We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Black Bull Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reeth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Bull Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Proper Yorkshire Pub, rooms fine not a luxury hotel but clean, comfortable and great value at £35 Beer very well kept and the steak and kidney pie the best I've had for years in fact had it 3 nights running. The landlord and landlady could not be more friendly and helpful Will definitely be back Stayed with a group of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you and your party enjoyed your stay and I look forward to your return. regards, Richard, Licensee. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visit reeth every year for my birthday - it never disappoints and this is the pub to visit. Quality ales, great staff, dog friendly and a stones throw from all the local holiday cottages. Didn't stay here this time but wouldn't be the same if we didn't visit! Bumped into breakfast chef Maggie who remembered us from the times... More 

Helpful?
Thank lewis s
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lewis, thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our fine ales and I look forward to your birthday next year. regards, Richard. More 

selby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We all had a two cours meal that was a carvery with a sweet to follow .the carvery was just heaven with Lamb Beef Turkey & Pork and a mix of veg roast & boiled potatoes bated parsnips cauliflower cheese red cabbage carrot & sweed mushypeas Yorkshire pudding &gravy with all the trimmings.And for sweet it was appel crumble or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham P
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham, thank you for your review I'm pleased to hear you and your party of 53 pensioners all enjoyed your visit to our friendly pub and that you all enjoyed your meal. look forward to your return next year. regards, Richard, More 

Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

First of all if your expecting any form of luxury here forget it. This place dates back to 1680 and it has all the creaking flours uneven walls and dirty beams that goes with a place as old as this. It's dog friendly all over the hotel except the restaurant and Richard certainly knows how to keep a great pint... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alan, thank you for your review, you have certainly hit the nail on the head with your description of the Black Bull. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to your return. regards, Richard. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Conclusion: We did not stay over - the review is based on a visit for drinks only. A previous visit for lunchtime food was a better experience Downmarket, grubby, unwelcoming and smelly locals watering hole selling below par black sheep (and other theakston ales). best avoided in favour of the Kings Head and the Buck Hotel. Location description: The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Buster P
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Buster, sorry you did not like our Old (1680 grade 2 listed ) Country Pub. We do not profess to be a 4star ultra modern pub or a restaurant that has a al carte menu. We serve good homemade food and good Real Ales, I'm sure the Theakston brothers who brew our Real Ales and all the otherTourist and... More 

Travellers are raving about these Reeth hotels

Ripon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I managed to book for 10 people the day before .. We arrived and they were extremely accommodating and nothing was too much trouble .. The food was plentiful with great portion sizes . 2 bowls of chips and more if we wanted . The kids were very happy . Good pub food at reasonable prices very welcoming .

Helpful?
Thank CamollyRipon
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Camolly, thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you your party of 10 people all enjoyed themselves and that the food you ordered was to your satisfaction. Its nice to hear our staff was doing their job and that you all enjoyed your meals. regards, Richard. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

First the good points. Wainwright beer nice pint and the lady from Barnsley who served breakfast. The rest isn't good. My wife spent most of her youth in Reeth....this WAS the place to go ...not now. The whole place needs re plumbing, redecorating, generally refreshing, sympathetically of course.The manager? Smarten up your attitude. He was rude and looked hung over... More 

Helpful?
Thank davefernley
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dave, thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The Black Bull (not the Bulls Head) is a grade2 listed building built in 1680 and I agree with you that the plumbing needs updating and redecorating which will be done in the winter when we are not has busy. we... More 

Chesterfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Went for a pub meal, food ok for pub grub. Bar man never smiled, not very welcoming and not very helpful, waiter a young lad just brought the food, never ask if anything else required and never asked if all ok. Won't be returning as there are plenty of other places in Reeth to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Carol C
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

My title says it all, cliquey, rude, and ignorant locals occupy this place. Conditions were pretty bad it needs remodeling. Food is basic as basic gets. The toilets downstairs seriously need fixing no locks on doors, outside there are cigarettes everywhere. Nice area though! Good walks!

Helpful?
Thank DancesWithFoods
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The Black Bull was built in 1680 and its impossible to miss this heritage - it took me three attempts to find my way to my room without a wrong turn and the stairs are so deliciously uneven I swayed from side to side like a drunkard before I'd touched my first pint. My room was large with a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveHarvey
blackbullreeth, Owner at Black Bull Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dave, thank you for review, it's nice hear from someone who appreciates the age of the black bull 1680 it is also a grade 2 listed building so we cannot change it if we wanted to ( not that we do ). Your right in what you say about the plumbing being the original apart from a few new... More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
18.8 km away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
228 reviews
18.7 km away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
219 reviews
28.1 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Reeth
191 reviews
18.9 km away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Grinton
140 reviews
18.8 km away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Black Bull Hotel

Address: Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Reeth, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Bull Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front room for a lovely view”
 of 5 bubbles cafedelmar95, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the green.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanndavid, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Daphne_Kramer, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Try the pies!”
 of 5 bubbles barbarabW8477NO, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the village green. Great view down Swaledale.”
 of 5 bubbles Foggyduster, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5