We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bandarawela Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bandarawela Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bandarawela Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stopped at Bandarawela resthouse on our way from Nuwara Eliya to Tissamaharama for a late lunch. The food was tasty but the service was not so great. The servers were not attentive although it was not a busy time at the restaurant for them. The place was average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lakminiwij
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We have taken your constructive criticism very positively; we shall incorporate your suggestions wherever applicable and will strive to enhance the service offered to our valued guests. Please be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Hotel is nice. Very relaxing and located in prime spot. Maintenance could be better. The bathroom had a leak. The fittings are old. Overall stay was good. Service was good. Rooms are old and may need maintenance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AjithPer
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We regret very much that you had to face some difficulties due to the accommodation facilities in the bathrooms. We surely will consider your sentiments and we have already taken measures to replace them at our earliest. Thank you very much for...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016

The Bandarawela Hotel takes you back in time with its colonial charm. From its polished floors that shine like glass to its large rooms furnished with four poster beds, 'almirah' ( old Dutch wardrobe ) and " Toilet Table "( Dressing table). Bathrooms are fitted with Roll top baths and brass taps from a time long ago - though a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you have liked the colonial atmosphere of the hotel and thank you for the given recommendations. Please be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans again so that we...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This is a hotel that celebrates its past but at the same time, ensures its guests enjoy a comfortable stay. Kudos to its team of decorators for the wonderful Christmas lights that transported me into a magical world. Love the bed, which was very inviting amid the cool mountain air. The free WiFi was reliable too unlike that in some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VinceOCYeoh
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review and for sharing your experience of your holiday at Bandarawela Hotel and we are pleased to learn that you liked the colonial concept of our hotel. We look forward seeing you at Bandarawela Hotel soon again and we expect you would come with your friends and family. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General...

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Had a good stay at BH. Travelled by train and just a 5 min walk to BH. The hotel staff were extremely geared to provide memorable holiday for us. The GM Azmath, Shiran, Piyadasa, Gayan, Gerad were outstanding and are very willing to customize to needs of guests. The colonial ambience is a welcome change from the modern architectural designs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jithendra G
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for your review and for sharing your experience of your holiday at Bandarawela Hotel and we are pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and the colonial style. We look forward seeing you at Bandarawela Hotel soon again and we expect you would come with your friends and family. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General...

Hamburg
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We went for dinner while staying in another hotel in the city. The athmosphere is great: very colonial. The servers wore old colonial uniforms. The service was friendly and fast. I had the pasta (okay) and my friends a burger (tasty but small). The price is totally okay for the food you get. You cannot estimate western standart regarding the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banjo_Alina
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the culinary experience offered at our hotel. We invite you to visit Bandarawela Hotel again and we assure you of superior services at all times. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General Manager, Bandarawela Hotel,...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Well maintained colonial style hotel with some lovely quirky "antique" pieces about the place. Rooms are basic but roomy, very much kept in their original style. Had the buffet here one evening and the food was good, the staff were very helpful and attentive.There is a lovely garden. The small town is very busy but not much to see apart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggieC100
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the colonial experience offered at our hotel. We invite you to visit Bandarawela Hotel again and we assure you of superior services at all times. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General Manager, Bandarawela Hotel,...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The colonial style of this hotel is nice, however, I had to sleep on top of my bed sheets since the mattress was so dirty, which I could see through the thin bed sheets...I covered myself with a towel. They should put in a bit of work in their interior because the hotel would be nice with its lovely colonial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chocaholic2112
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the colonial experience offered at our hotel. Thank you very much for the suggestive comments given on uplifting the room amenities and we understand that we can improve only through our valued guests'...

Kegalle, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Very convenient place to stay if you are travelling around near by. Location vise the hotel is in the middle of the town. We had a different feeling through our stay as our most experiences are with rather modern type Though it is an old building no less of attraction because staff doing best to maintain the beauty and cleanliness....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ravinclifr
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for all the positive endorsements as well as the suggestive comments given on the stay. We invite you to visit Bandarawela Hotel again and we assure you of superior services at all times. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General Manager, Bandarawela...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 20 September 2016

That was a average stay with does not expect with that type of hotel. Blankets are old and not nice in the room. there is no tea or coffee making facility at room. Buffet is with lack of choices and they served colorized tap water while dining. We were at the garden having a chat around 9.30 pm. and security...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Surendra G
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. Thank you very much for the suggestive comments given on uplifting the room amenities including the blankets and we are glad to inform you that the same has been now replaced. Please note that the hotel does not promise tea coffee making...

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandarawela
7.7 km away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
35 reviews
9.2 km away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 10 in Ella
1,228 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
#3 of 5 in Bandarawela
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
209 reviews
11.2 km away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
490 reviews
7.7 km away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Journey to the top of the world across a limitless mountain vista adorned by a green carpet of tea plants. Enter a long lost era through a portal of clouds and feel the kiss of mountain mist on your skin. Breathe the pristine mountain air and let your soul be rejuvenated. Gaze upon the dream scape of Bandarawela. Reside at the Bandarawela Hotel, and live for a while in a land of strawberries, pears and tea.The hotel has 33 colonial rooms with great views of tea plantations. All the bathrooms come with bathtubs and hot water. Each bathroom is supplied with all requirements. The rooms provide TVs with local channels and telephone with international direct dialing. Our rooms are wheel chair accessible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bandarawela Hotel

Address: No. 14, Welimada Road, Bandarawela, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Bandarawela
Price Range: ₹ 3,992 - ₹ 5,628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bandarawela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Bandarawela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bandarawela Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bandarawela Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid upstairs facing the road if you like a dark room.”
 of 5 bubbles PatBB_13, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most about equal, no views from indoors”
 of 5 bubbles ainslieearlk, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wife very bad.needs games sets & games room for kids and teen agers”
 of 5 bubbles ruvinivavuniya, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wi Fi in room was a tad slow , so perhaps best to use your laptop / tablet in the very cosy lounge over a cup of excellent Ceylon Tea.”
 of 5 bubbles christinec372, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you like an old style cottage experience then this is for you”
 of 5 bubbles samona2016, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5