We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Raheen Woods Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Raheen Woods Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Raheen Woods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 364: English reviews
Sligo
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Poor options for breakfast i.e. no yoghurts, muesli, fruit. Your toaster system for making toast is not very effective, long queues when busy. Hot food was just warm, tea the same. Seemed to be understaffed in restaurant for breakfast as when items of food etc ran out they weren't efficiently replaced. Room was too warm but that was probably our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank martinB4177GS
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear martinB4177GS, Thank you for your recent review and I would like to take this opportunity to just clarify a few items. Our breakfast buffet does include muesli, yoghurt and fresh fruit so I'm unsure as to their whereabouts when you had breakfast that morning but assure you they are available. In regards to the toaster, most hotel restaurants in...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty comfortable hotel with nice food and friendly staff. I didn't use the pool/leisure facilities but others have said that they're great; however I'd have to take a point away for the very old (and small) tv in the room, and the room heating was substandard for the time of year. Other than those two problems (which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonanMcGrath79
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RonanMcGrath79, Thank you for taking time out to review Raheen Woods Hotel as your input alerts us to positive and negative feedback and I'm glad to see that your own feedback was mostly positive. In relation to the heating in your room, we unfortunately had some issues with our heating system however investment has now already gone into rectifying...

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

recently stayed here for the second time this year for a weekend away with friends. could not say enough good things about the staff...they are really what makes the place feel so homely. food is great and hotel rooms are nice and clean. will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salcol84
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear salcol84, Thank you for your review of Raheen Woods Hotel and delighted to hear that we are hitting the mark with repeat visits! Look forward to seeing you back in 2015. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Dublin
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Recently stayed in Raheen Woods Hotel on a Special Offer - we were given a lovely friendly Irish welcome at check in and every staff member we interacted with were lovely and friendly and super efficient. All the public areas were spotless and very well maintained. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast but a lot of the fruit was tinned....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maggiemayhoward
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear datura1, Thank you for your recent contribution to Tripadvisor and we're delighted you had an enjoyable but short visit. Hope you return again sometime. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 22 October 2014

only spent 1 night at this hotel but really enjoyed it. the room was basic but very clean. we had dinner in the bar - fantastic homemade burger and very friendly barman. we arrived quite late and popped into the lounge for a night cap. we ended up having 2 drinks and were even given food even though we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank datura1
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear datura1.....love your lovely review!! Thank you and hope you return again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Brian Bourke

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Arrived back at hotel 2am for a nitecap Barman said go to the residence lounge...it was locked. Returned again to Bar only to be misled a second time. As reception was unattended I phoned from my room to be told that the Residents lounge would not be opened for another 10 Min. (2.30am) I gave up. No drinking water in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Matthewgerr
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Booked a night away for me and hubbie. Receptionist very friendly and helpful on arrival. Our room was clean and nocely decorated. Bed was soo uncomfortable, the mattress seemwd to sink painfully in the middle not what I would expect from a four star. Duvet cover was torn too. Tv located in odd position and tv channels were less then...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank kokelly
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kokelly, Thank you for your review and hope you consider returning again someday. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

london
Reviewed 27 September 2014

The hotel is well located and easy to find, on arrival we were expected and the check in process was swift, very efficient and friendly. The room was well furnished and very comfortable and we enjoyed a balcony view over " The fields of Athenry ". We were on an over 55 package which included breakfast and dinner - the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mshawLondon
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mshawLondon, Thank you for your recent review of our property and we're delighted obviously that you had such a good experience. Hope you come back sometime and please spread the word! Kind regards, Brian Bourke

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Passed by Athenry many times so first time time to stay and explore this interesting town. The hotel was a bit hard to find and once again I wish all hotels etc would give out their sat nav co-ordinates in their advertisements. The hotel and staff were top drawer and made our stay most enjoyable. The walk around the historical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property and also for choosing to stay with us. Athenry is a lovely town with some of the best medieval preservation in the country. Athenry Castle, The Priory and preserved battlements and walls of the town conjure up imagery of a Dan Brown novel and...

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2014

We ended up at Raheen Woods completely by accident but soooo glad that we did. We had previously booked a B&B (via email from Toronto) for the Athenry area who claimed to accept B&B Ireland vouchers. When we arrived to the B&B they then said that they had plenty of availability however they did not have us previously booked nor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tara r
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tara r, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return again. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
22.1 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,721 reviews
26.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,555 reviews
36.1 km away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ballinasloe
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
15.2 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
1,746 reviews
15.9 km away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Price Range: ₹ 6,296 - ₹ 9,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Raheen Woods Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Raheen Woods Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check Hairdryers when you arrive!”
 of 5 bubbles cathyamodio, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms are all very good”
 of 5 bubbles meggy29, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“Room105 has a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles bredag658, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw were very good.”
 of 5 bubbles barbarbar63, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Book a suite it was magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles 851fergalm, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay