We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
50 Meters West Of The Catholic Church, El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (4)

About

#4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in El Castillo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet, private, 3 bedroom home nestled among the trees w/ lush vegetation, immaculate gardens buzzing w/ hummingbirds & butterflies...direct views of Volcano Arenal & panoramic of Lake Arenal...soak at night in the hot tub watching the volcano and sounds of wildlife. We have a spa onsite with holistic services and massage for your convenience. We can book all your tours to local attractions. Central to the village of El Castillo, just a short drive from La Fortuna. We have restaurants close by and many activities and tours to choose from.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Secured parking
Wifi
Horseback riding
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
91Reviews2Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 25
  • 9
  • 5
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Susan J wrote a review May 2018
Twin CIties10 contributions5 helpful votes
Our group of experienced travelers dealt with accommodations that are much less than marketed on any of their sites. This is NOT a B&B. It is somewhat clean, but you will also share the open-air (door is broken) and common kitchen with one or two cats. One of the bathrooms has the litter box in the shower stall. Microwave, gas range and hottub are not working. Showers have individual water heaters on the showerheads with exposed wires. Not all of them work. The outdoor shower has a view of the garden area and included hot water. Broken railings on deck. This is not handicap accessible due to stairs and the need to walk on uneven ground or up a steep hill to access it. Enjoy the views, the calm and quiet of a beautiful village and rustic accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hummingbirdnest, Owner at Hummingbird Nest
Responded 28 Sep 2019
First of all, I don’t even read T.A. reviews since most of my guests were from AIRBNB, Lonely Planet or Booking.com. That must have been a rare instance for a review in May of 2018 when I was in fact living in the states (as of summer of 2017, not 2016). Therefore, breakfast was not being served as it was priced for just the rooms. Some of the issues were due to low season maintenance needing to be done. Thus, the hot tub was empty and shut down. The railings were repaired the next month. The glass sliding kitchen door was broken by a drunken guest and waiting for the glass to be replaced. That allowed a stray cat to join my cat with guests in the kitchen. The stove and microwave both worked. The guests must not have known how to open the gas tank valve for stove and how to work the microwave. The reason for the cat box in living room bathroom (which was hidden behind the shower curtain) is because that was my private quarters where my cat & l live (the upstairs bedroom & bath). The hot water showers are antiquated but do work if guests know how to operate by pressure for hot or cold water. The wires are not exposed now but covered by tubing. Guests have the option of outside on demand hot showers in a tiled protected area next to the hot tub. As for handicap access, there is a gate next to rooms that adjoins to the Cabinas next door. There is their walkway we are allowed to use for this type of situation. Cars can park to drop off or pick up there. On a positive note, the 9km gravel road coming into the village is now paved! My apologies for the numerous inconveniences these guests experienced as it was a B&B being closed down since the owner had moved to the states. In fact, I made a trip in June of 2018 (the next month) specifically to close it down. The timing of a guest being there in May of 2018 was unfortunate timing. regards, Ellen
Read more
dal0ula wrote a review Jan 2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia45 contributions9 helpful votes
I really wanted to like the Hummingbird nest, it is obvious that this guesthouse used to have a glorious not so distant past based on previous reviews. It is very cute, has a beautiful garden, well located in el Castillo BUT we had an unpleasant experience for the following reasons: -There is no hostess on site. When we got there, Ellen, the owner, was in the US and apparently she will not be back before a while (we have been communicating with her via e-mail). The place is now transitioning into a vacation home rental. You could tell the guesthouse has had its high days given the attention to details in the decoration, but now it feels desolate. There is a nice local family that lives downstairs, they checked-us in and they were all trying to be helpful but their decision-making power is limited and they have to check everything with the Ellen. Being on your own may not be a problem unless issues come up, see below. - On the 2 days and half we stayed there, the power was cut for extended periods of time EVERY SINGLE day. When there is no electricity, there is obviously no WIFI, but even when there is electricity, the WIFI is not reliable and needs to be reset from time to time. It can only be reset from the living room which is locked. So every time the WIFI goes away, you have to go down the steep ramp to ask the concierge or a member of his family to come up and reset it. The power cuts were due to bad weather meaning constant rain and winds so it’s not really the hotel’s fault, however, for the price of the room, I was surprised the guesthouse did not have a generator similarly to some neighboring hotels. - This is a bed and breakfast but somehow breakfast is not included in the room rate. Breakfast will cost you an extra $10 for 2 people, if offered. There was also a lot of confusion on whether we could have breakfast and other meals prepared for us to begin with (even paid). - Check the weather before coming to el Castillo, it can be miserable, especially in December (constant rain and strong winds, very limited view of the volcano) and there is no heating system in the guesthouse. The rooms get very cold at night due to the big windows and there is a constant draft. The blankets were thin and even adding layers didn’t help (a comforter would have been more useful during the cold months). I left with a runny nose and I am still battling a cold three days after getting back home. I am giving it an average rating since most of these issues-except for the meals- were strongly correlated with the unfortunate bad weather so we might have been out of luck. However, I was disappointed that the hotel lacked the necessary amenities (heat, generator) to deal with these issues. On a positive note, the concierge and his wife Yeimy tried their best to make our stay comfortable. They arranged a horse tour for us and when we mentioned we were cold at night, they showed us where the extra blankets were. Yeimy also kept the rooms cristal clean. The hotel is conveniently located between a soda (local restaurant) and a mini-market! However, keep in mind that El Castillo is very isolated and spread out and the dirt road leading up to it is very bumpy. There isn’t much to do after dark (and even less to do if the electricity is out).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Tobager wrote a review Sep 2016
Gainesville, Florida63 contributions51 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay. The owner went out of her way to be helpful with us and other staff was great. Our accommodations were very clean and suitable, another guest had leaks. The grounds are gorgeous and the views spectacular from the upper level. Rooms are on the ground level and while there aren't long-range views, we enjoyed the tropical foliage/flowers, and frequent hummingbirds outside our windows. The road to El Castillo is horrible, absolutely horrible (just be aware you must drive very slowly) and we found signage to be poor to the B&B. Once you get there, there is a steep, switchbacking concrete path to reach the building, and we found it very slick and treacherous, especially with the constant rain. There is an option to get a bit closer by driving through another property and parking (if you can find a spot) in a nearby lot, but seriously only if you're really determined. The walk up, although steep, is beautifully landscaped with a wonderful collection of tropical gingers, heliconias, and other gorgeous lush botannicals, so if you are fit and active, you won't mind a bit. Breakfast was adequate and the dining room was super cozy with a pictuesque view. The hot tub was a wonderful option since it was rainy and chilly the days were were there. We'd definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
TravelGecko wrote a review Apr 2015
Perth, Australia11 contributions5 helpful votes
We would like to mention that Ellen has not sold the B&B as stated in an earlier review and she is still there. We arrived to find spotlessly clean bedrooms and bathrooms and plenty of hot water. The huge panoramic windows in the rooms gave a fantastic view of the garden. One minor niggle is that the curtains didn't completely meet across the width of the window, which wasn't a problem for our group as we all knew each other but if you were not with the other room, it could be awkward. Ellen was charming and gave us all the information we needed. Breakfast was freshly prepared fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and breads and both mornings, there was a different cooked option - pancakes one morning and fried plantain & sausage the next. We splashed out and ate at Fusion restaurant next door the first night, which does great (and large) pizza for $14. We had leftovers so with the in-room fridge gave us lunch for the following day. We are at the soda at the bottom of the path the following night and had a great meal of casados and fajitas. Typical CR food; Basic and cheap but very tasty. The hot tub was amazing and we stayed in until after dark and enjoyed watching the fireflies dance through the sky. The river/bridge a stones throw away made a nice spot to sit for an hour and watch the bird life go about their business. One other thing to mention is that the walk from the car park to HN is quite steep and long and if you are unfit or unable to cope with luggage and hills, you might want to drive further up the hill to the fusion restaurant and use their parking area to drop off/load bags. El Castillo itself is very quiet but it's a great gateway for Arenal and La Fortuna. The road is very hard going on the way there (but clearly not something Hummingbird Nest can control!) but persevere and you'll find a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Anne D wrote a review Mar 2015
Groton, Massachusetts1 contribution
A far cry from a trendy or chain hotel, this B&B gets high marks for it's tropical setting and amazing volcano views! If you are looking for an authentic stay in a rainforest paradise you'll find it here! My favorite thing was sitting on the upstairs porch looking out at the impossible view of arenal volcano.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
urs e wrote a review Feb 2015
Oberrieden, Switzerland146 contributions42 helpful votes
a special place with a special host: PAN AM ellen's b&b. spacious, clean rooms, unique veranda with view of the volanco. overlooking lush garden with exotic birds. help yourself with her kitchen (a few dollars if you use her dishes). you might have to hurry, she's abbout to sell her place!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: travel light, it's quite a steep walk up to her place.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
