We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I decided to have lunch here today. I chose peri peri chicken, chips and coleslaw. It looked like it all been slopped on the plate, a massive pile of inedible foul looking coleslaw, peri peri chicken in alot of it's own juices and some lukewarm chips. Not good at all. My friends fish and fish was edible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia C
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The value for money was exceptional, the staff were very efficient and nothing was too much trouble.It is a very old coaching inn so you have to expect low beams and sloping floors in some bedrooms.. This all adds to its character of the place. The only slight criticism is the lack of a mirror by a plug in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinebF7859PR
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we booked for over New Year the parking was very hit and miss the rooms where constantly cold when we complained the management said they only having heating on from 2pm which due to weather conditions which was minus figures was not sufficient the heating should be on at all times during winter months and the residents can control themselves...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joy C
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is old and a bit tired but this was more than made up for by the friendliness of the staff and the cost for the 3 night - 4 day Christmas break. We had 2 rooms, one for myself, my wife and our adult disabled son and one for my elderly mother. if you want a modern luxurious hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cluff69
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We looked for a venue for my fathers 87th birthday celebration and decide on the crown. Whilst it was more about the occasion than the food etc the meal we had was to a reasonable standard and enjoyed by all. The location was good and staff set tables for our group of 18 in the main restaurant overlooking the High...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davebw0lves
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for a New Year break first impressions were favorable.We were given our key by staff we couldn't understand so after eventually finding our first thing we noticed was that the room was freezing cold.After trying unsuccessfully to turn on the radiator I went to reception to be told we were unable to regulate our own heating as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoff w
ManagementTCI, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed the new years party. The heating goes on as soon as you check in to the room so it might take half an hour or so to heat up and the temperature can be altered by the guests in the room, every room also has an electric heater if needed....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked 3 rooms. The location is excellent, right in the middle of town. The towels were clean and toiletries were provided. There was aTV and yes and coffee making facilities. One double was very small and cramped. The heating and hot water worked in the rooms but they were very tired and scruffy. The blinds didn't work in one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Medoin
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay you are correct the hotel is not a modern branded hotel like e.g travelodge we are traditional coaching inn all the rooms are individually decorated and every room different, if the room was not to your liking if you had mentioned it to reception we would have immediately rectified the problem...

Brackley
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly we were sat in the bar and not the restaurant for our Christmas meal. The main meal didn't come with any vegetables. Lamb was fatty and inedible. When we asked for veg and gravy we were greeted with a frost reception. Turkey and potatoes were frozen. Pigs in blankets were not cooked. When we asked to speak to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadine70Del62
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

All of our christmas day lunches comes with gravy vegetables potatoes all the ingredients are locally sourced and are not frozen products. what in fact happened was you left without paying and a member of staff had to follow you outside to get you to pay for your food and then still did not pay the full amount and were...

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff very friendly. Lovely open fire. Husband had the gammon chips and peas, very good. I had macaroni cheese with a few pieces of tomato on top suggest a smaller portion of macaroni cheese with a few chips peas or small salad and chips would be better, but tasted nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments i will pass them on to the team

Oxford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked for Christmas Day lunch all sounded nice: we arrived and our table was in the bar not in restaurant so we were surrounded by locals drinking and noisy. Starters good, main meals very poor I had lamb and it came with two small potatoes cut in half and gravy, no vegetables so I 'pinched' broccoli from my husbands...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank artistoxford
ManagementTCI, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Our christmas day lunch was served throughout the ground floor the bar is exactly the same decor and set up as the restaurant. If you did like the table you were allocated if you had informed the staff we would have moved to an alternative one. Also if you needed extra vegetables and potatoes more would have been provided free...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
10.4 km away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
533 reviews
16.1 km away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
373 reviews
11.5 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
12.5 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
11.0 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
Crown Restaurant
Crown Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Price Range: ₹ 3,948 - ₹ 6,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley
The Crown Hotel Brackley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid over air conditioning units”
 of 5 bubbles joyc157, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay only had Christmas lunch”
 of 5 bubbles artistoxford, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dont book a room at the front the clock chimes every hour through the night!”
 of 5 bubbles Yarco3, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before accepting it”
 of 5 bubbles LondonJennywren, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Spydog007, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay