We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,275: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having enjoyed holidays at their other sites - Cropton, Keldy and Sherwood, we were thoroughly looking forward to a enjoyable and relaxing getaway. Unfortunately their site in the Forest of Dean is not at the same level. Negatives:- -Generally dusty in hidden areas, under beds and sofa etc. -High levels of chemicals in hot tub causing skin irritation and discomfort...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank freetowander2017
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your latest Forest Holiday. We are sorry to hear that Forest of Dean did not match up to your previous breaks and we are grateful for your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future, whichever of our 9 UK locations you choose. Kerry

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hot tub chemicals ruined our swimwear and all we are being told is that the chemicals are in the legal limits. As a "good will" gesture at first we were offered an early check in on our next visit - why should we have to pay for another trip and new swimwear? Then we were offered 20% off our...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sally-Ann G
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This holiday site is located in a beautiful location with lots of lovely places to visit nearby. You can even just spend the day on the site as there is plenty to explore.The birdsong in the forest from dawn till dusk was amazing. The accommodation is excellent and some include hot tubs - which the family can all enjoy, The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilyM9
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review following your recent break at Forest of Dean. We are very pleased to hear that you liked the location and we welcome your feedback with regards to the Forest Retreat shop. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Kerry

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Title says it all, been coming here for years, Forest holidays you have reached your low point, get your act together it needs an update. You don't even deserve the one star but that is the least trip advisor allows. Even your bikes are sent out not working correctly even dangerous.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank stevelikesdylan
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your cabin. We are grateful for your feedback and would like to reassure you that we have an ongoing refurbishment programme. We hope you will see the difference if you stay with us again in the future. Kerry

Wrexham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at your Forest of Dean site between 30/01/2017 - 03/02/2017. On arrival our cabin was filthy, luckily we had read about the poor cleaning standards on Trip Advisor and had brought cleaning supplies but spent the first night cleaning, not how you should start a holiday. Over the next few days we noticed a shocking number of issues...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Megan_Turkington
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues whilst staying with us at our Forest of Dean location. I understand that our customer service team were keen to discuss the matter further with you and, on a number of occasions, were unsuccessful in making phone contact. I personally attempted to contact you and you...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As the title says this was our first experience in a Forest Holidays 'Log Cabin' and I would certainly recommend this type of holiday to anybody looking for an outdoor style break. The cabins themselves were well equipped, clean and well maintained, and even though there are a lot on site they doesn't feel crowded of overlooked. The Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrinceofPort66
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review following your recent break at Forest of Dean. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we very much hope it will be the first of many. Kerry

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great family break, definitely recommend the children ranger adventure, really cool. The kids absolutely love it. The cabin was amazing, clean and in perfect order. We've stayed at Cooper beech and couldn't fault at all. For families with children would definitely recommend meadow as the woodlands might be a bit scary for them. Staff and helpful and friendly, great service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anderson R
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review following your break at Forest of Dean. We are pleased that you enjoyed it so much and particularly that the children enjoyed the Forest Ranger experience. We hope to see you again in the future. Kerry

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed mid week from 27th-31st March and had lovely time. The cabin was lovely and well positioned. We chose number 41 and I'm glad we did as the views into the forest were stunning and it was very private (not all cabins are as private and some are very near walking paths so I would definitely recommend looking at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank r38
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Forest of Dean. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and that you liked the setting. We are grateful for your feedback about the cleanliness of your cabin, for which we apologise. We hope to see you again in the future. Kerry

Abertillery, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my partner visited here back in 2016 in a golden oak cabin within the woodlands and it was lovely, came back again this year as I booked a golden oak hideaway cabin, it's well worth the money I paid. Upon arrival we were shown straight to our cabins and when we entered we were given a bottle of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jadewest9494
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your latest visit to Forest of Dean. We are delighted you enjoyed your Golden Oak Hideaway cabin and that you had an enjoyable break. We don’t open late at night as we are keen to live in harmony with our neighbours and the peaceful forest environment but as you found, there are pubs and...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Forest Holidays your company is a disgrace, I cannot believe a company of your size has resulted to lying and changing your story so many times of why my nephews iPod has now gone missing, it was found in our cabin after we checked out, you phoned me to tell me it had been found 1 Hour after I'd checked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lilywood1

1,069 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1066)
Viewed
Room/Suite (178)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
3:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (614)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
4.8 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
5.0 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
673 reviews
4.1 km away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
1,065 reviews
11.6 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
182 reviews
6.6 km away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire

Address: Bracelands Drive, Christchurch, Coleford GL16 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford > Christchurch
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Forest Holidays Forest Of Dean Cabins Hotel Coleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabin No. 48 is not private”
  • Cabin 48 (Copper Beech)
ReviewAngel, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a Basic Villa”
  • View from livingroom
  • The Cabin
923Dan, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want complete privacy go for Woodland rather than Meadow lodges”
Lucyhut, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Personally, I have always enjoyed the peace and privacy offered by the cabins within the wooded areas rather than the meadow areas.”
freetowander2017, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there. Bring a tent, it would be better.”
  • Just plain filthy.
  • Filth all around the shower
  • No way to secure the hot tub lid
  • Filthy shower head
  • An example of the multiple lack of maintenance issues
  • Missing Cupboard Handle
  • Broken shower, wouldn't stay in when using
  • Utter filth, must be years since it was cleaned.
Megan_Turkington, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5