honoluluw2015 wrote a review Jan 2015
New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
I booked a last minute trip to Costa Rica, including a stay at the Hummingbird Nest. I used a third party booking website to secure the reservation and arrived with a printed out copy of my confirmation number. Only the caretaker was on site, who said there was no vacancy (despite a sign saying vacancy out front and my booking record). The caretaker, who spoke very little English, called the owner who was extremely rude and unapologetic and refused to admit any fault or offer any help. We were left scrambling for a new place to stay in the midst of a thunderstorm on remote volcanic backroads. HORRIBLE experience. I've never had worse customer service in my life. If you make an error and overbook, at least have the decency to admit it and try to help. Absolutely unacceptable. AND the place was not nearly as charming looking as in the pictures. Don't book here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hummingbirdnest, Owner at Hummingbird Nest
Responded 6 Nov 2015
Unfortunately, this incident took place in Dec. 2014 and in checking the bookings, we were full the month of Dec. If a 3rd party booked for this guest, it was without my knowledge nor confirmation. Despite there being papers to confirm, we get many overbooked rooms in the height of high season....this happens everywhere. Had I been there at the B&B, I certainly would have made calls to accommodate this couple. My caretaker said he did try to find them another room, but everyone was full. Not having an exact date nor the 3rd party booking company, it is difficult to pinpoint the problem. The reason for the 'vacancy' sign is because either my caretaker or my self do our best to find other accommodations or suggestions if we are full. It is unfortunate for this couple, especially in the rain and if dark (as I recall), it is unfair to judge the appearance of the B&B. I do apologize for wherever the mistake derived from this reservation.
Read more
Richard W wrote a review Dec 2014
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Volcan Arenal could be one of the most beautiful gifts of nature I have ever seen. Classic in its majestic cone shaped mountain, Volcan Arenal breathes life and purpose to the entire region, in particular the village of El Castillo. This tiny village is highlighted by wonderous views of the volcano, the beautiful Lake Arenal and a group of very friendly locals and expats. We were lucky to be staying at The hummingbird's Nest, it was exactly how we pictured it. Hidden up a short, landscaped trail the B&B delivered on all counts. The view was magnificent, the grounds were impeccably cared for and our host was delightful. Ellen, our hostess, had full knowledge of the entire area and was very helpful setting up excursions and dinner reservations. The entire property was beautifully maintained, and the hot tub really hit the spot after a long day. Our room was very nice and extremely comfortable. The room was cleaned and mopped everyday. Nice! Breakfast was very good with a changing menu daily. Great job Ellen !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Sullivanscoffee wrote a review Nov 2014
Portland, Oregon, United States37 contributions20 helpful votes
We had a great time staying with Ellen at the Hummingbirds Nest in El Castillo. It is situated in a great location with easy access to lots of activities. Ellen knows everyone in the area and was able to give great advice on places to see and try out. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. Bathrooms were just right. The outdoor showers were fun.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
John R wrote a review Sep 2014
Houston, Texas, United States1 contribution1 helpful vote
Large picture windows frame a magnificent garden of variegated flora and fauna. From the balcony, a perfect view of the Arenal Volcano. Even as it rained, the view was spectacular! Each morning a delicious typical hearty Costa Rican breakfast was prepared and served in the charming kitchen/dining room. All the organic produce is locally grown. I can still taste the delicious fruit and homemade breads, jams and jellies. Ellen, the owner is a friendly and accommodating host.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Rooms are large and will accommodate 3 couples or 3 friends
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
hummingbird nest hotel el castillo, hummingbird nest bed and breakfast
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hummingbird Nest B&B
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaArenal Volcano National ParkEl Castillo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hummingbird Nest
Which popular attractions are close to Hummingbird Nest?
Nearby attractions include Butterfly Conservatory - Arenal (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hummingbird Nest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Hummingbird Nest?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hummingbird Nest?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hummingbird Nest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Essence Arenal Restaurant, La Ventanita, and Phoenix Restaurante.
Does Hummingbird Nest have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hummingbird Nest offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hummingbird Nest located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of El Castillo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hummingbird Nest?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Hummingbird Nest accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.