We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Balbirnie House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Balbirnie House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

715 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Balbirnie House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 703: English reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Another year and there is no where else that we would want to spend my Anniversary. Booked at The Orangery again after being recommended for our 10th anniversary last year and we were treated like royalty as always. The entire evening is one of relaxed opulence, you are spoilt from the moment you enter to the time you leave but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirkfife
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Kirkfife, Many thanks for your kindness, and the denoting of a 5 Star review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated. Dear Readers, our gratitude to everyone who has made a positive online contribution. We mention in passing that...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

I come to Balbirnie House quite regularly for dinner and always receive great service with very happy staff. This time when I visited for a family members birthday the service and quality of food was spectacular. Greeted at reception with such a warm welcome and then showed through to a very comfortable lounge area where we could relax and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Sophie, Many thanks for your kindness, and the denoting of a 5 Star review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated. Dear Readers, our gratitude to everyone who has made a positive online contribution. We mention in passing that...

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2015

During a recent trip to Scotland I organized a dinner in a private room September 8th, 2015 for 16 family members. (I called the morning of the function to confirm the final number was 14). The service was very much below par as to what I had expected from this caliber of establishment. The reception was staffed by one lady...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank onemotime
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Linda, Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I recall the post-occasion correspondence as you thought a round table had been reserved for 16 guests, and were very disappointed to find on arrival that the table was in actual fact square. -Our Library Bar only has 4 guest tables. We're accustomed to seating guests in multiple...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We revisited this amazing gracious house for wedding anniversary and it was divine. The setting of the house and the furnshings completely reflect the era of the house it is quite magical like stepping back to a mother era but quietly supported by old the convenience we all expect wifi, gorgeous linen high pressure showers and claw foot baths.The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Rosie, Many thanks for your kindness, and the denoting of a 5 Star review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed room 205. This has just recently been refurbished, and we're particularly happy...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015

This is a nice hotel, good friendly staff, but the rooms are a little tired and were in need of some attention, as were many of the public areas. I ate in the Bistro which was very, very noisy with a party, and the food was very a mixed bag, the bacon and poached egg salad being very disappointing, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew B
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Matthew, Many thanks for your kind comments, but in regard to having a requirement to splash cash - Over the last 16 years I have signed cheques in excess of £5M maintaining and improving the fabric of the assets. Over recent years our re-investment has been rolling at double that of hotel sector industry averages. Over the last 2...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2015

I have always wanted to come here and at last managed to organise a visit. We were only one night but enjoyed a fantastic 4 course dinner, with pre dinner canapes, and coffee in the lounge. The meal was delicious, served with efficiency and a smile. We felt the staff were geniunely welcoming and appreciative of our custom. Although our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egl10
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Egl10, Many thanks for your kindness, and the denoting of such a lovely review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated. Dear Readers, our gratitude to everyone who has made a positive online contribution. We mention in passing that...

Reviewed 22 October 2015

We were recently at a wedding at this hotel and stayed two nights the room we were allocated was filthy it was so bad we complained bitterly and received a full refund but even so we would NEVER RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lilian D
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Lilian, I have been on annual leave and have arrived back at work this morning and have immediately been able to investigate what happened with your bedroom, or more specifically as I have been appalled to hear, your bathroom. Having been unoccupied the previous evening, the bedroom door was left unlocked and the bathroom was used by guests who...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We were attending a function at the hotel and on arrival the room was adequate but dated. While having a bath in the small bath I was disturbed by two hotel employees requesting immediate access to the bathroom as water was dripping into the lounge below our room. At the end of the function just before midnight we requested drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank billpY7081NT
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Bill, Many thanks for posting your online comments, and your visit obviously compromised by a rare maintenance issue. Such circumstances can arise, they are simply a fact of life. We apologise again for the inconvenience. From our maintenance dept perspective, there was obviously extreme haste in desiring to immediately identify the cause, so as to prevent damage to the...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights on business. Staff not welcoming at all, rather unfriendly I would say mainly, apart from the bar guys, who were doing a good job. Room was disappointing from a 4 star hotel. Food was good and tasty at the bistro - haven't tried the other restaurant, seemed too posh for my style. All in all,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandor P
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Sandor P, Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We're certainly confused at your perspective of our brigade, as Balbirnie is certainly renowned for our warmth of welcome of Scottish hospitality. Dear Readers, our gratitude to everyone who has made a positive online contribution. We mention in passing that we are recipients of TripAdvisor Certificates of...

