We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Rila

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Rila
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here only one night on my way down to Greece and found the room to be reasonable and the staff very accommodating. I had my bicycle with me and was concerned about leaving it outside over night so they let me lock it up in a storeroom near reception at no extra cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dane W
Velev, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rila, responded to this review

Thank you for the time spent reviewing our hotel, Dane W. We are so glad to hear that your stay at Hotel Rila was pleasant, and most of all we are happy that you scored our staff so highly. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in Hotel Rila, Dupnitsa.

Valencian Country, Spain
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We travelled to Rila monastery and had a stop in the hotel. We choose from the luxury double rooms and had a pleasant surprise when we arrived. The rooms were not that spacy but very modern and really clean and tidy. The best thing in the hotel was the food in the restaurant which is finger licking good :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kostavenev
Velev, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rila, responded to this review

Hello Kostavenev, Thanks for the review. It is always nice to hear that our guests are happy with their stay at Hotel Rila. Most of all I am happy that you found our restaurant food to be "finger licking good". Recently we hired a new chef and the recognition by the customers is the best way to welcome him :)

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

They pretend it's a 5 stars hotel. I wouldn't give 1, it's a shame to call it a hotel. Impolite personnel, awful restaurant, ridiculous spa and disgusting bathrooms. I've met most of their staff and neither of them could even fake a smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flaminia F
Velev, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rila, responded to this review

Greeting, Flamena F, I am deeply sorry for the experience you had staying with us. We will definitely take care to bring the smiles back on the faces of our personnel. As you know we all have those days, which, of course is not an excuse! We have never pretended to be a 5-star hotel, although we most surely want...

Reviewed 11 October 2016

What a wonderful place. Everything was excellent. From the moment we arrived ( genuinely warm welcome) to our departure, we felt valued and spoiled. Thanks for the nice stay at hotel Tila, Dupnitsa! We will be back, again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia V
Velev, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Rila, responded to this review

Hello, Julia V, Thank you for the great review! We are happy to welcome so positive and interesting people like you. Hope to see you again in Dupnitsa asap :)

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We were very pleased with the staff - very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and even there was a plate with fruits. Didn't have time to visit he spa, but it looked good. There's also a free parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Chisinau, Moldova
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Hugely overpriced, have taken three rooms, all in different condition for the same price... Terrible breakfast, I poisoned with stale ham in the morning, i've got sick for all day. Also we have to pay for car safety, because the parking is not a private one. Worst hotel ever i think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViktorMotruk
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Me and other 6 friends stayed overnight at Hotel Rila. It's a very expensive price for the facilities they offer. The whole building is sovietic, also the interiors of the rooms. The bathrooms are terrible. The most important thing is that we had breakfast there and they served us omelet with expired bacon. After that we continued our way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ludmila E
Iasi, Romania
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and we were very pleased with the service, the cleanliness, the comfort. The room had a view to the mountains, and it was really lovely. There were plenty of toiletries, and also a tray for making coffee in the room (no tea, though). The price was good, and it also included breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It is an old hotel, good for the travelers which have no other option. The furniture is old, and also the cleaning of the room is made just from time to time.If you come with a car, be carefull. There is no guarded parking, and some of my friens have problem with the thives.The car was stolen, but they received...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Draghici M
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent there one nigh on our way to Greece, the hotel seems to e refurbished recently, but ot really finished, reception looked messy, some cables and plastic bags hanging behind, old doors on the hallways, etc. To access the elevator you need to climb a few steps - bit difficult when you have luggage, also not wheel chair friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cezara A

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Rila is located at the foot of Rila Mountain, in the town center of Dupnitsa. The location offers guests the opportunity to visit some of the most popular natural and spiritual landmarks in Bulgaria: Rila Monastery, Resilovski and Ruenski Monastery, the great rock phenomenon named Stobski Pyramids, the Seven Rila Lakes, Skakavishki waterfall, Musala peak (2925m), resort Panichishte and Sapareva Banq town build over the remains of an ancient Thracian village, Eneolithic settlement Slatino and many other locations. Locations worth visiting in Dupnica are the town history museum, the arts gallery, the clock tower built in 1782, the churches "St. Nicola", "St. Konstantin and St. Elena", "St Mary", as well as one of the most modern parks in Bulgaria: "Park Rila", opened in 2010. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Rila

Address: Svoboda Sq. 1, Dupnitsa 2600, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Kyustendil Province > Dupnitsa
Price Range: ₹ 1,225 - ₹ 2,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rila 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rila staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“luxury room”
 of 5 bubbles kostavenev, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A room with a view to the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles DianaB280, 28 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Try another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles draghicim, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Try to make sure what you're getting before you arrive. But actually, Hotel Rila isn't bad.”
 of 5 bubbles StuartL49, 12 Nov 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay