We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nepenthe B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nepenthe B&B
Nepenthe B&B
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Nepenthe B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our best meal in CR, due to intimate setting, incredible view, super sweet chefs and tasty meals. Also very clean restaurant! The road up there may require a 4x4 vehicle but so worth it. If we could have visited again we would have. Pictured here clockwise is the Mixto ceviche, beef, and chicken (and incredible sunset view).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ilk77
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Nepenthe can definitely meet your needs depending on what you're looking for. Here are the pros and cons: PROS: Amazing view overlooking Lake Arenal and Arenal Volcano - I can't imagine there are spots near La Fortuna that even come close to the panorama here; Quiet and relaxing - no street or traffic noise at all (refrigerator was a different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Nice B&B with a beautiful view. The staff are very candy and it wasn't a problem with Spanish neither the English. We got good advice about the area and activities The room had a good space and was clean and breakfast fresh. Highly recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorge H
Orcutt, California
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Great location, beautiful view! Loved our room and view and enjoyed the surrounding wildlife! The staff is very friendly and helpful and we would love to come back for a visit. Hopefully we will see the volcano next time. ( It was rainy and cloudy when we were there )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdamandSimone
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Clean, big room, nice breakfast, good place because it's close to all the things you want to do in the area. Don't miss the zip line with skyline..also take a bath at the terminal bath, ask the staff if you need some help. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Åsa N
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Napenthe B&B and the view (even in the rain) of Lake Arenal and surroundings was by far the best part of our stay there. The second best part was the adventurous drive up a very rough and narrow road to get there. It was our first trip to Costa Rica and Nepenthe, located in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Augustine was very nice and helpful! Place was beautiful, breakfast was great. Can't say enough good things about this place. Location is great to the national park as well as butterfly conservatory. A+ across the board

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dean16000
Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. The sun came out on our second day and the view from our room and the pool was unreal- you have a perfect view of he whole lake and Arenal! Lots of birds around, the staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and had endless good coffee, and we met a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adalie B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We booked wanting to be close to the rainforest but naturally were disappointed when it rained and rained and rained! Our room was cold and the hot water rarely ran and sometimes we lost electricity for four or five hours. So you can probably guess we did not enjoy our 2 night stay. And though we booked a 4x4 with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerekWyatt
Nepenthe_ByB, Gerente at Nepenthe B&B, responded to this review

While we always appreciate feedback about our guest's experiences here at Nepenthe it is disappointing to receive a negative review based on the problems you have laid out. Power outages, issues with car rental companies and poor weather, while regrettable, are outside of our control. We wish you all the best.

Zürich- switzerland
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the Nepenthe and really enjoyed it. The location up the dumpy dirt road away from the touristy La Fortuna (~30min. drive to down town) made it the perfect location to relax in the swinging chair or at their nice cool pool - the entire place (pool, cabins, breakfast) has nice views of the Vulcano Arenal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kl-brise

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Cabin (56)
Viewed
Hot Tub (19)
Viewed
Main House Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Castillo
0.9 km away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
660 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
206 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#7 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
231 reviews
11.8 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,759 reviews
2.3 km away
Rancho Margot
Rancho Margot
#1 of 8 in El Castillo
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nepenthe Bed and Breakfast is Beautifull piece of paradise located in the little town of El Castillo of La Fortuna in Costa Rica. Surrounded by the rain forest and exuberant wild life, you can appreciate the magnificent Arenal Volcano and the mistic Arenal Lake, enjoy beautifull sunsets from our infinity edge pool or relax in the jacuzzi or with a Massage in The Blue Lagoon Spa after a day of adventures and fun in the area. ** Also, the Phoenix Restaurant at Nepenthe is located on the grounds of Nepenthe and serve a daily dinner menu with handmade food and fresh local ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nepenthe B&B

Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos | 100 m este y 1.5km sur de la Escuela, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > El Castillo
Price Range: ₹ 7,320 - ₹ 8,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nepenthe B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nepenthe B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nepenthe B&B staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Diamond Bar, California
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nepenthe B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 1-3 open directly to the pool and view. Room 3 adjacent to kitchen, some noise in morning may disturb light sleepers.”
MikeB496, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Cabinas for privacy perhaps but the single rooms wonderful also.”
Q1609PSdonnam, 31 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Unless I am coming to stay, take the end room of the main house.”
mikebQ4881KN, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have a great view, rooms 1 & 2 are closest to the pool.”
  • Right off the patio
136deannah, 19 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Anything with a view!”
Birdman27000, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5