We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Dolphin Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dolphin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Bath
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I strongly object to them only running a tab for meals by taking your credit card and keeping it behind the bar. They should either ask for meals and drinks to be paid for with order or take a card swipe. The card processing companies do not allow this and neither should they for very obvious reasons. This is matched...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wonderwelli
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are very sorry if you are offended by our bar policy however it has always been this way. If you would of liked to of paid by card upfront for the meals and the drinks one the members of staff would have been more than happy to help you with...

Bournemouth, England.
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Beer is a lovely fishing village to visit in the winter, when it's generally void of crowds hence by November break. The Dolphin hotel offered a single on suite room for £35, and this room proved to be more than adequate. The room itself was very clean, and the bathroom was well kept with that detergent fresh smell, I couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 504gld
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are sorry for the noise that you heard whilst staying with us but a well loved local had sadly passed away, your stay happened to fall on the the same day as the wake and a lot of the village did come out to give him a good send off...

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015

We found the hotel whilst on holiday, looking for somewhere to eat out. We were not disappointed good food, reasonable prices for a hotel and as for the portions make sure you are hungry before you go! Friendly staff, good service and even if you are just looking for somewhere to have a quiet drink you are made welcome, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissyb943
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

At the end of an evening, as we were leaving the bar, the owner of this establishment was incredibly rude to myself and three friends. He swore at us using words that are not allowed in the content of these reviews.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank larky2015
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. I have had strict words with the owner but as you have said yourself his response was not something you could write on such reviews.

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

enjoyed the bar with darts and pool and some live music very much a locals pub yet the other door takes you to a more modern refurbished restaurant that serves a good quality selection of meals for lunch or dinner, we had the braised beef and scallops and both were really delicious not badly priced and served with a selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aureliazia
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 9 October 2015

Excellent location close to the bay. The hotel itself was immaculately clean with friendly staff and good food. We took our dog who also had a wonderful time! There was free, onsite parking which was really helpful. We can't wait to go back there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mick m
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We went for three nights was so good we stayed an extra night. It is a very good family run hotel and pub. The fish on the menu was fresh that day and I recommend the skate it is a great base to start from. Sidmouth, Axminster all very beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

had a lovely ploughmans lunch and the old man had a crab s-wich both were lovely the only down side to me was the table we sat on was next to the kitchen and you could hear all ! but will return next time we are down that way

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kath s
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

After travelling for many miles and looking for accommodation inland, we headed down to the pretty village of Beer and were very pleased to book 2 nights accommodation at The Dolphin. All the staff we found friendly and helpful, food was excellent, breakfasts were good, and we much appreciated the large parking area which accommodated our car for the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night, rooms are basic but comfortable. My room only had a bath. Quite a lot of noise from down stairs until the kitchen closed. But I enjoyed my stay. Fantastic food and beer and great value, well worth a visit!! The sea and beach is a short walk and also fantastic views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mine-is-a-beer
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
2.6 km away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
591 reviews
6.7 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
298 reviews
11.2 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
161 reviews
0.1 km away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#4 of 9 in Beer
290 reviews
0.0 km away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Price Range: ₹ 6,094 - ₹ 8,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dolphin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away form the bar”
 of 5 bubbles HIls123, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles skibereencork, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerAckroyd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms above the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherH221, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a front room. (only 4 of them though), and you might want to avoid any over the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles 442ElizabethP, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5