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We spent two nights here mid-week in September at a good price. Beautiful, traditional old mansion with tasteful decoration and very helpful staff. Good choice of food for breakfast in the Orangery at tables with starched white tablecloths. Evening food in Bistro was also good and very convenient. Although there was an ongoing wedding celebration, our room was quiet. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
Nicholas R, Owner at Balbirnie House, responded to this review

Hello Anne R, Many thanks for your kindness, and the denoting of a 5 Star review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that your visit was such a success. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated. Thank you as well for mentioning the truly amazing Fife coastal path. Anne, a wee surprise- this...

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markinch
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
4.3 km away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
500 reviews
23.4 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 19 in St Andrews
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#8 of 19 in St Andrews
59 reviews
11.4 km away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
454 reviews
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balbirnie House is a quite unique multi-award winning country house hotel which combines understated luxury with superb service and outstanding value. Widely acknowledged as one of the finest of the privately owned small luxury hotels in Scotland, Balbirnie offers a wonderful experience, whatever the occasion of your visit. Fine food, lovely surroundings and above all a real sense of friendly Scottish hospitality combine to create quite a unique setting for today’s house guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balbirnie House

Address: Balbirnie Park, Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Glenrothes > Markinch
Price Range: ₹ 9,097 - ₹ 17,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balbirnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balbirnie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balbirnie House Hotel Markinch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balbirnie House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Durham, United Kingdom

I personally feel your comments made to a local lady celebrating her 35th wedding anniversary were horrible!

I fully support dawn t on this and feel your response is condescending in the truest sense of the word, you appear to show an attitude of patronizing superiority when you state, " Balbirnie's Snr Manager in charge of Guest Services, has already gone a country mile to do everything possible to exceed what any logically thinking guest would consider as truly wonderful service"

How dare you? this part of your statement, "logically thinking guest" is an insult to dawn t and your lifeline in your chosen career, hospitality - GUEST SATISFACTION! What gives you the right to be this demeaning and make such an arrogant statement ?

When you book the Orangery at 8-00pm you expect the Orangery at 8-00pm and not pathetic excuses on one's special night saying you were busy. As dawn t specifically points out, you weren't busy/fully booked when she arranged their anniversary event.

Is it the fact dawn t is simply a local lass spending what could be classed as an inconsiderable amount of money in your establishment in comparison to the larger parties, that she is relegated to second/third class service whilst the larger groups receive a better class of service, I hesitate to use the words first class as it doesn't apply unless every guest is satisfied and, as this event experienced by dawn t shows, that was not the case.

This response is purely my personal opinion at the way you have handled, or mishandled this complaint. I hope you do host dawn t again, should she choose to visit, and get it right next time.

Lastly, ponder this, most people get married once. But after that they celebrate that event annually, perhaps you need to consider this as a more important, and consistent, alternative revenue stream than you currently seem to.

over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Balbirnie House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe the 3rd floor has recently been refurbished but room 208 was special.”
 of 5 bubbles leyannec, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 203 the Pearl Suite which is very spacious and has amazing views across the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles 222catherine20162016, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are beautiful its so hard to choose, 304 is gorgeous but equally we have stayed in 208 and it is just as beautiful! x”
 of 5 bubbles caddiehetherington, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator, therefore a ground floor room would be best advised for anyone with mobility issues, or heavy luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles glasg0wgirl12, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are well spaced out, so should be fine and quiet enough in any one”
 of 5 bubbles katyg396, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay