We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

0.6 km from Arnside centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 470: English reviews
Start your review of Ye Olde Fighting Cocks
 Click to rate
Lauder, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very friendly family run hotel. Tony very helpful and we enjoyed our stay , we had a lovely room overlooking the railway bridge over the estuary. Good choice for bar meals and good portions - breakfast also very good. Will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
Great Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. The accomodation was clean and well maintained. Our host Tony was a real gentleman and couldn't do enough for us, including supplying us with a Lemsip. Food was delicious with very generous portions. Arnside is a delightful place. We will definitely stop by again. Thank you for your hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this hotel Saturday 18th February for a short break with my wife as a birthday treat from my children. Found hotel very easily and check in was quick & easy, shown to our room (silver dale) which was more than adequate for our needs. Had a few drinks & a lovely meal in the viaduct restaurant in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian T
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely Place & we enjoyed our stay. Thought the meals in the restaurant were beautiful (Gammon & Chips & Sirloin Steak & Chips) we would definitely go back. Could have had a better breakfast as it came across a very small portion for a Full English & was a little disappointed by this but other than that found the stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nadinew1992
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, id read reviews and was really looking forward to staying. Arrived to a room which wasn't cleaned to a high standard at all, mattress filthy. I have nothing positive to say about the food, I had the fish, inedible! The breakfast in the morning wasn't much better, sausage was a very poor quality cheap option and was...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Kate N
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for being so sad and leaving a fake review after watching our hotel win C4's 4 in bed repeat filmed over years ago shown yesterday YOU, YOUR REVIEW AND YOUR IP ADDRESS HAVE NOW BEEN REPORTED TO BOTH TRIP ADVISOR AND THE LOCAL POLICE.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't stay here. The hosts are disgusting inside and out. The hotel is dirty and overrated. Never ever stay here. Worst hotel ever! If you stray here you will be incredibly disappointed. I cannot stress enough how awful this hotel is. The host and hostess are absolutely vile.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for being so sad and leaving a fake review after watching our hotel win C4's 4 in bed repeat filmed over 5 years ago shown yesterday YOU, YOUR REVIEW AND YOUR IP ADDRESS HAVE NOW BEEN REPORTED TO BOTH TRIP ADVISOR, CHANEL 4 AND KJENDAL POLICE.

Blackpool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Ye Olde Fighting Cocks and this time we sampled a Deluxe Room. We had e-mailed in advance and had asked for a room at ground floor level. On arrival, we were told that there were no ground floor rooms in the main building, but had been allocated a room on the first floor which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan H
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I have a staff meeting in the morning and will show them your comment's. We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting Cocks Arnside

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Crackin Christmas dinner , huge portions and all home made, no frills no fuss and and everyone sat together gave a great community feel and really helped us get to know some locals. Amazing value for what we got, couldn't even take a bite from the mince pies after we'd been fed so well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting Cocks Arnside

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes olde fighting cocks is a great place for a get away ,the facilities are very good ,the rooms have everything you need to a great standard, The food is very good ,with plenty of choice, And all the staff were met was very friendly and helpful especially Andrew who is a credit to the establishment .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiganshunter
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I have a staff meeting in the morning and will show them your comment's. The kitchen upgrade has enabled us the further improve our food We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely one night stay. Initially slightly disappointed that we had a side estuary view rather than a room at the front, but this was more to do with the details given on Booking.com at the time of booking, in no way any blame of the hotel and despite the less spectacular view from the room we had, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
TONY K, Owner at Ye Olde Fighting Cocks, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, I have a staff meeting in the morning and will show them your comment's. I am pleased you enjoyed our lovely breakfast We look forward to seeing you again soon To keep up to date with special offers and Music Nights follow us on face book which is Fighting Cocks Arnside

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnside
4.0 km away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
877 reviews
4.6 km away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
159 reviews
8.2 km away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
172 reviews
9.1 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
439 reviews
7.0 km away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ye Olde Fighting Cocks

Address: The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Arnside
Price Range: ₹ 4,078 - ₹ 7,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Fighting Cocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks Hotel Arnside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde Fighting Cocks staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Fighting Cocks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The deluxe rooms are worth paying a little bit extra.”
 of 5 bubbles BlackpoolTrevor, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with estuary veiw”
 of 5 bubbles Wiganshunter, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a full on view of the Estuary ensure you check carefully when booking as some rooms are side estuary views.”
 of 5 bubbles mandyb787, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Estuary room”
 of 5 bubbles Z2563VXlisaf, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the converted barn are easy access !!”
 of 5 bubbles Evisonit, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5