Tree Cottages
Apple Tree Cottages
#1 of 1 in Howden
30 reviews
5.5 km away
Saltmarshe Hall
Saltmarshe Hall
#1 of 1 in Howden
60 reviews
5.1 km away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#1 of 1 in Eastrington
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Minster View Hotel

Address: 2-3 Corn Market Hill, Howden DN14 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Howden
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Minster View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If they are available try to get a room at the rear of the hotel - room 6 is great for a single business person or couple. Some rooms at the very back have no wifi connection.”
duncanc82, 22 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Any room you get, you will love!”
happy_az_traveler_12, 20 Jan 2012 | Read review
2 of 2