We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Cama, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I'm arrived Tuesday evening around midnight and I've been in this hotel until Friday. After 22.30-23,00 there is nobody at the reception. No problem because I've warned that I would be arriving late and they give me all the information to enter. at reception there are a lot of warnings that the hotel is undergoing renovations and they apologized for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Massimo_Ronchetti67
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Massimo R. Thank you for your return visit to our hotel. We appreciate you as regular guest and are very sorry that your recent stay was not satisfactory. We will discuss your complaints with our team. I hope that your next stay is will be to your complete satisfaction. Many regards

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Several things disappointed us when we stayed here. Firstly, we booked this hotel mainly on the reputation of its restaurant so to be told that the restaurant was fully booked that evening was a big shock. It has been our experience with other hotels that have popular restaurants that they email you to ask it you need a table reservation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank britabroadUk
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your stay was not to your satisfaction, which we really regret. As you have already been mentioned, our restaurant is regionally very well known for our meat specialities. For this reason we are very often fully booked days in advance. We inform our hotel guests in the confirmation that we are pleased...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We were a group of 5 to celebrate my dad's B-Day. The Restaurant is rustic and charming. The service attentive and with a good sense of humor. The food was fantastic. As my girlfriend is glutenintolerant she got all glutenfree food including cookies and homemade Spätzle. Delicious and well worth what we paid for, which wasn't much at all. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egyguru
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thanks for your excellent review. We are happy that you enjoyed the birtday dinner with your familiy. Hope to welcome you again. Many greetings to Zürich.

Iver, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Stayed here for two nights and it was a great little find. Really charming little town with some nice shops and restaurants. Rooms were nice and spacious with comfortable beds, there free water, drinks and fruit provided to each guest which is a really nice touch. The hotel is next to a pizzeria and part of a very old butchers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shan4179
Claudia U, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your review. We are always happy to get positive feedbacks from our guests. We are glad that you liked your stay in our hotel and the picturesque surrounding of Arlesheim. We would be pleased to welcome you again. Kind regards from Switzerland

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful Hotel in the centre of Arlesheim. We made 2 short visits and both rooms were very well-appointed and clean and had charming views overlooking the town square. The rooms are full of light and feel clean and fresh. Breakfast was wonderful and the service faultless. I have just booked another week at Zum Ochsen in September.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissPonsonby
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Liebe Miss Ponsonby Vielen Dank für Ihren wiederholten Besuch und die lobenden Worte. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Ihnen...

Toulon, France
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stayed in room 212, spacious with big bathroom and toilette. View on street in front, but not too noisy. Service, cleanliness, quality of bed, breakfast, free beer and water, everything great. But SFr 489 for two nights, of which one was at a reduced weekend rate, is steep, simply not justified for a hotel in a small village outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1aatoulon
Claudia U, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung und ihre lobenden Worte. Es freut uns, dass es Ihnen bei uns in...

Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 January 2015

Very comfortable small hotel that avoids the Basel traffic if you're business in outside of the city. well appointed rooms, facility kept very clean, attentive and accommodating staff, free WiFi, good breakfast. As well the hotel has a very good restaurant. They are tied to a butcher shop adjoining the property, so the best choices are the meat dishes. Dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DHG716
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Although this hotel is expensive, it is effectively a 4-star Swiss Hotel, so you must expect to pay handsomely for the rooms and food compared to the UK. We had just driven all the way from Calais (and in a lot of rain) but the meal we had in the restaurant was excellent as was the service. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bev C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is the noisiest Hotel that I have ever stayed at anywhere in the World. The church bells every 15 minutes are bad enough, delivery trucks start at the rear from 5:30 am and continue for hours with guys pushing trolleys over cobble stones. Room are spartan, bathrooms small, water runs hot the cold. Tried to an iron but "...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RealDogLover
Dublin
Reviewed 18 January 2012

195CH Francs for the room which has the classic Swiss/German single beds with Duvet, so about 20 years out of date, curtains which don't block out the street lights at the front, annoying waiting staff in the Restaurant and 109 CH francs for 2 courses and a glass of wine. You are better than this place.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DSG01

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlesheim
3.8 km away
The Mittenza
The Mittenza
#3 of 3 in Muttenz
36 reviews
6.0 km away
Schloss Binningen
Schloss Binningen
#1 of 1 in Binningen
62 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Gasthof Bad Schauenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hotel Baslertor
Hotel Baslertor
#2 of 3 in Muttenz
55 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Eremitage
Hotel Eremitage
#1 of 3 in Arlesheim
27 reviews
1.0 km away
Kloster Dornach
Kloster Dornach
#1 of 4 in Dornach
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoyment of meat with a long tradition There is scarcely another restaurant that can equal the Ochsen’s close association with the enjoyment of fine quality meat. For several generations the perfect symbiosis between our warm hospitality and excellent meat has produced high culinary standards. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen

Address: Ermitagestrasse 16, Arlesheim 4144, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Arlesheim
Price Range: ₹ 9,740 - ₹ 17,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Gasthof zum Ochsen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles BevC107, 25 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Don't get a room that back on to the rear.”
 of 5 bubbles RealDogLover, 18 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Ask to sleep at the rear, away from the street lights and the church bells.”
 of 5 bubbles DSG01, 17 Jan 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay