We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dolphin Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dolphin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We enjoyed a lovely stay in this family run hotel. Excellent rooms, first class housekeeping, superb food and bars and friendly, helpful staff. No complaints at all and would highly recommend for a stay in this historic fishing village.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripperlady
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

bristol
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Went there with family last Sunday for a carvery and wished we had not bothered. The beef was so tough it was inedible, couldn't even cut it with a knife. Roast potatoes were barely warm and the vegetables not impressive. Twice that week we went to reception to complain to be told on both occasions there was no manager there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skibereencork
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your meals with us and we do en devour to sort out any problems that arise. With meals it is much easier to sort out any problems if you complain at the time, rather than wait a couple of days and then complain. We...

Halesowen
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Nice location, nice decor, BUT, explain the logic of having to pay £2.15 for a half a pint of ale, when a pint cost me £3.90 earlier. The seaside village of Beer is very nice and is well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RonnieVlc
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We had family staying in the area who invited us to come down for the weekend and they found the hotel as it was close to where they were staying. My son asked about rooms and was offered the last 2. He was informed the one over the bar was noisy or the one on the side was quiet, he...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gordon P
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We visited at lunchtime, we were not sufficiently impressed with the menu choice to eat here. However the main bar was very spacious, comfortable and friendly with regulars adding to the atmosphere. We were delighted to see a good pool room and dartboard both with chalk and darts available and spent a wonderful hour or so with those and nine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Always_Sniffin_Grubz
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

swindon
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We ate out here a couple of times while staying in Beer. The food was excellent, not over priced and very enjoyable. We sampled everything from pasta (blue cheese and mushroom linguini - exquisite), roast pork, fish to filled jacket potato. All cooked well. The beer and wine were also good. We first entered through the Public Bar,which is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calnor
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We called for a quick cup of tea whilst touring the area. Dog friendly which always pleases us. It was a nice day so we sat on the patio area. From the outside it looks quite posh, but the price of a pot of tea for 2 was reasonable. When it arrived though, my cup had stains on and what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your drinks with us and we have looked into it with our staff. We would look forward to welcoming you back.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The Sunday Carvery is great, plentiful meat (choice of moist turkey or beef when we went) and as much veg as you can manage. Sweets good, staff pleasant, reasonable price. However, midweek lunch was a different experience. We ordered at the bar, and opted to sit outside to enjoy the autumn sunshine. Unfortunately, the lady who served us really didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and and take note of your comments regarding staff and their attitudes. we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Great for Sunday Carvey very Nice indeed. Had the beef with lots of unusual vegetable and lovely apple and blackberry crumble with custard and cream to finish. Can highly recommend, also live music all afternoon. Very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Texturising
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We used to go here a lot but have dropped it lately because the fish portion especially the salmon fillet has become smaller and smaller to the point it hardly shows up on the plate. The veg is unseasoned and undressed. Warm only. Pity as used to be much better. Seating areas in bar are suited better for large groups...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alfred96
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your meals with us on this occasion. We do take note of all your comments and would like to welcome you back on another occasion

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beer
2.6 km away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
595 reviews
6.7 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
304 reviews
11.2 km away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Durham House
Durham House
#3 of 9 in Beer
163 reviews
0.1 km away
Anchor Inn Beer
Anchor Inn Beer
#4 of 9 in Beer
295 reviews
0.0 km away
Colebrooke House
Colebrooke House
#2 of 9 in Beer
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Price Range: ₹ 5,887 - ₹ 7,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dolphin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room away form the bar”
 of 5 bubbles HIls123, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles skibereencork, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerAckroyd, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms above the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherH221, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a front room. (only 4 of them though), and you might want to avoid any over the kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles 442ElizabethP, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5