We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Severin Sea Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Severin Sea Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This stay was lovely! Was really sad to leave :( the resort itself is gorgeous and the setting could not be more perfect. Room was perfect as was the pool area. Our food the entire stay was superb, lots of choice and the Imani Dhow was a brilliant end to our stay. Best part was the staff and team here,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dante H
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dante, It was a pleasure for us to host you during your stay in Mombasa. Thanks a lot for your positive comments about our Severin Sea Lodge. If you are leaving happy we are happy as well! We are looking forward to welcoming you again with a biiiiggg “Jambo” in our hotel! Next time, please also visit our Severin...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to stay at Severin Sea Lodge in two parts for a wedding. Overall, we found the setting fantastic, the staff hospitable and the activities top-notch. The beach is good for a wander, but you are pretty much absolutely bombarded with beach sellers as soon as you leave the hotel! The wedding itself was extremely well hosted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kman-islands
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kman-islands, Thanks a lot for your positive comments about our Severin Sea Lodge and the organization of your friend’s wedding. We will also pass your valuable comments to our colleagues in the several departments to improve our service and standards. The Severin Team is looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel! Karibu – Best regards James Boho...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just came back from spending 8 days at the Severin hotel. Before booking this hotel I perused through the many reviews to make sure that I was not wasting my time and money. I found out that many of the guests who have left a review were generally satisfied with the various facilities offered by the hotel. the 2...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank swahibah
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Swahibah, We are very pleased to receive your positive review about our Severin Sea Lodge and are happy that you and your family were enjoying your stay with us. Thanks for the comments regarding the restaurant bill. Though we are sure this was a mistake we would like to apologize for this inconvenience and will address this to our...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent 5 days at this hotel.....Rooms a bit dated but the food was good....I wasn't keen on buffet food so the staff allowed me to order on the menu which turned out very good food....Staff lovely ....The swing bar would be good with a thatched roof and comfortable chairs.....The quiet pool needs a swim up bar .....Value for money exceptional

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldenboyfive
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Goldenboyfive, Thanks for choosing our Severin Sea Lodge for your stay in Mombasa. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. Next time please choose our Comfort Class rooms if you like a more luxurious stay. Thank you for your suggestions regarding our bar, which are highly appreciated. We would be happy to welcome you again...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There is a construction site making noise inside the hotel. There was not hot water, just lukewarm. The WiFi was working at random, only a few minutes per day. The food was consistently from lowest quality. The staff was very friendly with the exception of the lady at the reception (Edna) unfortunately, who was tyrannizing every guest

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Daniel G, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Severin Sea Lodge. Regarding you stay with us we found out that you booked a Comfort Class room with booking.com. As soon as you informed us that you did not like the room in the mainbuilding (there is no construction site inside the hotel), you were...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in mid DEC. I must say the rates were good and the staff very warm ,helpful and friendly . They however need to work on their food. I rem checking their lunch buffet once..ugali,rice,skuma ,beef and something else. They also had a day with a set menu(boring).Otherwise our stay was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngina84
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ngina84, Thanks a lot for staying with us. Please note that most of our guests are booked on halfboard with various theme buffets or set menus in the evenings. For lunch we are offering just a light buffet or various menus in our Safari Bistro, from fresh Pizza and Pasta to delicious seafood. Moreover in the evenings guests can...

Naples, Italy
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Hotel above the Kenyan stardards, good overall experience. Rooms clean and spacious, food in the avarege and services standard. Will suggest it for a holiday in a real relaxing holiday not far from the city center

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paolofrally1980
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paolofrally1980, Thanks a lot for choosing Severin Sea Lodge for your stay in Mombasa. We are happy that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. If there is anything we could improve to give us a five star ranking, kindly let us know. Sunny greetings from Bamburi Beach Jospeh Ndunda Operations Manager

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after traveling down through Kenya from Ethiopia. warm welcome. nice 2 bed room but really looking their age now as reed roofed lodges. no hot water to speak of but it's been so hot that a cool shower was welcomed! ! Very quiet in the evenings as most of the Germans and their wives headed to their beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjL3372KK
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Severin Sea Lodge during you recent visit in Mombasa. We value all your comments and I would like to assure you that all issues you raised are being addressed. Please note that we as a hotel do not allow prostitution. Some of the guests are accompanied by their girlfriend...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 23 November 2016

It was an amazing time spent at the facility. From checking in to departure, my family enjoyed every bit of it. The staff demonstrated a very high degree of etiquette that was very welcoming. Taking a stroll along the well secured beach-line after a well prepared breakfast was amazing. Keep up the good job. Won't hesitate coming back. Gerald M.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gkariu
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Jambo dear Gkari, Thanks a lot for your amazing review about our Severin Sea Lodge. We will pass your comments to our colleagues and are looking forward to welcoming again in our hotel. James Owiti Resident Manager

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 November 2016

The hotel lawns are beautiful and and the staff are very friendly. The buffet break fast have great variety and the meals well prepared. There are the cottage rooms which I didn't care much for but they have a new wing with very modern rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kat n
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kat n, Thanks a lot for writing this posivite review on our Severin Sea Lodge here on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be happy to welcome you again soon! Best regards James Boho Guest Relations Manager

500 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (459)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.3 km away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
331 reviews
0.5 km away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
116 reviews
0.5 km away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 57 in Mombasa
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#17 of 57 in Mombasa
375 reviews
6.0 km away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 57 in Mombasa
2,825 reviews
0.5 km away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range: ₹ 4,982 - ₹ 22,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Severin Sea Lodge staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Severin Sea Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Opt for a comfort room. We got one upstairs in one of the huts.”
 of 5 bubbles kman-islands, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Possibly away from the construction site”
 of 5 bubbles danielgS4764RA, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose cottages. They have a great sea view. They are also quiet”
 of 5 bubbles briem35, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the sea were wonderful to me. The smell of the sea is refreshing.”
 of 5 bubbles DestinySafaris, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles travelbeehappy, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay