We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Protea HotelsUS$ 149*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 170*
US$ 149*
Great Deal
US$ 170*
US$ 170*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a good base in Durbanville then this hotel does the job well. The rooms are not luxurious but have all the available facilities and are comfortable. The food menu is good and the outside area is nice to sit out in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Martin P, Thank you for your kind review, we are elated that you enjoyed your visit to us! We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was easy to find and close to a facility we had to visit. The room was clean but very small. My daughter and I had to unpack clothes into the kitchen cupboards because the cupboard was so small. Although it had a small kitchen, strangely there were no crockery or cutlery. We had to request a 2nd bath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay4051
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Jay4051, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do apologies for the inconvenience you received during your stay with us, we have highlighted your review to our Management TEAM in the efforts to ensure this does not materialize again. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Overall I'd say staying here is a pleasant experience, I stay in many hotels on my travels and this is certainly not the worst. Rooms are basically like holiday apartments, spacious and clean. Water pressure is diabolical so don't expect a powerful shower each morning to snap you back into life. Food generally has been great apart of the lamb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal H
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Mal H, Thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the rooms. We have taken your feedback seriously and will immediately action in order to ensure this does not happen again. We always pledge to provide the finest service to all who walk through our doors. Thank you...

Reviewed 2 October 2016

I participate in at least one or two functions per month all over the country BUT this was the poorest performance I ever experience from a Hotel. We were invited for an birthday function of a very special friend om Saturday 1 Oct. 2016. The service was bad!! The friends who organize it has a program with good taste. Despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelvespa
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Travelvespa, Thank you for your constructive feedback, we do appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. You can be assured that we will take all precautions to ensure this does not happen again. As you can see from other post on TripAdvisor, this was a once off shortcoming and we do apologies for the inconvenience....

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Accommodation was very good and food also excellent. People are friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay and will do so again and again. Northern suburbs are well located and easily accessible from main roads and airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HJS60
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear HJS60, Thank you for your fantastic review! we are elated that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind words to the TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Held a 3 day workshop last week and am very happy with services provided. conference facilities were great. The hotel was flexible to accommodate service (tea an lunch) on short notices based on our work programme. Hotel also went out of their way to accomodate delegates. their shuttle service is great and convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank achirowodza
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Achirowodza, Thank you for your kind review, we will be sure to pass on you kind message to the TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I have placed my international and local guests at this hotel for years. The location is excellent with a great view of the city and Table Mountain, especially at night. They have a great restaurant on the property and offer a shuttle service to the nearby malls and the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VGV001
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear VGV001, Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you feel well assured that we will look after your international GUESTS! Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

From the outset we were impressed with Protea Hotel Durbanville. It's well situated and in close proximity to Cape Town Int Airport. Although our view was onto the parking lot of the hotel, the feathered visitors, including Sparrows, BulBul and Cape White eyes made more than up, as they came to feed on our small verandah every day. The personnel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swan1965
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Swan1965 Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the wildlife that came to visit. We will pass on your kind words to the rest of the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel by Marriott Durbanville in the near future. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit here. Both occasions we were served on a very professional way. The lounge staff always goes beyond expectations and they assist us with a warm smile. My favorite hotel when it comes to business meeting. They provide friendly atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Balazs H
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear Balazs, Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again! Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The hotel is set away from the hustle and bustle of the city, set amidst the vineyards it is peaceful. The rooms are very modern and spacious, service is great and really left a lasting impression. Have stayed at this hotel a number of times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djbonez11
PHDhotel, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville, responded to this review

Dear djbonez11, Thank you for your review, we will pass on your kind words to the rest of the TEAM. Kind Regards Albert Smit General Manager

281 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (202)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (32)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durbanville
17.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
23.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
4.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
945 reviews
13.9 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
20.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst the vineyards of the Durbanville Wine Route, Protea Hotel Durbanville is the ideal venue for business trips, conferences, training and team building, or simply a relaxed base from which to explore the region. The hotel boasts Standard and Deluxe rooms offering extra-length king size beds, en-suite bathroom with shower and bath, executive desk with multiple electrical points, air conditioning, tea/coffee facilities, LCD flat screen TV with USB port and mini bar fridges. You are spoilt for choice as Protea Hotel Durbanville also offers one or two-bedroom apartments ideal for families, long stays or sharing business people. The apartments offer a kitchenette, luxurious lounge and private en-suite bathroom with double shower. For your convenience, the hotel also offers 11-hour room service and a complimentary shuttle service to the main office parks and shopping centres in the area. Protea Hotel Durbanville’s conference facilities are custom built to provide you with a professional and seamless event experience, with a touch of the extraordinary. Complimentary Wi-Fi broadband internet access is available throughout the hotel and conference venues while the 24-hour business alcove includes PC access and printing facilities. Add into the mix a funky pool terrace area serving the best wood-fired pizzas around, a relaxed restaurant and a warm and vibey bar lounge, perfect for after work or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is surrounded by D’Aria Wine Estate’s award-winning vineyards and the Durbanville wine route offers an excellent choice of restaurants and wine tasting venues. Adjacent to the Magic Forest walking and mountain bike trail, the hotel is perfect for the energetic types. The area is a shopping Mecca boasting the renowned Tyger Valley and Willowbridge Shopping Centres close by. If it’s nightlife you are after, the buzzing Tyger Valley Waterfront and Edward Street will keep you entertained with cocktails and music. For those travelling with the family, there are many attractions to keep everyone busy. Protea Hotel Durbanville – Value Beyond Expectation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville

Address: Vineyards Office Estate 99 Jip de Jager Drive | Tyger Valley, Durbanville 7530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Durbanville
Price Range: ₹ 6,852 - ₹ 10,666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Cape Town Durbanville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The double storey 2 bedrooms unit is awesome.”
Tripadviser2903, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Far from hotel cleaning staff and check the shower for leaks”
charlessO9621TJ, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“homely feel, like cluster living but your own space”
karenvanniekerk777, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room with a patio area is quite pleasant”
, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“better to call or email to make your requests for extras”
lilly959, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Protea Hotels
US$ 149* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 170
Orbitz.comUS$ 170
PricelineUS$ 149
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates