We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde

    Ross Priory Ross Loan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8NL, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (116)
          Room & Suite (24)
          Dining (15)
          Cameron House on Loch Lomond
          5,314 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Alexandria
           
          Oak Tree Inn
          1,348 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
           
          Lodge on Loch Lomond
          2,459 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Luss
           
          Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
          664 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Luss
           
          Overview
          • Excellent80%
          • Very good16%
          • Average2%
          • Poor1%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Non-Smoking Hotel
          Restaurant
          Suites
          Bar/Lounge
          Wheelchair Access
          Business Centre
          Golf Course
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Cameron House on Loch Lomond
          5,314 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Alexandria
           
          Oak Tree Inn
          1,348 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
           
          Lodge on Loch Lomond
          2,459 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Luss
           
          Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
          664 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Luss
           
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          50
          Reviews (140)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 140 reviews

          Reviewed 1 week ago

          I took a friend here for lunch on a rather drab day. A good choice as the lunch and venue is very good. The menu had a nice choice. We opted for home made lentil soup and a platter to share. We sat at the...More

          Thank itchyfeet2014
          Response from Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of StrathclydeResponded 6 days ago

          Hi itchyfeet2014, thanks for your review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the meal, the view and your walk in the gardens. Sounds like a lovely visit. Hope we'll see you back again soon. Kind regards Lesley

          Reviewed 2 weeks ago

          What we liked: +Unique place in a gorgeous setting. The gardens are breath-taking. +Great service. Staff were great. +Good rooms, even accessible ones are good. All of them with killer views. +Delicious dinner. Good breakfast. +Great value for money. What we didn't: -Rooms on first...More

          Thank TravelingMx
          Response from Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of StrathclydeResponded 1 week ago

          Hi TravellingMx from Geneva Thanks for your review. We're really pleased that you and your group enjoyed your stay at Ross Priory and hopefully your visit to Scotland in general. I can see that your ‘what we liked’ list could have gone on forever, so...More

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

          Many years since I have been here. Still a wonderful place to visit. Great to walk by Loch Lomond and through the lovely gardens with rhododendrons and then the more formal gardens. If you want to eat you must book in advance. Unfortunately we didn't.More

          Thank Davidfirving
          Response from Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of StrathclydeResponded 2 weeks ago

          Hi David Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit by the bonnie banks. The gardens are glorious at the moment. What a shame you didn't manage to get anything to eat this time. Please give us a call next time on 01389 830...More

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago

          We had a wonderful celebration buffet lunch on Sunday in gorgeous weather. The food was beautifully prepared and served. The staff , especially Kate , were extremely helpful. Ross Priory proved well suited to a large family event as after the meal the family could...More

          Thank James C
          Response from Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of StrathclydeResponded 3 weeks ago

          Thanks James C, your glowing review is much appreciated and I'll certainly pass on your thanks to Kate and the team. We were delighted that you (well, Mrs C) chose Ross Priory to celebrate this special occasion and so we are delighted that it all...More

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

          Ross Priory is one of those places to go when you want a little down time. It's a very unique and unusual place with a wonderful caring staff. And you get your own little corner of paradise right on the shores of Loch Lomond. It...More

          1  Thank Eric99508
          Response from Lesley B, Guest Relations Manager at Ross Priory, University of StrathclydeResponded 3 weeks ago

          Hi Eric99508 Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality hit exactly the right spot for you. I'll pass your comments on to David, Louise and all the team. We hope we'll see you back if you're in the area again. Kind regards...More

          Cameron House on Loch Lomond
          5,314 reviews
          #1 of 4 hotels in Alexandria
           
          Oak Tree Inn
          1,348 reviews
          #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balmaha
           
          Lodge on Loch Lomond
          2,459 reviews
          #2 of 2 hotels in Luss
           
          Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
          664 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Luss
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Meeting Rooms
          • Banquet Room
          • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
          • Business Centre with Internet Access
          • Conference Facilities
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Golf Course
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$ 70 - US$ 140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Accessible rooms ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Family Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 11
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Scotland >
          • Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park >
          • Alexandria
          • Also Known As
          • Ross Priory, University Of Strathclyde Hotel Alexandria
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (116)
          Room & Suite (24)
          Dining (15)
          Pool & Beach (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (97)
          Bathroom (4)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
          Family and Play Areas (1)
          Nearby
          Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
          1,178 reviews
          6.01 km away
           
          Winnock Hotel
          1,037 reviews
          5.97 km away
           
          Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
          664 reviews
          7.76 km away
           
          Cameron House on Loch Lomond
          5,314 reviews
          5.92 km away
           
          Lodge on Loch Lomond
          2,459 reviews
          7.93 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          The House of Darrach
          264 reviews
          1.94 km away
          The Oak Tree Inn
          577 reviews
          3.31 km away
          Cafe St Mocha
          111 reviews
          3.32 km away
          Martin Wishart at Loch Lomond
          564 reviews
          5.91 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Portnellan Organic Farm
          15 reviews
          1.34 km away
          Conic Hill
          241 reviews
          4.78 km away
          Balloch Castle Country Park
          222 reviews
          5.11 km away
          The Carrick Golf Course
          69 reviews
          5.83 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          MoiraJGlasgow
          I see that accommodation is disabled friendly but do the grounds have benches for those who do not use a wheelchair but have mobility issues?
          28 April 2017|
          Answer
          Response from Lesley B | Property representative |
          Hi MoiraJ Thanks for your message. Yes, there are picnic benches down by the lochshore and also some other benches at the top of the meadow to take in the view. Around the gardens there are occasional benches to rest and... More
          1
          Vote
          Meg050
          Is your restaurant open for morning/ afternoon tea and or lunch to non staying visitors? Thanks Meg
          25 August 2016|
          Answer Show all 4 answers
          Response from Lesley B | Property representative |
          Hi Meg Thanks for your message. Yes, we can take meal bookings from non-residents. As a members' club our bar is open daily to our members without advance booking, but we can also take specific bookings for lunches in one of... More
          0
          Votes
          Donna G
          Is this disabled friendly I. E. Walk in shower or lift or bedroom accessible from ground floor?
          29 July 2016|
          Answer Show all 2 answers
          Response from Lesley B | Property representative |
          Hi Donna G Yes, Ross Priory is disabled friendly. There is a ramp from the courtyard which leads into the lower ground floor corridor, this then leads to a lift which goes up to the main reception level where the bar, lounge... More
          1
          Vote
          Room Tips
          "Room with views over Loch Lomond"
          Read review
          "Something overlooking the front"
          Read review
          "Great all round views on the Loch Lomond side or the surrounding countryside."
          Read review
          "Did not stay overnight; had Afternoon Tea in the Lounge"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing