We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aqua Wellness Resort

TripAdvisorUS$ 195*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$ 195*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Aqua Wellness Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aqua Wellness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 539: English reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Stayed here on a group vacation -- though the location is out of the way and rustic, the rooms and dining are modern and luxurious, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend, especially for nature and outdoor sport enthusiasts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

We visited Aqua with a group of friends from home and had an all around five star experience. The location was stunning - the pictures give you a sense of what you'll see but it's even better in person. The tree houses blend well with nature while also having some of the modern luxuries we all love (AC, comfy beds,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apeterson2
Sharon B, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear APeterson2, I'm so glad to hear about all your adventures from what sounds like a great stay at Aqua -- you did everything from climb the rugged trail up to the top of "Pie de Gigante," and go surfing at nearby beaches, to, best of all, swimming at night when our bay was literally lit up with bioluminescent algae!...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 January 2016

It has always been a dream of mine to swim with bioluminescent algae, and I did it unexpectedly right on the beach here at Aqua. So cool. I loved the view from our room, and there was great swimming, kayaking, and paddleboarding. I think people complaining about the food are melodramatic—I had good meals every time I ate there, plus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ethan S
New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Stayed here with a group of friends! Had so much fun on the gorgeous white sand beach, playing with the free kayaks and paddleboards, and enjoying sunset swims in the lovely cove. Fantastic hiking and day trips were coordinated by resort staff, and we enjoyed good meals at the restaurant. Would 100% stay here again for the fantastic weather and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicky g
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Incredible hikes, bioluminescent algae at night. Delicious but not overpriced food. Amazing drinks (the macua and the banana pina colada are favorites). Adorable and friendly howler monkeys. excellent service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chirumurage
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Staying at this resort brought me a whole new lease on life. It lifted me out of a deep deep depression and made me want to live again. What a great resort. The food was some of the best I have had in all of Nicaragua. The water did not make me sick. I saw several monkeys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel J
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

I visited the Aqua Nicaragua resort with a group of friends and found it to be a great experience. The resort staff was extraordinarily friendly and respectful, and went the extra mile to make us feel welcomed, safe, and adventurous. The nature was incredible, and we took advantage of the beautiful hike and bioluminescent waters. Ultimately, the resort exceeded my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wesley R
Stockholm County, Sweden
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Aqua for a couple of nights to attend a wedding. The resort is very beautifully built with treehouses close to nature. We loved the atmosphere at Aqua and it was amazing having monkeys and parrots in the trees just outside our door. Other good things were the yoga and the instructors were really professional. The beach is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ninaholma
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ninaholma, I'm glad to hear that you found Aqua beautiful, and that you enjoyed being so close to the monkeys and parrots in the trees. It's also nice to hear you liked our yoga classes. and the beach. I am so sorry, however, that you experienced "bad service" in the restaurant and that the food was under par. Thank...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Restaurant serves absolutely dreadful food. We went hungry a few times as it was so poor you couldn't even force feed it to yourself We walked to Gigante most days for something edible The restaurant manager and chef need to be replaced here asap Also, the hotel adds loads of random charges. See all below reviews who all experienced the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will C
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Will C, Thank you for your candid review of Aqua, as negative as it was. We appreciate hearing about experiences that will make us work harder to improve things at Aqua. Please know that we hear you, and that we are doing everything we can to improve the food and the service. FYI: We charge a "discretionary" 10% service/resort...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

First of all this place is beautiful. We lived in a tree house close to the reception and it was very cozy. The rooms are very nicely built with a lot of wood. The surrounding nature is beautiful and you get very close to the nature. We saw several howler monkeys just a few meters from our room! The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix S
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at Aqua Wellness Resort, responded to this review

Dear Felix, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your Tree House room at Aqua, as well as the closeness to nature, the beautiful beach and the availability of water-sports equipment at no extra cost. What a shame, however, that you found the restaurant sub-par in service and food. We appreciate your frankness about this matter, and we will do...

923 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (666)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (123)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (219)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Forest View Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Forest View Treehouse (21)
Viewed
Ocean View Luxury Suite with Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
08/05/2017 09/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Redonda
14.7 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.4 km away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
362 reviews
17.2 km away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
413 reviews
22.6 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
25.2 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aqua is a luxurious eco- and wellness resort with a private white-sand beach on Nicaragua's picturesque Emerald Coast. Guest accommodations are set in beautifully crafted Tree Houses on a wooded hillside overlooking the ocean. All have decks; some have full kitchens and outdoor plunge pools. Guests enjoy yoga classes, spa treatments and hiking, and water activities including stand-up paddle boarding, snorkeling, kayaking, surfing and fishing. Our guides take guests for excursions to nearby colonial cities, parks and volcanoes. Aqua's open-air bar/lounge and restaurant, with its wood-burning pizza oven and menu of healthy international cuisine made with local ingredients, are directly adjacent to the beach. The lush forest that envelops Aqua is alive with spider and howler monkeys, and a wide variety of colorful tropical birds. Aqua is the perfect spot for a destination wedding, a honeymoon, an active family vacation -- or a serene getaway where you can enjoy nature and one of the most idyllic beaches in Nicaragua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aqua Wellness Resort

Address: 1 Redonda Bay, Playa Redonda, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Playa Redonda
Price Range: ₹ 10,151 - ₹ 21,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Wellness Hotel Playa Gigante
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Aqua Wellness Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breakfast is not free. No A/C in the living room or second bedroom.”
41danied, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have good views and the plunge pool rooms are special.”
nancylD9881TC, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lots of stairs”
BeverlyTheodorakos, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have pools and some dont, so make sure you specify if you want one in your reservation.”
  • Pool in the room
ZeebaLifedotcom, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with sea view, high up, and with a pool attached. more expensive, but worth it!!”
604yairl, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 195* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates