We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Donauhof

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Donauhof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The hotel staff is very kind, helpful and speak good english. Great breakfast, nice remodeled rooms - quiet and cozy. I woudl stay there again for sure. They have a lot of bikes to rent, which is nice to do by the Danube (Donau). By night, some good options in the neiboughood (to have dinner) as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GGEUA
Eveline P, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Donauhof, responded to this review
Google Translation

Herzlichen DANK für die gute Bewertung - aber es macht auch Spaß nette Gäste zu bedienen. Ganz nach dem Motto...

San Francisco
Reviewed 17 September 2016

The hard-working staff members were pleasant and efficient. The room we had was quite comfortable, especially the beds; the beds had a massager built in, but they were quite comfy even without. The room was also capable of being well-lighted or soft-lighted. The bathroom was particularly spacious and convenient to use. Breakfast was quite nice and good quality. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelin_tommy
Eveline P, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Donauhof, responded to this review
Google Translation

HERZ-lichen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung. Schön dass Sie sich die Zeit dafür genommen haben. Es zaubert uns ein Lächeln...

La Canada Flintridge, California
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We had a lunch and wine tasting as part of our day tour. The lunch was in a local hotel close to the Melk Abbey. The food was a traditional Austrian meal with soup, a beef or fish dish and dessert. The wine was an assortment of five white wines and they were very nice. If you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megan m
Eveline P, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Donauhof, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the good responce and thank you that you share your positive view of our Restaurant and the good Food with other guests. Looking forward to welcome you again in our DONAUHOF!

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Hotel Donauhof Pichler in Emmersdorf was terrible. The room was noisy, smelly (smell of fried onions and cigarettes), and HOT. The hotel staff were unpleasant, and lied to us when they came to the room that they don't smell anything, and that hotels in Austria don't have air conditioning. We also had Half Board option, and found that the the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabidabi
Eveline P, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Donauhof, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Sabidabi! Too bad you do not have felt comfortable at our hotel. Too bad that you have the feeling that it smells of cigarettes, although all our rooms are Non smoking. Unfortunately, this afternoon a farmer's barn emptied and this scent was in the air, but because we are certainly not to blame. We also have completely new...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We had an unfortunate stay at this hotel. When we arrived we were put in a standard room with a bathroom that had not been cleaned. It had hair all over the floor and dirty towels in bathtub. We politely asked for another room but was instead asked to wait for 15 minutes while they went to clean the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seantrav732
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Nice family-owned hotel. I got a big, nice room which satisfied everything I could ask for. Comfortable bed. I slept really well. WLAN free. The hotel also offers a pleasant restaurant. As a business traveller, after a long day, I arrived late, around 9 pm. I had to rush my order for dinner as the kitchen closed, and at 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcel M
Eveline P, Front Office at Hotel Donauhof, responded to this review

Dear Marcel, we thank you for your kind words and are glad to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel! We are sorry for the inconvenience, but please, even if you arrive late in the evening, don't hurry and enjoy your meal! Hoping to see you again soon Julia Schierhuber, Reception desk

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Just 5 minutes drive from famous Melk you find Emmersdorf in the world famous Wachau. Emmersdorf is not crowded like Spitz and/or Duernstein. We had a wonderful and modern "Komfort" room. It is worth to pay the small difference, especially for the massage-beds. Very nice and helpful staff Great breakfast. Will come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heinz N
Plumley
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

We were taken to the Hotel by Viking Cruises for our lunch. The food was lovely served very quickly to 200 people by friendly staff It's typical Austrian in style but really clean and nice I would definitely recommend either a meal or a stay The views are particularly impressive

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RClegg
Eveline P, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Donauhof, responded to this review

Dear RC ! Thank you for the great review! Nice that you have taken this time for some kind words. Even if all seats are taken at one time we do our best to please you and we thank you for your appreciation. Hoping to see you again at our hotel Donauhof. Please call us for your reservation at: 0043...

Reviewed 28 July 2015

Our family stayed at Hotel Donauhof in June, 2015 while traveling around in Eastern Europe. This was the most comfortable and friendly hotel stay we experienced. Luxurious rooms and modern bathrooms. Friendly staff. We enjoyed a great dinner (plenty of food) and good-start-to-the-day breakfast. It was all completely perfect! We recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inger C
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

We had trouble with our booking agency but we got help sorting it out. The modern room was great with a massage bed which was in great need after a long day on the bicycle. The dinner and breakfast was delicious, the staff was very friendly and helpful even when they struggled with English. Great place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henrik V
Eveline P, Reception Desk at Hotel Donauhof, responded to this review

Dear Henrik, Thank you for the nice review! We appreciate that you have taken this time for some kind words that represent your experience. We are glad that to hear that you had a pleasant sleep after a long day in the saddle and also enjoyed the meals. We always give our best to let our guests enjoy their stay...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emmersdorf
1.9 km away
Hotel Donauhof - Pichler Wachau
0.1 km away
Hotel Zum Schwarzen Baren
Hotel Zum Schwarzen Baren
#3 of 4 in Emmersdorf
59 reviews
25.9 km away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 9 in Krems an der Donau
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Wachau
Hotel Wachau
#2 of 6 in Melk
57 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
1.7 km away
Hotel Stadt Melk
Hotel Stadt Melk
#3 of 6 in Melk
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the West of the UNESCO World Heritage Site Wachau, this family-run hotel offers the ideal base to explore the region. Boasting an impressive view of the Danube, the hotel features a sunny garden and terrace. Taste national specialties and top wines in the restaurant or enjoy breakfast in the comfort of your room. The owner's wine tavern, only 2 km from the hotel, is always worth a visit. Business travelers can combine work with pleasure and explore the area's numerous attractions. For children, the hotel maintains a fun children's playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Donauhof

Address: Emmersdorf an der Donau 40 | Wachau, Emmersdorf 3644, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Emmersdorf
Price Range: ₹ 7,112 - ₹ 11,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Donauhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Donauhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Donauhof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles GGEUA, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“take a Komfort room”
 of 5 bubbles 835heinzn, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We were offered a new room with massage beds and loved it.”
 of 5 bubbles lugojrdn, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Speak to Herr oder Frau Pichler, or their wonderful assistant Barbara, who will look after you I am certain. The local Burgermeister is known to frequent this hotel as well, with daily coffee breaks.”
 of 5 bubbles CoolGreenPlanet, 9 Sep 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay